DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,180,181).
Regarding claim 1, in Figure 4, Liu discloses a bonding structure, comprising: a first substrate (110); a dielectric layer (120) over the first substrate; a second substrate (210) over the first substrate; a reflowable element (211) connecting the first substrate to the second substrate; and a dielectric adhesive element (130) encapsulating the reflowable element and partially horizontally overlapping the dielectric layer (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses wherein an interface between the dielectric layer and the dielectric adhesive element comprises a wavy profile in a cross-sectional view perspective (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses wherein the first substrate comprises a first pad structure connected to the reflowable element and horizontally overlapping the dielectric adhesive element, and the second substrate comprises a second pad structure covered by the dielectric adhesive element in a horizontal direction (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses wherein a void is defined by and between the dielectric layer and the dielectric adhesive element (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses wherein the reflowable element is exposed to the void (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses wherein a softening temperature of the dielectric adhesive element is lower than a melting point of the reflowable element (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses wherein the dielectric adhesive element is free of a filler (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses a plurality of the reflowable elements, wherein the dielectric adhesive element comprises a portion extending between the reflowable elements and contacting the dielectric layer (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses wherein the dielectric layer comprises a dam structure contacting the dielectric adhesive element and configured to compress the dielectric adhesive element to increase a cover rate of the dielectric adhesive element over the first substrate and the second substrate (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses wherein the portion of the dielectric adhesive element extends into a gap defined by the reflowable element and between the first substrate and the second substrate (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, in Figure 4, Liu discloses a bonding structure, comprising: a first substrate (110); a second substrate (210 over the first substrate; a reflowable element (211) connecting the first substrate to the second substrate; a first dielectric layer (120) extending from the second substrate towards the first substrate; and a second dielectric layer (130) connected to the first dielectric layer and comprising a dam structure configured to compensate for an extension amount of the first dielectric layer to reduce a formation of voids.
Further, the Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. The recitation of "a dam structure configured to compensate for an extension amount of the first dielectric layer to reduce a formation of voids" does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art, Liu, which teaches the structure as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses wherein the reflowable element is partially spaced apart from a protrusion of the first dielectric layer by a first void (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses wherein the first void is filled with air (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses wherein the first dielectric layer is partially spaced apart from the second dielectric layer by a second void, and the second void is spaced apart from the first void (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses wherein the reflowable element comprises a metal portion and an oxide portion embedded in the metal portion, and a sidewall of the reflowable element and the metal portion are exposed to a first void (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses wherein a portion of the first dielectric layer is exposed to the first void (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 17, in Figure 4, Liu discloses bonding structure, comprising: a first substrate (110); a second substrate (210) over the first substrate; and a solder element (211) connecting the first substrate to the second substrate, wherein a lateral surface of the solder element comprises a first portion (see Figure 4 Annotated below) adjacent to the first substrate, a second portion (see Figure 4 Annotated below) adjacent to the second substrate, and a third portion (see Figure 4 Annotated below) between the first portion and the second portion and concave toward an inner part of the solder element (concaves from top line to bottom line).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses wherein the first substrate comprises a pad structure having an upper surface connected to and partially exposed by the solder element (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses a dielectric layer between the first substrate and the second substrate and partially extending into the third portion of the lateral surface of the solder element (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses wherein the third portion of the lateral surface of the solder element is exposed to an air gap (Figure 4).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847