DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieschl (US 20130288477) in view of Hiester (US 20200173018).
As to claim 1, Rieschl discloses a process tool comprising:
A wafer chuck (figure 2: chuck 3 for substrate [wafer] 2);
An electrode, wherein the wafer chuck is coupled to a motor that is operable to vertically displace the wafer chuck relative to the electrode (figure 2: electrode 27 above chuck 3; movement of chuck 3 by unlabeled mechanism shown by arrows 22; paragraph 30: actuator [motor] for movement of chuck);
A carrier ring between the wafer chuck and the electrode, wherein the carrier ring comprises an overhang that extends over an edge of a wafer on the wafer chuck, wherein the carrier ring is mechanically coupled to a spindle operable to vertically displace the carrier ring relative to the wafer chuck (figure 2: clamp ring 4 [carrier ring] between the chuck 3 and electrode 27, illustrated overhanging substrate [wafer] 2, with pins 24 [spindle] for vertical movement of the ring shown by arrow 20).
Rieschl, while disclosing a CVD or PECVD apparatus with adjustable chuck and rings, is silent as to its top electrode being a showerhead.
Hiester dislcloses a PECVD apparatus (paragraph 2, 7) in which a wafer is positioned on a vertically movable chuck (figure 5C: chuck 140 with actuator for movement via shaft 510; paragraph 77, 117) and has a separately movable carrier ring (figure 5c: ring 430 with actuator 542; paragraph 45). Hiester also discloses the CVD deposition occurs with use of an electrode showerhead structure (figure 4c: showerhead 400c above substrate, carrier ring, and chuck/support; paragraph 66: use of showerhead as RF powered electrode) for delivering gas to the substrate for deposition (paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a showerhead structure, as disclosed by Hiester, in the system of Rieschl, because this allows for distribution of deposition gases to the substrate for CVD or PECVD deposition.
As to claim 2-3, Rieschl discloses the motor and spindle are electrically coupled to a command module (figure 2: control apparatus 19 [command module] connected to and controlling movement mechanisms for ring 4 and chuck 3; paragraph 62, 108; [although the connection is not explicitly disclosed as ‘electrically coupled’, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the mechanism for connecting a computer control to mechanical components would be electrical in nature]).
As to claim 4, Hiester discloses a computer control with processor and memory and connected to human input devices (figure 9; paragraphs 117-119).
As to claim 5, Rieschl discloses a system comprising:
A vacuum chamber with process station (figure 2: vacuum chamber 5; paragraph 64: vacuum tight enclosure 5);
A wafer chuck (figure 2: chuck 3 for substrate [wafer] 2);
An electrode, wherein the wafer chuck is coupled to a motor that is operable to vertically displace the wafer chuck relative to the electrode (figure 2: electrode 27 above chuck 3; movement of chuck 3 by unlabeled mechanism shown by arrows 22; paragraph 30: actuator [motor] for movement of chuck);
A carrier ring between the wafer chuck and the electrode, wherein the carrier ring comprises an overhang that extends over an edge of a wafer on the wafer chuck, wherein the carrier ring is mechanically coupled to a spindle operable to vertically displace the carrier ring relative to the wafer chuck (figure 2: clamp ring 4 [carrier ring] between the chuck 3 and electrode 27, illustrated overhanging substrate [wafer] 2, with pins 24 [spindle] for vertical movement of the ring shown by arrow 20);
A processor electrically coupled to the spindle and motor with multiple software instructions for adjusting vertical heights of the chuck relative to the electrode and ring relative to the chuck (figure 2: control unit 19; paragraph 108: software instructions for automatic sequencing of chuck and clamp movements; figures 6-8: illustrating exemplary plurality instructions and movements)
Rieschl, while disclosing a CVD or PECVD apparatus with adjustable chuck and rings, is silent as to its top electrode being a showerhead.
Hiester dislcloses a PECVD apparatus (paragraph 2, 7) in which a wafer is positioned on a vertically movable chuck (figure 5C: chuck 140 with actuator for movement via shaft 510; paragraph 77, 117) and has a separately movable carrier ring (figure 5c: ring 430 with actuator 542; paragraph 45) and computer control programming and memory to a control module for controlling the movement systems (figure 9; paragraphs 117-119). Hiester also discloses the CVD deposition occurs with use of an electrode showerhead structure (figure 4c: showerhead 400c above substrate, carrier ring, and chuck/support; paragraph 66: use of showerhead as RF powered electrode) for delivering gas to the substrate for deposition (paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a showerhead structure, as disclosed by Hiester, in the system of Rieschl, because this allows for distribution of deposition gases to the substrate for CVD or PECVD deposition.
As to claim 6, Heister discloses a process gas source coupled to the showerhead (figure 1: gas source 114 to showerhead 150).
As to claim 7, Rieschl and Heister discloses motion control subroutines comprising multiple software instructions callable by software within the controller’s memory (Rieschl at paragraph 108, 115, figure 6: multiple movement sequence example; Heister at paragraph 125).
As to claim 8, Heister discloses the control unit, which in turn controls the process conditions, is connected to a human-machine interface (paragraph 118, figure 9: input 920 to control 900) operable to control the system routines (paragraph 127: input of control mechanisms by user input).
As to claim 11, Rieschl discloses a method for controlling a deposition process comprising:
Placing a wafer in a process tool (figure 2: chuck 3 for substrate [wafer] 2);
An electrode, wherein the wafer chuck is coupled to a motor that is operable to vertically displace the wafer chuck relative to the electrode (figure 2: electrode 27 above chuck 3; movement of chuck 3 by unlabeled mechanism shown by arrows 22; paragraph 30: actuator [motor] for movement of chuck);
A carrier ring between the wafer chuck and the electrode, wherein the carrier ring comprises an overhang that extends over an edge of a wafer on the wafer chuck, wherein the carrier ring is mechanically coupled to a spindle operable to vertically displace the carrier ring relative to the wafer chuck (figure 2: clamp ring 4 [carrier ring] between the chuck 3 and electrode 27, illustrated overhanging substrate [wafer] 2, with pins 24 [spindle] for vertical movement of the ring shown by arrow 20);
Adjusting a first gap distance between the carrier ring and the wafer chuck (figure 6-7: showing adjustment of distance between ring 4 and substrate 2 – distance ‘x’);
Adjusting a second gap distance between the wafer chuck and the showerhead (figure 8: showing adjustment of distance between chuck 3 and electrode 6 [TSD distance, figure 6], paragraph 99).
Rieschl, while disclosing a CVD or PECVD apparatus with adjustable chuck and rings, is silent as to its top electrode being a showerhead.
Hiester dislcloses a PECVD apparatus (paragraph 2, 7) in which a wafer is positioned on a vertically movable chuck (figure 5C: chuck 140 with actuator for movement via shaft 510; paragraph 77, 117) and has a separately movable carrier ring (figure 5c: ring 430 with actuator 542; paragraph 45). Hiester also discloses the CVD deposition occurs with use of an electrode showerhead structure (figure 4c: showerhead 400c above substrate, carrier ring, and chuck/support; paragraph 66: use of showerhead as RF powered electrode) for delivering gas to the substrate for deposition (paragraph 43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a showerhead structure, as disclosed by Hiester, in the system of Rieschl, because this allows for distribution of deposition gases to the substrate for CVD or PECVD deposition.
As to claim 12, Rieschl discloses adjusting a first gap distance between the carrier ring and the wafer by commanding the spindle to change a first z-height of the carrier ring with respect to a first reference position of the spindle (figure 8: showing adjustment of height of ring 4 between solid and dotted line positions by pins [spindle] 24 with respect to arbitrary reference position such as the wafer height).
As to claim 13, Rieschl discloses adjusting the second gap distance between wafer chuck and electrode [showerhead] comprising commanding the motor to change a second z-height of the wafer chuck with respect to a second reference position of the wafer chuck (figure 8: showing two difference height positions of chuck 3 with respect to electrode 6 with respect to an arbitrary reference position, such as the chamber top or bottom height, paragraph 30: control of chuck movement by actuator [motor]).
As to claim 14-19, Rieschl discloses adjusting both the gap between wafer and ring and chuck and electrode [showerhead] between respective first and second distances at each position with respect to arbitrary reference positions chosen within the chamber, including both increasing and/or decreasing the distances as desired (figure 8). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change between greater or lesser distances for each process, such as the multiple processes in the cluster tool of Heister (figure 2) as optimization result effective variables, such as the identified gap distances of Rieschl, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 II (B)).
As to claim 20, Rieschl discloses a method for controlling a deposition process comprising:
Placing a wafer in a processing station (figure 2: chuck 3 for substrate [wafer] 2); the station comprising:
An electrode, wherein the wafer chuck is coupled to a motor that is operable to vertically displace the wafer chuck relative to the electrode (figure 2: electrode 27 above chuck 3; movement of chuck 3 by unlabeled mechanism shown by arrows 22; paragraph 30: actuator [motor] for movement of chuck);
A carrier ring between the wafer chuck and the electrode, wherein the carrier ring comprises an overhang that extends over an edge of a wafer on the wafer chuck, wherein the carrier ring is mechanically coupled to a spindle operable to vertically displace the carrier ring relative to the wafer chuck (figure 2: clamp ring 4 [carrier ring] between the chuck 3 and electrode 27, illustrated overhanging substrate [wafer] 2, with pins 24 [spindle] for vertical movement of the ring shown by arrow 20);
Adjusting a first gap distance between the carrier ring and the wafer chuck (figure 6-7: showing adjustment of distance between ring 4 and substrate 2 – distance ‘x’);
Adjusting a second gap distance between the wafer chuck and the showerhead (figure 8: showing adjustment of distance between chuck 3 and electrode 6 [TSD distance, figure 6], paragraph 99).
Rieschl, while disclosing a CVD or PECVD apparatus with adjustable chuck and rings, is silent as to its top electrode being a showerhead and a plurality of processing stations with transfer therebetween.
Hiester dislcloses a PECVD apparatus (paragraph 2, 7) in which a wafer is positioned on a vertically movable chuck (figure 5C: chuck 140 with actuator for movement via shaft 510; paragraph 77, 117) and has a separately movable carrier ring (figure 5c: ring 430 with actuator 542; paragraph 45). Hiester further discloses the CVD deposition occurs with use of an electrode showerhead structure (figure 4c: showerhead 400c above substrate, carrier ring, and chuck/support; paragraph 66: use of showerhead as RF powered electrode) for delivering gas to the substrate for deposition (paragraph 43). Hiester also discloses multiple processing stations within a chamber and transferal of the wafer between stations (figure 2: four stations in chamber 102, with rotation mechanism 220 for transferal between stations; paragraph 47: transferal between stations for a plurality of different processing steps).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a showerhead structure, as disclosed by Hiester, in the system of Rieschl, because this allows for distribution of deposition gases to the substrate for CVD or PECVD deposition. Additionally it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a multi-station chamber, as disclosed by Hiester, in the system of Rieschl because it allows for multiple treatment processes within a vacuum environment without breaking vacuum.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieschl in view of Heister, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 5304248).
As to claim 9, Rieschl and Heister discloses a CVD processing system with a vertically adjustable substrate support/chuck and showerhead for supplying processing gas, and control systems for processing conditions including gas flows (Heister at figure 9), but is silent as to providing an inert gas at an edge of the wafer.
Cheng discloses a CVD processing system containing a movable substrate support/chuck, surrounding ring, and showerhead for supplying processing gas (abstract; figure 2: showerhead 20 above movable substrate support 40 with lift 46, and surrounding ring 50). Cheng also discloses knowledge in the art of providing a purge gas to the edge of the support and substrate/wafer (figure 2: purge gas source 16) to prevent deposition gas from reaching the edge and backside of the wafer and thereby preventing unwanted deposition in those areas (col 1 lines 48-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a purge gas supply to the wafer edge, as disclosed by Cheng, in the system of Rieschl in view of Heister.
As to claim 10, Heister discloses multiple processing stations within a single vacuum chamber (figures 2: four processing stations within chamber 102b).
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieschl in view of Heister, as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of McInerney (US 6143082).
As to claim 21, Rieschl discloses adjusting both the gap between wafer and ring and chuck and electrode [showerhead] between respective first and second distances at each position with respect to arbitrary reference positions chosen within the chamber, including both increasing and/or decreasing the distances as desired (figure 8), and deposition of a nucleation layer (paragraph 3: deposition of a seed layer – different in terminology only). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change between greater or lesser distances for each process, such as the multiple processes in the cluster tool of Heister (figure 2) as optimization result effective variables, such as the identified gap distances of Rieschl, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 II (B)).
Rieschl and Heister are both silent as to a preheating step.
McInerney discloses a CVD process with a substrate support and showerhead, the chamber containing a plurality of processing stations (abstract; figure 3: showerhead 138 over pedestal/support 118). McInerney also discloses knowledge in the art pre-heating the substrates to processing temperatures to perform CVD (col 1 lines 20-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pre-heat the wafer, as disclosed by McInerney, in the method of Rieschl and Heister, because this allows for effective CVD deposition.
As to claim 22, Rieschl discloses adjusting both the gap between wafer and ring and chuck and electrode [showerhead] between respective first and second distances at each position with respect to arbitrary reference positions chosen within the chamber, including both increasing and/or decreasing the distances as desired (figure 8), and flowing of a process gas for deposition (abstract; figure 2: gas source 11). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change between greater or lesser distances for each process, such as the multiple processes in the cluster tool of Heister (figure 2) as optimization result effective variables, such as the identified gap distances of Rieschl for processing and required heights for loading and unloading, is within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 II (B)).
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794