DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Concerning claim 19, the search did not find or make obvious the method of claim 17, wherein spacing each hole of the subset from the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening includes filling any holes of the subset that partially overlap the plurality of grid bars.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CLOSS et al. (WO 2021067940 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CLOSS discloses a grid (10) for sampling a liquid specimen (fig. 9) [0121-0122],, the grid comprising:
a mesh (10) including a plurality of grid bars (10) defining a plurality of openings (between 10), the plurality of grid bars forming an outer perimeter of each opening; and
a foil (340) coupled to the mesh, the foil including a plurality of holes (360), wherein a subset of the plurality of holes is aligned with each of the plurality of openings, and wherein each hole of the subset is spaced from (see fig. 9, 360) the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening defined by the plurality of grid bars (10) [0121-0122].
Regarding claim 9, CLOSS discloses that a grid (10) for sampling a liquid specimen (fig. 9) [0121-0122],, the grid comprising:
a mesh (10) including a plurality of grid bars (10) defining a plurality of openings (between 10s), the plurality of grid bars forming an outer perimeter of each opening; and
a foil (340) coupled to the mesh, the foil including a plurality of holes (360), wherein a subset of the plurality of holes is aligned with each of the plurality of openings (see fig. 9), and wherein none of the holes (360) of the subset partially overlaps the plurality of grid bars (10) forming the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening (between 10s), [0121-0122].
Regarding claim 17, CLOSS discloses that a method of fabricating a grid (10) for sampling a liquid specimen (fig. 9) [0121-0122],,, the method comprising:
providing a foil (340) including a plurality of holes (360);
coupling a mesh (10) to the foil, the mesh including a plurality of grid bars (10) defining a plurality of openings (between 10s),, the plurality of grid bars forming an outer perimeter of each opening (between 10s),, wherein a subset of the plurality of holes (360) is aligned with each of the plurality of (between 10s) [0121-0122].; and
spacing each hole (360) of the subset from the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening defined by the plurality of grid bars (10) [0121-0122]..
Regarding claims 2 and 10, CLOSS discloses that each of the plurality of openings (between 10s) is generally square (fig. 9).
Regarding claims 3 and 11,, CLOSS discloses that each of the plurality of holes (360) is generally circular (fig. 9).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 13, CLOSS discloses that the mesh (copper /Au/gold grid/mesh 10) [0119-0120] is hydrophilic (Note copper/clean gold/gold is hydrophilic).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, CLOSS discloses wherein each subset of the plurality of holes (fig. 9, 360) is arranged in a cluster separated from adjacent clusters (see fig. 9, of 360s) of the plurality of holes by a distance greater than a width of one of the plurality of grid bars (10s).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, CLOSS discloses that the foil has a foil thickness of 10-15 nanometers [0106].
Regarding claim(s) 18, CLOSS discloses wherein spacing each hole (fig. 9, 360) of the subset from the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening (in grid 10) includes aligning (see fig. 9) the foil (340) with the mesh/grid (10) such that none of the holes (360) of the subset partially overlaps the plurality of grid bars (of 10) [0121-0122].
Regarding claim(s) 20, CLOSS discloses wherein spacing each hole (fig. 9, 360) of the subset from the outer perimeter of the corresponding opening (in mesh/grid 10) includes forming the plurality of holes (360) in the foil (340) after [0126] the foil is coupled to the mesh (10) [0121-0122] [0126].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CLOSS et al. (WO 2021067940 A1) in view of Freitag et al. (US 20110006208 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, CLOSS discloses that the foil (340) is a
But CLOSS fails to disclose the foil is a plastic film.
Freitag, however, discloses use of a plastic film for a foil [0079].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine/modify the invention of CLOSS, with a plastic film for a foil, as taught by Freitag, to use as a substitution of one known foil material (i.e. plastic) for another to obtain predictable results of reducing charging [0079].
2. Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over CLOSS et al. (WO 2021067940 A1) in view of BUIJSSE et al. (EP 2757402 B1).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, CLOSS discloses the mesh (10) has a mesh thickness
But CLOSS fails to disclose the mesh has a mesh thickness of 5-35 micrometers
BUIJSSE, however, discloses a foil (16) coupled to a mesh (12), and the mesh (12 of 10) has a mesh thickness of 5-35 micrometers [0032].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of CLOSS, with a mesh that has a mesh thickness of 5-35 micrometers, as taught by BUIJSSE , to use as a substitution of one known mesh thickness (i.e., of 5-35 micrometers) for another to obtain predictable sample support and structural stability results [0032].
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878