DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application No. 18/816,164 filed on August 27, 2024.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE WITH MULTI-LAYERED ISOLATION STRUCTURE .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu (2022/0157824 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lu teaches a semiconductor device (10, Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate (110, para [0041]);
at least one isolation feature (130, para [0041]) disposed in the substrate (100), wherein the at least one isolation feature (130) defines a plurality of active regions (104, para [0041]);
a storage capacitor (20, para [0038]) disposed over the substrate (100);
an access transistor (30, para [0038]) comprising a plurality of impurity regions (340, para [0042]) disposed in the active region (104); and
a conductive feature (50, para [0039]) extending from the storage capacitor (20) into the substrate (110) for electrically coupling the storage capacitor (20) to the access transistor (30).
Regarding claim 6, Lu teaches wherein (Fig. 1), the conductive feature (50) comprises a lower portion (510, para [0046]) in the substrate (110) and an upper portion (520, para [0046]) interposed between the substrate (110) and the storage capacitor (20), wherein the lower portion (510) has a first critical dimension (CD1, para [0046]), and the upper portion (520) has a second critical dimension (CD2, para [0046]) greater than the first critical dimension (CD1).
Regarding claim 7, Lu teaches wherein (Fig. 1), the first critical dimension (CD1) of the lower portion (510) of the conductive feature (50) gradually decreases (see Fig. 1) at positions of increasing distance from the upper portion (520).
Regarding claim 8, Lu teaches wherein (Fig. 1), the access transistor (30) further comprises:
a word line (322, para [0042]) disposed in the substrate (110) and across the active regions (104), wherein the impurity regions (340) are disposed on either side of the word line (322); and
an insulative liner (312, para [0042]) sandwiched between the substrate (110) and the word line (322).
Regarding claim 9, Lu teaches wherein (Fig. 1), further comprising:
a dielectric layer (40, para [0039]) between the storage capacitor (20) and the substrate (110) to encapsulate the access transistor (30) and enclose the conductive feature (50);
a bit line (44, para [0038]) buried in the dielectric layer (40); and
a conductive plug (42, para [0039]) extending from the bit line (44) into the substrate (110) for electrically coupling the bit line (44) to the access transistor (30).
Regarding claim 10, Lu teaches wherein (Fig. 1), the storage capacitor (20) comprises:
a plurality of storage nodes (210, para [0040]) respectively contacting the conductive features (50);
a capacitor insulator (220, para [0040]) encapsulating the storage nodes (210); and
a top electrode (230, para [0040]) disposed on the capacitor insulator (220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
13. Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (2022/0157824 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of KIM (US 2011/0260238 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Lu teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 from which this claim depends.
Lu is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, each of the at least one isolation features comprises:
a first filling layer filling a trench disposed in the substrate;
a second filling layer disposed within the first filling layer; and
a liner layer lining an inner surface of the trench and surrounding the first filling layer.
KIM teaches wherein (Fig. 2L), each of the at least one isolation features (104, para [0042]) comprises:
a first filling layer (104b, para [0047]) filling a trench (T, para [0046]) disposed in the substrate (100);
a second filling layer (104c) disposed within the first filling layer (104b); and
a liner layer (104a) lining an inner surface of the trench (T) and surrounding the first filling layer (104b).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by KIM, and substitute the isolation features of Lu, w/multi layered isolation film, in order to reduce or block the thermal transfer, and to prevent failures or component cracking.
Regarding claim 3, Lu and KIM teach all of the limitations of claim 2 from which this claim depends.
Lu is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, the first filling layer and the liner layer comprise a U-shaped cross-sectional profile.
KIM teaches wherein (Fig. 2L), the first filling layer (104b) and the liner layer (104a) comprise a U-shaped cross-sectional profile (see Fig. 2L).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by KIM, and substitute the isolation features of Lu, w/U-shaped multi layered isolation film, in order to provide high-capacity energy dissipation, block the thermal transfer, and to prevent failures or component cracking.
Regarding claim 4, Lu and KIM teach all of the limitations of claim 2 from which this claim depends.
KIM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2L), a top surface of the first filling layer (104b), a top surface of the second filling layer (104c) and a top surface of the liner layer (104a) are coplanar (i.e. flat surface).
Regarding claim 5, Lu and KIM teach all of the limitations of claim 4 from which this claim depends.
KIM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2L), a bottom surface of the second filling layer (104c) is at a vertical level higher than a bottom surface of the first filling layer (104b).
Examiner’s Note
14. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812