DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A, indicating claims 1-3, in the reply filed on February 9, 2026 is acknowledged.
Following a search of the elected invention, the Examiner withdraws the election requirement between Species A-C because the search burden did not exist. Accordingly, claims 6-9 are elected with Groups A-C.
Claims 4, 5, and 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to one of the nonelected Group II or Species D, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wise et al. [US 2014/0193755].
For claim 1, Wise teaches a system for lithographically patterning semiconductor substrates (see Fig. 1) comprising:
an electromagnetic (EM) radiation source (EUV source, see [0014]);
an optical assembly (optics system with various mirrors, see [0025] and Fig.1); and
an exposure chamber (vacuum enclosure) comprising a substrate support (stage and chuck) and an electrode assembly (conductive plate and conductive chuck, see [0014]), the EM radiation source being configured for generating electromagnetic radiation (see Fig. 1), the optical assembly being constructed and arranged for directing the EM radiation towards the substrate support (see Fig. 1), the substrate support being constructed and arranged for supporting a semiconductor substrate (substrate), and the electrode assembly being constructed and arranged for applying an electric field (see [0013] and [0020]-[0023] and Fig. 3) to an EM-sensitive layer (photoresist) comprised in the semiconductor substrate.
For claim 6, Wise teaches the electrode assembly is constructed and arranged for transversally applying the electric field to the EM-sensitive layer (electric field is predominantly along the direction perpendicular to a horizontal interface between the top surface of the substrate 10 and the bottom surface of the EUV photoresist layer 20, see Figs. 1 and 3 and [0031]).
For claim 7, Wise teaches the electrode assembly (see Fig. 1) comprises a first electrode (conductive chuck) and a second electrode (conductive plate), wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the substrate support, and wherein the second electrode is positioned substantially parallel with the semiconductor substrate, between the semiconductor substrate and the EM radiation source (see the arrangement in Fig. 1).
For claim 8, Wise teaches the electrode assembly comprises a first electrode (conductive chuck) and a second electrode (conductive plate), wherein the first electrode is electrically connected to the semiconductor substrate (shorted to the substrate, see [0014]), and wherein the second electrode is positioned substantially parallel with the semiconductor substrate, between the semiconductor substrate and the EM radiation source (see the arrangement in Fig. 1).
For claim 9, Wise teaches the EM radiation source comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) source (see [0014]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise in view of Kim et al. [US 2005/0074703].
For claims 2 and 3, Wise fails to teach the electrode assembly is constructed and arranged for laterally applying the electric field to the EM-sensitive layer, wherein the electrode assembly comprises two electrodes that are positioned adjacent to the substrate support.
Kim teaches the electrode assembly (pair of electrodes 11, see Fig. 1 and [0023]) is constructed and arranged for laterally applying the electric field to the EM-sensitive layer, wherein the electrode assembly comprises two electrodes that are positioned adjacent to the substrate support (adjacent the support 9, see Fig. 1 and [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electrode assembly for laterally applying the electric field to the EM-sensitive layer as taught by Kim in the electrode assembly of the exposure apparatus as taught by Wise because the lateral electric field allows for producing finer pattern widths (see [0041] of Kim).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bristol et al. [US 2005/0074706], Mickan et al. [US 2005/0231704], Koh et al. [US 2014/0327894], Weng et al. [US 2020/0019070], and Ki [US 2022/0244646] each teach applying an electric field to the substrate during exposure.
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759