DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group 1 in the reply filed on August 24, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue burden to the examiner. This is not found persuasive because the boule as claimed can be grown by several different methods than the one instantly claimed. The search for the boule is not coextensive with the search for the claimed process.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15 to 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 26, 2026.
Claim(s) 1 to 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Nakabayashi (2018/0282902).
The Nakabayashi reference teaches a silicon carbide boule, note entire reference. The reference teaches the upper limit of the diameter of the ingot is 300 mm or less (paragraph 0028, 0043). The height of the ingot is 35 mm or more and 100 mm is the upper limit value in paragraphs 0043, 0056 to 0059, 0063, 0081, 0086 and Table 2.
With regards to claim 2, the Nakabayashi reference teaches the width range of 195-205mm, note table 2
With regards to claim 3, the Nakabayashi reference teaches the boule height range of 100-300mm para 0028.
Claim(s) 12 to 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakabayashi (2018/0282902).
The Nakabayashi reference is relied on for the same reason as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claims in the type of face of the boule. However, it in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine though routine experimentation the optimum, operable growth face or type of face of the silicon carbide boule in the Nakabayashi process in order to grow and cut the boule to obtain the desired face and orientation of the wafer, noting, different types of faces or orientations for silicon carbide are known in the art.
Claims 4 to 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach nor render obvious the specific orientation of the boule and the basal plane dislocation amounts of the radius.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714