DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Amendment, filed 06-17-2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) 1-3 has/have been amended, and claim(s) 1-5 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizu, US 20160351243 A1.
As to claim 1, Ishizu discloses a storage device comprising:
N memory layers (see Ishizu Fig 10 Refs 401 and 100), wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 2 (see Ishizu Fig 10 Refs 401 and 100; Figure 10 depicts three memory layers.); a plurality of first wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4 Ref WBL1 and Fig 8 Refs 331 and 334b) extending in particular directions (see Ishizu Fig 5 Refs 201, 202, RBL, WBL1, WBL2, SL, CL1, and CL2, and Para [0131]); a plurality of second wirings extending in the particular directions (see Ishizu Fig 4 Ref SL and Fig 8 Refs 327c and 334a); a plurality of third wirings extending in the particular directions (see Ishizu Fig 4 Ref RBL and Fig 8 Refs 327d and 334d); a plurality of fourth wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref WL and Fig 7 Ref 328) extending in a second direction (see Ishizu Fig 8 Ref WL) intersecting with the first direction; and a plurality of fifth wirings (see Ishizu Fig 7 Ref 321b and Fig 8 Ref 321b) extending in the second direction, wherein
each of the N memory layers comprises a plurality of memory cells arranged in a matrix (see Ishizu Fig 10), wherein
each of the plurality of memory cells comprises a first transistor (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-1 and Fig 7 OS1-2), a second transistor (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-2 and Fig 7 OS1-1; The transistors are mislabeled between the relied upon figures.), and a capacitor (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref C1 and Fig 7 Ref C1), wherein
a gate of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of the plurality of fourth wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-1 and Fig 7 OS1-2), wherein
one of a source and a drain of the first transistor is electrically connected to one of the plurality of first wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-1 and Fig 7 OS1-2) through a first conductor (see Ishizu Fig 8 Ref CNT3), wherein
one electrode of the capacitor is electrically connected to one of the plurality of fifth wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref C1 and Fig 7 Ref C1), wherein
the other electrode of the capacitor is electrically connected to the other of the source and the drain of the first transistor and a gate of the second transistor (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref C1 and Fig 7 Ref C1), wherein
one of a source and a drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of the plurality of second wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-2 and Fig 7 OS1-1), wherein
the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to one of the plurality of third wirings (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref OS1-2 and Fig 7 OS1-1), and wherein
the first conductor comprises a first region (see Ishizu Fig 8 Ref CNT3; In contact does not imply in direct contact.) where the first conductor is in contact with the one of the plurality of first wirings.
Ishizu does not appear to explicitly disclose a first direction that is a stacking direction of the N memory layers.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that periphery circuity disclosed in figure 5, reference characters 201 and 202, figure 10, reference character 1712, and paragraph [0120] requires wiring in the directions claimed in the invention, thus it is obvious that such wirings would be present in the particular directions annotated on figures 9 and 10 below.
Ishizu does not appear to explicitly disclose the first conductor comprises a first region where a top surface, a side surface, and a bottom surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that the contact plugs, as disclosed in figure 14 is connected to reference characters BL1-4. Only so many interconnect lines can be fabricated on a given metal layer, and it is obvious that contact plugs with a top surface, a side surface, and a bottom can be implemented in particular regions forming a wiring.
As to claim 2, Ishizu discloses the storage device according to claim 1, wherein
the one of the source and the drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to the one of the plurality of second wirings through a second conductor (see Ishizu Fig 7 Ref CNT1), and wherein
the second conductor comprises a second region where at least one of a top surface, a side surface, and a bottom surface of the second conductor is in contact with the one of the plurality of second wirings (see Ishizu Fig 14 the contact plugs connected to BL1-4).
As to claim 3, Ishizu discloses the storage device according to claim 1, wherein
the other of the source and the drain of the second transistor is electrically connected to the one of the plurality of third wirings through a third conductor (see Ishizu Fig 7 Ref CNT5), and wherein
the third conductor comprises a third region where at least one of a top surface, a side surface, and a bottom surface of the third conductor is in contact with the one of the plurality of third wirings (see Ishizu Fig 14 the contact plugs connected to BL1-4).
As to claim 4, Ishizu discloses the storage device according to claim 1, wherein
the first transistor comprises a back gate (see Ishizu Fig 4B Ref BG).
As to claim 5, Ishizu discloses the storage device according to claim 1, wherein
the first transistor comprises an oxide semiconductor (see Ishizu Paras [0076] and [0207]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner has further clarified the obviousness of how wirings connecting the terminals of transistors in a stacked memory array are connected to periphery circuity located at the bottom of said stack. Such arrangements are common and well known in the art.
Examiner clarified in the first action the obviousness of contact plugs, as disclosed in figure 14, being implemented in the disclosed contact region, and arguments contrary thereto are not convincing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 07/24/2026