DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the CON application No. 18/817,110 filed on August 27, 2024.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The suggested title of the invention recited as “Semiconductor Chip Package Comprising Recessed Lead Frame with Semiconductor Chip and Manufacturing Method Thereof”.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: the following quoted claim should be recited as follows:
13. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor chip package of claim 9, wherein a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip facing the adhesive is in contact with the first surface of the lead frame.
Appropriate correction is needed.
Double Patenting
8. Claims 1, 4-8, 10-11, 14, 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,113,008 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the instant limitations are recited in or obvious from claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,113,008 B1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lin recites a semiconductor chip package, comprising:
a lead frame having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (claim 1, lines 2-3);
a groove recessed from the first surface of the lead frame into the lead frame and completely filled with an adhesive (claim 1, lines 4-5); and
a semiconductor chip disposed on the adhesive in the groove and covering the adhesive, the semiconductor chip being affixed to the lead frame through the adhesive in the groove (claim 1, lines 6-9).
Regarding claim 4, Lin recites wherein, the lead frame further comprises:
a chip pad on which the groove is provided, and a drain lead contact separated from the chip pad (claim 1, lines 10-13); and
the semiconductor chip comprises a drain provided on a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip, the drain being coupled to the drain lead contact via the chip pad, the adhesive and a wire (claim 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 5, Lin recites wherein, further comprising:
a carrier provided on the second surface of the lead frame for carrying the lead frame and the semiconductor chip (claim 5, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Lin recites wherein, the carrier comprises:
a first portion overlapping with the semiconductor chip (claim 7, lines 2-3); and
a second portion not overlapping with the semiconductor chip (claim 7, lines 3-4), the first portion having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater than that of the second portion (claim 6, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 7, Lin recites wherein, the second portion of the carrier comprises three external terminals of the semiconductor chip package (claim 8, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 8, Lin recites wherein, the first portion of the carrier comprises a ceramic portion, and the second portion comprises a metal portion (claim 9, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Lin recites wherein, the carrier comprises:
a first portion overlapping with the semiconductor chip (claim 12, lines 2-3); and
a second portion not overlapping with the semiconductor chip (claim 12, lines 3-4), the first portion having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater than that of the second portion (claim 11, lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 11, Lin recites wherein, the second portion of the carrier comprises three external terminals of the semiconductor chip package (claim 13, lines 1-3).
Regarding independent claim 14, Lin recites a method for manufacturing a semiconductor chip package, comprising:
obtaining a lead frame, the lead frame having a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other, with a groove recessed from the first surface of the lead frame into the lead frame (claim 14, lines 3-6);
completely filling the groove with an adhesive (claim 14, line 7); and
disposing a semiconductor chip on the adhesive and covering the adhesive, the semiconductor chip being affixed to the lead frame through the adhesive in the groove (claim 14, lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 17, Lin recites wherein, further comprising:
affixing a carrier on the second surface of the lead frame using a clamping device, the clamping device disposed on the first surface of the lead frame (claim 16, lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 18, Lin recites wherein, the carrier comprises:
a first portion (claim 17, lines 1-4) overlapping with the semiconductor chip; and
a second portion, the first portion having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater than that of the second portion (claim 17, lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 19, Lin recites wherein, further comprising:
removing a portion of the second portion of the carrier such that the first portion and the second portion are not in contact with each other (claim 18, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 20, Lin recites wherein, further comprising:
forming the second portion into three external terminals of the semiconductor chip package, the three external terminals being separated from each other (claim 19, lines 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-10, 12-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2013/0277815 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee et al. teaches a semiconductor chip package, comprising (Fig. 2I):
a lead frame (10, see Fig. 2C, para [0024]) having a first surface (upper surface) and a second surface (lower surface) opposite to each other;
a groove (see the annotated figure below) recessed from the first surface (upper surface) of the lead frame (10) into the lead frame (10) and completely filled with an adhesive (33, see Fig. 2D, para [0026]); and
a semiconductor chip (14, see Fig. 2D, para [0026]) disposed on the adhesive (33) in the groove and covering the adhesive (33), the semiconductor chip (14) being affixed to the lead frame (10) through the adhesive (33) in the groove.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), a width (d1) of the groove is less than a width (d2) of the semiconductor chip (14).
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2D), a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip (14) facing the adhesive (33) is in contact with the first surface (upper surface) of the lead frame (10).
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2D), further comprising:
a carrier (24 called insulating material, para [0023]) provided on the second surface (lower surface) of the lead frame (10) for carrying the lead frame and the semiconductor chip (14).
Regarding claim 6, Lin teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), the carrier (24) comprises:
a first portion (middle) overlapping with the semiconductor chip (14); and
a second portion (sides) not overlapping with the semiconductor chip (14), the first portion (middle) having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater (because of heat from the chip 14) than that of the second portion (sides).
Regarding independent claim 9, Lee et al. teaches a semiconductor chip package, comprising (Fig. 2I):
a lead frame (10) having a first surface (upper surface) and a second surface (lower surface) opposite to each other, with a groove () provided on the first surface of the lead frame (10);
an adhesive (33) filled in the groove;
a semiconductor chip (14) disposed on the adhesive (33) and covering the adhesive (33), wherein a top surface of the semiconductor chip (14) facing away from the adhesive (33) is higher than the first surface of the lead frame (10); and
a carrier (24) provided on the second surface of the lead frame (10) carrying the lead frame (10) and the semiconductor chip (14).
Regarding claim 10, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), the carrier (24) comprises:
a first portion (middle) overlapping with the semiconductor chip (14); and
a second portion (sides) not overlapping with the semiconductor chip (14), the first portion (middle) having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater (because of heat from the chip 14) than that of the second portion (sides).
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), a width (d1) of the groove is less than a width (d2) of the semiconductor chip (14).
Regarding claim 13, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2D), a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip (14) facing the adhesive (33) is in contact with the first surface (upper surface) of the lead frame (10).
Regarding independent claim 14, Lee et al. teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor chip package, comprising (Figs. 2A-2I):
obtaining a lead frame (10, see Fig. 2A), the lead frame having a first surface (upper surface) and a second surface (lower surface) opposite to each other, with a groove (see Fig. 2B) recessed from the first surface of the lead frame (10) into the lead frame;
completely filling the groove with an adhesive (33, see Fig. 2D); and
disposing a semiconductor chip (14) on the adhesive (33) and covering the adhesive (33), the semiconductor chip (14) being affixed to the lead frame (10) through the adhesive (33) in the groove.
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), a width (d1) of the groove is less than a width (d2) of the semiconductor chip (14).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2D), a bottom surface of the semiconductor chip (14) facing the adhesive (33) is in contact with the first surface (upper surface) of the lead frame (10).
Regarding claim 18, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), the carrier (24) comprises:
a first portion (middle) overlapping with the semiconductor chip (14); and
a second portion (sides), the first portion (middle) having a thermal conductivity coefficient greater (because of heat from the chip 14) than that of the second portion (sides).
Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. teaches wherein (Fig. 2I), further comprising:
removing a portion of the second portion (sides) of the carrier (24) such that the first portion (middle) and the second portion (sides) are not in contact with each other.
Examiner’s Note
12. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812