Specification
The specification submitted 9/02/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 9/02/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nonaka (JP # 2014074225, cited by the applicant in an IDS dated 11/28/2024).
Regarding Claim 4, Nonaka-225 teaches a sputtering target (described at [0019, 31-32], see especially Example 13 of Table 2) adapted to deposit the silver alloy layer according to claim 1 ([0020]), wherein a material of the sputtering target comprises silver with the atomic percentage greater than 96.5% (described at [0011, 19, 31] and Table 2), zinc with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 2.0% (described at [0019, 31-32]), and antimony with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5% (described at [0019, 31-32]).
Regarding Claim 12, Nonaka-225 teaches sputtering target ([0036, 40] and Table 4, see especially Example 24) adapted to deposit the silver alloy layer according to claim 5 ([0020, 36, 40]), wherein a material of the sputtering target comprises silver with the atomic percentage greater than 95% ([0011] Table 4) and other elements with the atomic percentage less than or equal to 5%, and the other elements comprise at least one of zinc, antimony, and neodymium with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% ([0011] Table 4) and at least one of indium, tin, palladium, and gold with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% ([0011] and Table 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara-773 (US # 20050275773) in view of Nonaka-225 (JP # 2014074225, cited by the applicant in an IDS dated 11/28/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujiwara-773 teaches a reflective display panel (embodiment starting at [0073]), comprising a pixel structure (310, 301t, see Figs. 4 and corresponding text at [0074-75]) having a reflective area ([0074-76]), wherein the pixel structure comprises:
an active device (301t) and an insulation layer (307), wherein the insulation layer is located above the active device ([0075]); and
a reflective layer (308) disposed on the insulation layer and located in the reflective area (shown), wherein the reflective layer comprises a silver alloy layer, and a material of the silver [[alloy]] layer ([0081] describes Ag) comprises silver
Although Fujiwara-773 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the material of the reflective layer, specifically the silver alloy layer comprising silver with an atomic percentage greater than 96.5%, zinc with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 2.0%, and antimony with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Nonaka-225 is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a silver alloy layer (described at [0012-13, 20, 30-31], see especially Example 13 of Table 2) wherein the silver alloy layer comprises silver with the atomic percentage greater than 96.5% (described at [0011, 31] and Table 2), zinc with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 2.0% (described at [0019, 31-32]), and antimony with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5% (described at [0019, 31-32]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the reflector material of Fujiwara-773 with the silver alloy suggested by Nonaka-225 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Nonaka-225 would be to employ a material of the reflective layer, specifically the silver alloy layer comprising silver with an atomic percentage greater than 96.5%, zinc with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 2.0%, and antimony with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%. The rationale for this obvious modification is that this silver alloy provides resistance to corrosion and improves hardness ([004, 10, 12-13]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use this Ag alloy since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujiwara-773 teaches a reflective display panel according to claim 1, wherein the reflective layer further comprises:
a protective layer (309) covering the silver alloy layer, wherein a material of the protective layer comprises a light-transmitting conductive material or a light-transmitting insulation material ([0080, 83] describes an insulative material that would transmit at least some light wavelengths).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujiwara-773 teaches a reflective display panel (embodiment starting at [0073]), comprising a pixel structure (310, 301t, see Figs. 4 and corresponding text at [0074-75]) having a reflective area ([0074-76]), wherein the pixel structure comprises:
an active device (301t) and an insulation layer (307), wherein the insulation layer is located above the active device ([0075]); and
a reflective layer (308) disposed on the insulation layer and located in the reflective area (shown), wherein the reflective layer comprises a silver alloy layer, and a material of the silver [[alloy]] layer ([0081] describes Ag) comprises silver
Although Fujiwara-773 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the material of the reflective layer, specifically the silver alloy layer comprising silver with an atomic percentage greater than 95% and other elements with an atomic percentage less than or equal to 5%, and the other elements comprise at least one of zinc, antimony, and neodymium with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and at least one of indium, tin, palladium, and gold with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1%.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Nonaka-225 is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a silver alloy layer (described at [0012-13, 20, 30-31], see especially Example 13 of Table 2) wherein the silver alloy layer comprises silver with the atomic percentage greater than 96.5% (described at [0012-13, 20, 39-40] and Table 4), zinc with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 2.0% (Table 4), and antimony with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5% (Table 4).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the reflector material of Fujiwara-773 with the silver alloy suggested by Nonaka-225 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Nonaka-225 would be to employ a material of the silver alloy layer comprises silver with an atomic percentage greater than 95% and other elements with an atomic percentage less than or equal to 5%, and the other elements comprise at least one of zinc, antimony, and neodymium with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and at least one of indium, tin, palladium, and gold with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1%. The rationale for this obvious modification is that this silver alloy provides resistance to corrosion and improves hardness ([004, 10, 12-14, 42]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use this Ag alloy since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding Claim 6, Nonaka-225, as applied to claim 5, further teaches the reflective display panel according to claim 5, wherein the other elements (Example 26; Table 4) comprise zinc with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0% (Table 4), tin with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5% (Table 4), at least one of antimony, neodymium, and indium with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5% (Table 4), and palladium or gold with an atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0% (Table 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Nonaka-225, as applied to claim 5, further teaches the reflective display panel according to claim 6, wherein the other elements comprise zinc with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0%, tin with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%, at least one of antimony and neodymium with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%, and palladium or gold with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0% (Example 26; Table 4).
Regarding Claim 8, Nonaka-225, as applied to claim 5, further teaches the reflective display panel according to claim 7, wherein the other elements comprise zinc with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0%, tin with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%, antimony with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.5%, and palladium or gold with the atomic percentage greater than or equal to 0.1% and less than or equal to 1.0% (Example 26; Table 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Fujiwara-773 teaches the reflective display panel according to claim 5, wherein the pixel structure further comprises:
a pixel electrode (310, Fig. 4B, [0075, 84]) disposed above the reflective layer (shown), wherein the pixel electrode overlaps the reflective layer (shown); and
another insulation layer (309) sandwiched between the pixel electrode and the reflective layer (Fig. 4B, [0075, 83]).
Regarding Claim 10, Fujiwara-773 teaches the reflective display panel according to claim 5, wherein the reflective layer further comprises:
a protective layer (309) covering the silver alloy layer, wherein a material of the protective layer comprises a light-transmitting conductive material or a light-transmitting insulation material ([0080, 83] describes an insulative material that would transmit at least some light wavelengths).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara-773 (US # 20050275773) in view of Nonaka-225 (JP # 2014074225, cited by the applicant in an IDS dated 11/28/2024) and Liu-982 (CN # 114994982; examiner cites to an English-language equivalent for Liu-982 (US # 20260259454).
Regarding Claim 3, although Fujiwara-773 in view of Nonaka-225 discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the reflective display panel according to claim 1, wherein the reflective layer further comprises a buffer layer sandwiched between the insulation layer and the silver alloy layer, wherein a material of the buffer layer comprises a conductive material.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Liu-982 teaches a buffer layer ([0095] the lower ITO layer of an ITO/metal/ITO stack 41) sandwiched between the insulation layer (44, Fig. 15, [0094-95]) and the metal layer of silver (upper layers of 41, [0095]) wherein a material of the buffer layer comprises a conductive material (ITO is conductive; see [0095, 97]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the layers of Fujiwara-773 in view of Nonaka-225 with the ordering suggested by Liu-982 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Liu-982 would be to employ a reflective display panel according to claim 1, wherein the reflective layer further comprises a buffer layer sandwiched between the insulation layer and the silver alloy layer, wherein a material of the buffer layer comprises a conductive material. The rationale for this obvious modification is that ITO provides better adhesion to certain layers, Ag and Ag-based films are well known to adhere poorly to underlying oxide and organic resin layers, and a thin conductive oxide such as ITO is commonly placed beneath an Ag reflector to improve its adhesion to the layer on which it is formed.
Regarding Claim 11, the analysis is essentially the same as claim 3.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899