DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) from PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 2017/0291255 A1), and further in view of Morikazu et al. (US 2015/0332910 A1).
Re Claim 1, Hirata teaches a method of manufacturing a wafer from an ingot, comprising:
a separation layer forming step (Figs. 6-7B) of positioning a focused spot of a laser beam (40, Fig. 6, para [0046]) transmittable through the ingot in the ingot (60, Fig. 6, para [0046]) and applying the laser beam to the ingot to form a separation layer (84, Fig. 7B, para [0056]) in the ingot while moving the ingot and the focused spot relatively to each other (Figs. 7A-7B, para [0056]);
after the separation layer forming step (Figs. 6-7B), a separating step of applying external forces to the ingot (Fig. 8, para [0057]) to sever the ingot along the separation layer that acts as a separation initiating point, thereby separating a piece of the ingot as the wafer (88, Fig. 8, para [0057]) off from the ingot;
Hirata does not disclose a mark forming step after the separating step, where the mark is indicative of a crystal orientation of a material of the wafer. Hirata discloses a crystal orientation determining step (Figs. 4A-5B, paras [0034] – [0045]) and orientation flats (68+70, Figs. 3A-5B, para [0031]) being formed before the wafer separation step in Fig. 8.
Related art Morikazu discloses that during the formation of wafer from a single crystal ingot, crystal strains and defects may remain in the peripheral section of the wafer (paras [0006] – [0008]), which would require re-shaping the wafer by removing a peripheral section of the wafer where the crystal strains and defects are remaining (para [0009]). However, this will also result in the loss of the original orientation mark (notch 21, Fig. 1, para [0021], similar to the orientation flats of Hirata) which is/are at the edge of the original wafer. Thus, a mark forming step is performed where a mark is formed further inside the wafer (23, Fig. 4, para [0028]) according to the crystal orientation (notch 21, Fig. 4, para [0028], similar to the crystal orientation determining step and orientation flats of Hirata), before the removal of the peripheral region (Fig. 5), thus retaining the crystal orientation of the material of the wafer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form a new mark on the wafer after the separating step in the method of Hirata as disclosed by Morikazu, because, the peripheral section of the newly separated wafer may still contain crystal strains and defects, and needs to be removed which will result in the loss of the original mark. Thus, the new mark is formed further inside the wafer before the removal of the peripheral region, thus retaining the crystal orientation of the material of the wafer.
Re Claim 2, Hirata modified by Morikazu teaches the method of manufacturing a wafer according to claim 1, further comprising:
before the separating step, a crystal orientation measuring step (crystal orientation determining step, Figs. 4A-5B, paras [0034] – [0045], and orientation flats, 68+70, Figs. 3A-5B, para [0031]) of measuring characteristics with respect to the crystal orientation of the material (paras [0031] – [0045], Hirata), wherein
the mark forming step (mark 23, Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu) includes determining a position and a shape on the wafer of the mark (Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu) formed on the wafer in the mark forming step, on a basis of the characteristics measured in the crystal orientation measuring step (notch 21, Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu, similar to the crystal orientation determining step and orientation flats of Hirata).
Re Claim 3, Hirata modified by Morikazu teaches the method of manufacturing a wafer according to claim 1, wherein the mark forming step (mark 23, Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu) includes processing an outer circumferential portion of the wafer (see Fig. 4, Morikazu) with a laser beam (32, Fig. 4, paras [0023] and [0028], Morikazu) to form the mark on the wafer (see Fig. 4, Morikazu).
Re Claim 4, Hirata teaches a method of manufacturing a wafer from an ingot, comprising:
a separation layer forming step (Figs. 6-7B) of positioning a focused spot of a laser beam (40, Fig. 6, para [0046]) transmittable through the ingot in the ingot (60, Fig. 6, para [0046]) and applying the laser beam to the ingot to form a separation layer (84, Fig. 7B, para [0056]) in the ingot while moving the ingot and the focused spot relatively to each other (Figs. 7A-7B, para [0056]);
after the separation layer forming step (Figs. 6-7B), a separating step of applying external forces to the ingot (Fig. 8, para [0057]) to sever the ingot along the separation layer that acts as a separation initiating point, thereby separating a piece of the ingot as the wafer (88, Fig. 8, para [0057]) off from the ingot;
Hirata does not disclose an outer form shaping step of shaping an outer form of the wafer after the separating step.
Related art Morikazu discloses that during the formation of wafer from a single crystal ingot, crystal strains and defects may remain in the peripheral section of the wafer (paras [0006] – [0008]), which would require re-shaping the wafer by removing a peripheral section of the wafer where the crystal strains and defects are remaining (para [0009]). Morikazu discloses an outer form shaping step of the wafer (see Figs. 4 and 5) where the peripheral portion (24, Fig. 5, para [0029]) containing the crystal strain and defects are removed (see Fig. 5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to include an outer form shaping step of the wafer in the method of Hirata as disclosed by Morikazu, because, the peripheral section of the newly separated wafer may still contain crystal strains and defects, which needs to be removed before further processing of the wafer.
Re Claim 5, Hirata modified by Morikazu teaches the method of manufacturing a wafer according to claim 4, but Hirata does not disclose a mark forming step after the separating step, where the mark is indicative of a crystal orientation of a material of the wafer.
Hirata discloses a crystal orientation determining step (Figs. 4A-5B, paras [0034] – [0045]) and orientation flats (68+70, Figs. 3A-5B, para [0031]) being formed before the wafer separation step in Fig. 8.
However, as stated in claim 4 above, Morikazu discloses that during the formation of wafer from a single crystal ingot, crystal strains and defects may remain in the peripheral section of the wafer (paras [0006] – [0008]), which would require re-shaping the wafer by removing a peripheral section of the wafer where the crystal strains and defects are remaining (para [0009]). However, this will also result in the loss of the original orientation mark (notch 21, Fig. 1, para [0021], similar to the orientation flats of Hirata) which is/are at the edge of the original wafer. Thus, a mark forming step is performed where a mark is formed further inside the wafer (23, Fig. 4, para [0028]) according to the crystal orientation (notch 21, Fig. 4, para [0028], similar to the crystal orientation determining step and orientation flats of Hirata), before the removal of the peripheral region (Fig. 5), thus retaining the crystal orientation of the material of the wafer.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to form a new mark on the wafer after the separating step in the method of Hirata as disclosed by Morikazu, because, the peripheral section of the newly separated wafer may still contain crystal strains and defects, and needs to be removed which will result in the loss of the original mark. Thus, the new mark is formed further inside the wafer before the removal of the peripheral region, thus retaining the crystal orientation of the material of the wafer.
Re Claim 6, Hirata modified by Morikazu teaches the method of manufacturing a wafer according to claim 5, further comprising:
before the separating step, a crystal orientation measuring step (crystal orientation determining step, Figs. 4A-5B, paras [0034] – [0045], and orientation flats, 68+70, Figs. 3A-5B, para [0031], Hirata) of measuring characteristics with respect to the crystal orientation of the material (paras [0031] – [0045], Hirata), wherein
the mark forming step (mark 23, Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu) includes determining a position and a shape on the wafer of the mark (Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu) formed on the wafer in the mark forming step, on a basis of the characteristics measured in the crystal orientation measuring step (notch 21, Fig. 4, para [0028], Morikazu, similar to the crystal orientation determining step and orientation flats of Hirata).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirata et al. (US 2017/0291255 A1) and Morikazu et al. (US 2015/0332910 A1), and further in view of Yamamoto et al. (US 2022/0181174 A1).
Re Claim 7, Hirata modified by Morikazu teaches the method of manufacturing a wafer according to claim 4 but does not explicitly disclose an inspecting step of inspecting the wafer to ascertain whether the wafer contains a crystal defect.
Morikazu discloses that during the formation of wafer from a single crystal ingot, crystal strains and defects may remain in the peripheral section of the wafer (paras [0006] – [0008]), which would require re-shaping the wafer by removing a peripheral section of the wafer where the crystal strains and defects are remaining (para [0009]).
Related art Yamamoto discloses an inspecting step (Figs. 18A-18C, para [0097]) which inspects the wafer for crystal defects and strains which has recently been peeled off from the ingot.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, absent unexpected results, to include an inspecting step in to the method of Hirata modified by Morikazu as disclosed by Yamamoto to determine the extent of crystal defects or strains in the peripheral region of the wafer.
Thus, Hirata modified by Morikazu and Yamamoto discloses:
after the separating step but before the outer form shaping step, an inspecting step of inspecting the wafer (Figs. 18A-18C, para [0097], Yamamoto) to ascertain whether the wafer contains a crystal defect or not and to detect a position of a crystal defect (crystal defects and strain in the peripheral region of the wafer, paras [0006] – [0008], Morikazu), if any, wherein,
if it is ascertained that the wafer has the crystal defect in the inspecting step, the outer form shaping step includes removing the crystal defect by shaping the outer form of the wafer (removing a peripheral section of the wafer where the crystal strains and defects are present, Figs. 4-5, paras [0028] - [0029], Morikazu).
Conclusion
/P.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898