DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-14, drawn to apparatus, classified in C23C16/45544.
II. Claims 15-20, drawn to method, classified in C23C16/52.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other because of the following reasons:
Inventions I and II are related as process and apparatus for its practice. The inventions are distinct if it can be shown that either: (1) the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus or by hand, or (2) the apparatus as claimed can be used to practice another and materially different process. (MPEP § 806.05(e)). In this case the apparatus is useable for a materially different process wherein the source power or capacitance is not changed.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
- the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification,
- the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter, and
- the inventions require a different field of search (e.g. different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Mr. Marc McWilliams on July 20, 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group 1, claims 1-14. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: resonant structure in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aramaki (2019/0122864).
Aramaki teaches a plasma processing apparatus comprising:
- a plasma processing chamber, see Fig. 1, 101,
- a RF waveguide, see 105, waveguide tube [0037] which generates and propagates plasma in the chamber, in regard to the formation of a plasma sheath, it has been held that claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). Also, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In this case, the prior art teaches forming a sheath [0064-66] but if it were determined that the sheath of the prior art is different than the claimed sheath, the limitation is met in that the structure of the prior art is capable of producing a sheath and the use of the system is not limiting.
- a resonant structure, see resonant structure [0016] and further [0076-77]. The resonant structure is defined in terms of the function as claimed and per the specification – it is defined as a structure that induces localized effects. The structure of Aramaki includes the same, particularly [0077] but also [0099] generally teaches the desire to control localized effects in the plasma.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the use of the system is again intended use, Aramaki teaches a resonant structure as noted. The instant claims and specification do not include any distinction in the configuration of the resonant structure between the structures configured to induced capacitive or inductive localized effects, so wherein the prior art teaches the use of the same resonant structure, the limitations are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aramaki (2019/0122864) in view of Kim (2022/0246386).
Regarding claim 4, the teachings do not include the portions of the waveguide as claimed, but Kim teaches that a waveguide in a processing system includes an RF electrode (understood to have upper and lower surfaces) and a grounded conductive surface as per the sidewall including a dielectric window, see Fig. 7 and [0055-57]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to apply the waveguide configuration of Kim to the apparatus of Aramaki as an alternative configuration of such a waveguide.
Regarding claim 5, as per the above citation, Kim teaches a dielectric spacer (i.e. the dielectric window).
Regarding claim 6, as per claim 4, Kim teaches the elements of the source electrode and ground conductive surface, with Aramaki teachings the plasma processing address with waveguide and resonant structure per claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 7-9, the alignment is taught per the dielectric window and electrode of Kim, regarding combining with Aramaki, per MPEP 2144.04 IV. B. a change of shape or VI. C. rearrangement of parts is obvious without showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 10, the teachings further include that a sheath portion between a conductor ring inside the susceptor has a capacitance [0055].
Regarding claims 11-13, the shape of the resonator is obvious as per claim 7 above over a selection/change of shape, further, the claims drawn to different shape cross sections suggest a lack of criticality. In regard to the electric fields, the use of the system is again intended use and there is no further claimed structure not identified above to control the plasma beyond what is argued above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The teachings of Aramaki and Kim are described above, and do not teach multiple resonant units, while Matsuo (2005/0145339) teaches multiple units, there is no guidance to electrical insulate them from each other.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712