CTNF 18/829,089 CTNF 87214 DETAILED ACTION Acknowledgements 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending. This action is Non-Final. Drawings 06-22-02 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters " 20 " and " 30 " have both been used to designate imaging device . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22-03 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 20 ” has been used to designate both imaging device and BP cuff system . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because Figures 5, 11, 13, 15 reference element numbers are improperly underlined and lead lines are needed instead for every component which is not a structure/surface (“Lead lines are required for each reference character except for those which indicate the surface or cross section on which they are placed. Such a reference character must be underlined to make it clear that a lead line has not been left out by mistake.”). Figure 11 also has text oriented in different directions which is improper and must be corrected. Figures 14A-B, 16, 17 improperly contain writing on shaded surfaces . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 106, 1500, 1508, 1514 ,. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22-07 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1106, 1116, 1118, 1122 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 06-22 AIA The drawings are objected to because the description of Figure 15 in the specification does not match the drawing form, amendment to one or both is required . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: [0068] has a typo “patent” instead of “patient”; the drawing and specification are not in agreement, see drawing objections above . Appropriate correction is required. The use of the terms Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, which each is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. It is noted that some forms have the mark and some forms do not, each is required to have the applicable mark. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more . The claim(s) recite(s): Claim 1: converting the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal to a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) selecting a first plurality of frequency components of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process) predicting, using a non-linear mapping, based on the first plurality of frequency components, a second plurality of frequency components of a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of an ascending aorta or a left ventricle (LV) of the subject (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) converting the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to a time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) Claim 17: converting the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal to a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper); selecting a first plurality of frequency components of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process); predicting, using a non-linear mapping, based on the first plurality of frequency components, a second plurality of frequency components of a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of an ascending aorta or a left ventricle of the subject (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) converting the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to a time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper). Claim 18: reconstructing, using a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal, a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of a left ventricle (LV) of the subject (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) obtaining, using the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal of the LV of the subject, an LV pressure curve of the subject in the time domain (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) measuring, using the one or more images of the LV, an LV volume curve of the subject (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) obtaining, using the LV pressure curve and the LV volume curve, an LV pressure-volume curve (mathematical concept and/or mental process which includes pen and paper) These claim limitations fall within the identified groupings of abstract ideas: Mathematical Concepts: mathematical relationships mathematical formulas or equations mathematical calculations Mental Processes concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because: Under the step 2A, analysis is conducted on the additional features of the claim. Under this analysis, the additional features beyond the judicial exception are: Claim 1: obtaining a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (data gathering; insignificant pre-solution activities) Claim 17: a non-transitory computer-readable medium having executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising (computer structures used as a tool for implementation of judicial exception(s)) obtaining a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (data gathering; insignificant pre-solution activities) Claim 18 obtaining, using a brachial cuff, a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (data gathering; insignificant pre-solution activities) capturing, using an imaging device, one or more images of the LV of the subject (data gathering; insignificant pre-solution activities) These features in the claim do not integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception as the additional elements in the claim do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is no more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Limitation concepts that are indicative of integration into a practical application : Improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field - see MPEP 2106.05(a) Applying or using a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition – see Vanda Memo Applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine - see MPEP 2106.05(b) Effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing - see MPEP 2106.05(c) Applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception - see MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo Limitation concepts that are not indicative of integration into a practical application : Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) Under Step 2B, the claim limitations are evaluated for an inventive concept. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and in combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. Analyzing the additional claim limitations individually, the additional limitation that is not directed to the abstract idea are the same as those identified above in step 2A related to data gathering. Such limitations related to the data obtaining are recognized by the courts as routine data gathering in order to input data to the mathematical algorithm/mental process, and thus, do not add a meaningful limitation to the methods/product as it would be routinely used by those of ordinary skill in the art in order to apply the mathematical algorithm/mental process. In addition, these sensor structures are known from Amano (US 2002/0177781), Chio (US 5,836,884), Hersh et al. (Hersh, US 2004/0171943), Hatta et al. (Hatta, US 2024/0108291), Harps et al. (Harps, US 2009/0030328), and Mansi et al. (Mansi, US 2016/0196384). The methods do not contain any computing structures, such that the steps can all be analog/mental processing of the equation from the data gathered, which further supports that the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The computer structures cited above are claimed as performing generic computer functions routinely used in computer applications. Generic computer components recited as performing generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities amount to no more than implementing the abstract idea with a computerized system. The additional limitations recited in the dependent claims are directed to further details of the data gathering and algorithm (A more specific abstraction is still an abstraction). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Therefore, analyzing the claims as an ordered combination under the Mayo/Alice analysis the features claimed are directed to patent ineligible limitations. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-27-aia AIA Claim s 1-9, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Amano (US 2002/0177781) . Regarding claim 1, Amano teaches a method, comprising: obtaining a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (see at least [0004] “The blood pressure waveform in the peripheral vessel is considered to be the central blood pressure waveform changed by transmission characteristics of a tube through which the pressure wave is transmitted. Based on this idea, it is known in the art that the central blood pressure waveform can be derived from the pressure pulse waveform in the peripheral artery with high precision using a transfer function measured in advance between the blood pressure waveform in the origin of the aorta and the blood pressure waveform in the peripheral artery such as the brachial artery or the radial artery, specifically, the pressure pulse waveform.” Claim 1 “a pulse wave detection section which non-invasively detects a peripheral pulse wave”; hence brachial artery is directly taught, or in the alternative an obvious variation to a radial or digital artery in order to measure peripheral waveforms); converting the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal to a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111]); selecting a first plurality of frequency components of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least Figure 4A-B harmonics); predicting, using a non-linear mapping, based on the first plurality of frequency components, a second plurality of frequency components of a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of an ascending aorta or a left ventricle (LV) of the subject (see at least [0111] result of the transform function); and converting the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to a time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111] inverse Fourier transforming the results of the transform function). Regarding claim 2, Amano teaches wherein predicting the second plurality of frequency components comprises predicting each of the second plurality of frequency components using at least some of the first plurality of frequency components as an input to the non-linear mapping (see at least [0111]). Regarding claim 3, Amano teaches wherein a number of the first plurality of frequency components is different from a number of the second plurality of frequency components (see at least [0111] result of applying the function as number values will change by application of transform). Regarding claim 4, Amano teaches wherein: converting the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal to the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal comprises: applying a fast Fourier transform (FFT) to the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111], where FFT is a known alternative in the art to Fourier transform, OFFICIAL NOTICE); selecting the first plurality of frequency components of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal comprises selecting a first number of Fourier harmonic modes of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111], Figures 4A-B harmonics); and converting the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal comprises: applying an inverse FFT to the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111] where inverse FFT is a known alternative in the art to inverse Fourier transform, OFFICIAL NOTICE). Regarding claim 5, Amano teaches wherein: the non-linear mapping comprises a regressor (see at least [0111] interpreted as features stored in transform function); and predicting the second plurality of frequency components comprises: applying the regressor to the first number of Fourier harmonic modes to obtain a second number of Fourier harmonic modes of the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111] interpreted as result of applying the transform functions to the Fourier and inverse Fourier features). Regarding claim 6, Amano teaches wherein the first number of Fourier harmonic modes is 5 or more, and the second number of Fourier harmonic modes is 10 or more (see at least Figures 4A-B 10 or more is met). Regarding claim 7, Amano teaches the non-linear mapping comprises a trained model (see at least Figure 2, transfer function is stored, [0015]); and predicting the second plurality of frequency components comprises: predicting, using the trained model, given at least the first plurality of frequency components as an input, the second plurality of frequency components (see at least [0111] result of the process). Regarding claim 8, Amano teaches wherein: the method further comprises calculating one or more waveform parameters corresponding to the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least Figures 6, 13 [0170]“In this case, the conversion section 72 shown in FIG. 6 may selectively use the blood pressure value corresponding to the pulse rate from a plurality of blood pressure values based on information derived from the pulse wave detected by the pulse wave detection section 60, for example. This allows the central blood pressure waveform to be calculated using the blood pressure value corresponding to various states of the subject. An index which indicates the characteristics of the pulse waveform detected by the pulse wave detection section 60 (for example, the ratio of the pre-systolic wave height to the post-systolic wave height) may be used in place of the pulse rate.”); and predicting the second plurality of frequency components comprises: predicting, using the trained model, given at least the first plurality of frequency components and the one or more waveform parameters as inputs, the second plurality of frequency components (see at least [0111], [0170]). Regarding claim 9, Amano teaches wherein: the method further comprises obtaining one or more physiological parameters of the subject, the one or more physiological parameters comprising an age, weight, height, or gender of the subject (see at least Figures 6 and 13, [0170]); and predicting the second plurality of frequency components comprises: predicting, using the trained model, given at least the first plurality of frequency components and the one or more physiological parameters as inputs, the second plurality of frequency components (see at least [0111], [0170]-[0171]). Regarding claim 13, Amano teaches applying pulse waveform analysis to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to assess a cardiovascular health condition of the subject (see at least [0127]). Regarding claim 17, Amano teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having executable instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor (see at least [0098], [0112], [0116], [0120]), cause the processor to perform operations comprising: obtaining a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (see at least [0004] “The blood pressure waveform in the peripheral vessel is considered to be the central blood pressure waveform changed by transmission characteristics of a tube through which the pressure wave is transmitted. Based on this idea, it is known in the art that the central blood pressure waveform can be derived from the pressure pulse waveform in the peripheral artery with high precision using a transfer function measured in advance between the blood pressure waveform in the origin of the aorta and the blood pressure waveform in the peripheral artery such as the brachial artery or the radial artery, specifically, the pressure pulse waveform.” Claim 1 “a pulse wave detection section which non-invasively detects a peripheral pulse wave”; hence brachial artery is directly taught, or in the alternative an obvious variation to a radial or digital artery in order to measure peripheral waveforms); converting the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal to a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111]); selecting a first plurality of frequency components of the frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least Figure 4A-B harmonics); predicting, using a non-linear mapping, based on the first plurality of frequency components, a second plurality of frequency components of a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of an ascending aorta or a left ventricle of the subject (see at least [0111] result of the transform function); and converting the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to a time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least [0111] inverse Fourier transforming the results of the transform function) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2002/0177781) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chio (US 5,836,884) and Hersh et al. (Hersh, US 2004/0171943) Regarding claim 10, the limitations are met by Amano, except the limitations of wherein obtaining the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal comprises: performing, using a blood pressure (BP) cuff of a BP cuff system, a blood pressure measurement of the subject to obtain one or more blood pressure values corresponding to the subject; inflating, based on the one or more blood pressure values corresponding to the subject, the BP cuff to a subject specific pressure value; and capturing, using the BP cuff system, while the BP cuff is inflated to the subject specific pressure value, the first pulse pressure waveform signal associated with the brachial artery of the subject are not directly taught. Choi teaches a related system for monitoring cardiovascular conditions, and includes modeling the cardiovascular system (see at least title, abstract, and Figure 5), and teaches the usage of cuffs to measure flow data which reasonably teaches obtaining the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal comprises: performing, using a blood pressure (BP) cuff of a BP cuff system, a blood pressure measurement of the subject to obtain one or more blood pressure values corresponding to the subject (see at least Figure 7, 12a-13); inflating the BP cuff to a subject specific pressure value (see at least col. 13 lines 1-15); and capturing, using the BP cuff system, while the BP cuff is inflated to the subject specific pressure value, the first pulse pressure waveform signal associated with the brachial artery of the subject (see at least col. 4 lines 14-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of capturing flow signals at supra levels in order to allow for modeling pressure values non-invasively which are more similar to invasive pressure sensor systems (see cols. 13-14). The feature of inflating, based on the one or more blood pressure values corresponding to the subject is not directly taught, but this concept is well-known in the art, such as taught by Hersh Figure 2-6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using sensor data to define the target inflation data in order to allow for customized pressures for each individual. Regarding claim 11, the limitations are met by Amano in vie of Chio and Hersh, where Chio teaches wherein: the one or more blood pressure values comprise a systolic blood pressure (SBP) of the subject; and the subject specific pressure value comprises a supra systolic blood pressure (sSBP) greater than the SBP (see at least col. 13-14). Regarding claim 12, the limitations are met by Amano in view of Chio and Hersh, where Chio teaches wherein: the first pulse pressure waveform signal corresponds to a single cardiac cycle; and capturing the first pulse pressure waveform signal comprises: capturing, using the BP cuff system, while the BP cuff is inflated to the subject specific pressure value, a third pulse pressure waveform signal corresponding to more than one cardiac cycle; and isolating the first pulse pressure waveform signal from the third pulse pressure waveform signal (see at least Figures 7, 13) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2002/0177781) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Harps et al. (Harps, US 2009/0030328) . Regarding claim 14, Amano teaches wherein: the second pulse pressure waveform signal corresponds to a central aortic pressure of the subject (see at least [0017]), but the limitations of applying pulse waveform analysis to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to assess the cardiovascular health condition of the subject comprises: estimating, based one or more parameters of the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal, an arterial stiffness or a subendocardial viability ratio is not directly taught. Harps teaches a related system which measures peripheral blood pressure waveforms, estimates central waveform, and calculates PWV based on the calculations which can then calculate arterial velocity, which reasonably teaches applying pulse waveform analysis to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to assess the cardiovascular health condition of the subject comprises: estimating, based one or more parameters of the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal, an arterial stiffness or a subendocardial viability ratio (see at least [0061], Figure 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of estimating PWV in order to measure aortic stiffness on a patient using peripheral sensing techniques . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2002/0177781) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hatta et al. (Hatta, US 2024/0108291) . Regarding claim 15, the limitations are met by Amano, except the limitations of wherein: the second pulse pressure waveform signal corresponds to a left ventricular pressure of the subject; and applying pulse waveform analysis to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to assess the cardiovascular health condition of the subject comprises: estimating, based one or more parameters of the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal, a ventricular contractility or left ventricular end diastolic pressure are not directly taught. Hatta teaches a related system for estimating ventricular pressures and aortic pressure using peripheral signals, and thus suggests that the transfer functions modeling of Amano can be modified such that the transfer functions can be measuring ventricular pressures in addition to aortic pressures (see at least Figure 8); and by deriving left ventricular pressure can measure different known parameters which teaches applying pulse waveform analysis to the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal to assess the cardiovascular health condition of the subject comprises: estimating, based one or more parameters of the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal, a ventricular contractility or left ventricular end diastolic pressure (see at least [0014], [0016]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using ventricular pressure estimated in order to calculate known parameters related to such pressures . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US 2002/0177781) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatta et al. (Hatta, US 2024/0108291) and Mansi et al. (Mansi, US 2016/0196384) . Regarding claim 16, the limitations are met by Amano, except the limitations of wherein the second pulse pressure waveform signal is of the LV of the subject, and the method further comprises: obtaining an LV pressure curve of the subject associated with the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal; capturing, using an imaging device, one or more images of the LV of the subject; measuring, using the one or more images of the LV, an LV volume curve of the subject; and obtaining, using the LV pressure curve and the LV volume curve, an LV pressure-volume curve are not directly taught. Hatta teaches a related system for estimating ventricular pressures and aortic pressure using peripheral signals, and thus suggests that the transfer functions modeling of Amano can be modified such that the transfer functions can be measuring ventricular pressures in addition to aortic pressures (see at least Figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using known frequency domain modeling of peripheral to central pressures to both measure ventricular pressure and aortic pressure in order to allow for diagnostics without constant invasive measurements to calculate use physiological parameters. Mansi teaches a related system for estimating central blood pressures using peripheral measurements, and teaches obtaining an LV pressure curve of the subject associated with the time-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal; capturing, using an imaging device, one or more images of the LV of the subject; measuring, using the one or more images of the LV, an LV volume curve of the subject; and obtaining, using the LV pressure curve and the LV volume curve, an LV pressure-volume curve (see at least Figures 1, 8 [0005], [0030]-[0033], [0052], [0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using a scanning device to determine ventricular volumes in order to analyze pressure-volume loops as in known in the art to determine relevant/pertinent physiological metrics . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansi et al. (Mansi, US 2016/0196384) in view of Amano (US 2002/0177781) and Hatta et al. (Hatta, US 2024/0108291) . Regarding claim 18, Mansi teaches a method, comprising: obtaining, using a brachial cuff, a time-domain representation of a first pulse pressure waveform signal of a brachial artery of a subject (see at least [0086]); estimating left ventricle pressure from cuff measurement as curve in time domain (see at least [0052], Figure 8), capturing, using an imaging device, one or more images of the LV of the subject (see at least Figure 1, scan, [0005], [0030]-[0033]); measuring, using the one or more images of the LV, an LV volume curve of the subject (see Figure 8); and obtaining, using the LV pressure curve and the LV volume curve, an LV pressure-volume curve (see Figure 8); however, the limitations of reconstructing, using a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal, a frequency-domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of a left ventricle (LV) of the subject; obtaining, using the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal of the LV of the subject, an LV pressure curve of the subject in the time domain are not directly taught. Amano teaches a related system for estimating central pressure from peripheral pressures, and teaches that time domain signals from a peripheral artery can use stored transfer functions based on frequency analysis to determine central pressures and reasonably teaches using a frequency-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal, a frequency- domain representation of a second pulse pressure waveform signal of central portion of the subject, obtaining, using the frequency-domain representation of the second pulse pressure waveform signal of the central portion of the subject, the pressure curve of the subject in the time domain (see at least [0004] “The blood pressure waveform in the peripheral vessel is considered to be the central blood pressure waveform changed by transmission characteristics of a tube through which the pressure wave is transmitted. Based on this idea, it is known in the art that the central blood pressure waveform can be derived from the pressure pulse waveform in the peripheral artery with high precision using a transfer function measured in advance between the blood pressure waveform in the origin of the aorta and the blood pressure waveform in the peripheral artery such as the brachial artery or the radial artery, specifically, the pressure pulse waveform.” Claim 1 “a pulse wave detection section which non-invasively detects a peripheral pulse wave”; hence brachial artery is directly taught, or in the alternative an obvious variation to a radial or digital artery in order to measure peripheral waveforms; see at least [0111], Figure 4A-B harmonics). Hatta teaches a related system for estimating ventricular pressures and aortic pressure using peripheral signals, and thus suggests that the transfer functions modeling of Amano can be modified such that the transfer functions can be measuring ventricular pressures in addition to aortic pressures (see at least Figure 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results of using known frequency domain modeling of peripheral to central pressures to both measure ventricular pressure and aortic pressure in order to allow for diagnostics without constant invasive measurements to calculate use physiological parameters. Regarding claim 19, the limitations are met by Mansi in view of Amano and Hatta, where Mansi teaches obtaining the time-domain representation of the first pulse pressure waveform signal of the brachial artery of the subject comprises: capturing, using the brachial cuff, multiple blood pressure measurements of the subject; and the multiple blood pressure measurements and the one or more images of the LV are synchronously captured (see at least Figures 1, 8, [0005] measurements over time). Regarding claim 20, the limitations are met by Mansi in view of Amano and Hatta, where Mansi teaches wherein: the method further comprises capturing an electrocardiogram (ECG) of the subject; and obtaining the LV pressure-volume curve comprises synchronizing, using the ECG, the LV pressure curve and the LV volume curve (see at least [0004]-[0005], [0023]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL R BLOCH whose telephone number is (571)270-3252. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 11-8 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert (Tse) Chen can be reached at (571)272-3672. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL R BLOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 2 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 3 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 4 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 5 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 6 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 7 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 8 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 9 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 10 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 11 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 12 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 13 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 14 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 15 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 16 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 17 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 18 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 19 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 20 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 21 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 22 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 24 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 25 Art Unit: 3791 Application/Control Number: 18/829,089 Page 26 Art Unit: 3791