Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 12, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seki (20030146695)
Regarding claim 1, Seki teaches a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a first light-emitting device (please see the Red OLED attached to 123 in fig. 3),
a second light-emitting device (please see the Green OLED attached to 123 in fig. 3) placed adjacent to the first light-emitting device, and a first insulating layer (112b),
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (please see first 111), a first EL layer (110b1) over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode (12) over the first EL layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode (please see second 111), a second EL layer (110b2) over the second pixel electrode, and the common electrode (12) over the second EL layer,
wherein part of a side surface of the first EL layer and part of a side surface of the second EL layer are placed to face each other (please see that 110b1 right side surfaces face the left side surface of 110b2),
wherein part of the first insulating layer is placed at a position interposed between a side end portion of the first EL layer and a side end portion of the second EL layer (please see 112b being abutting side surfaces of 110b1 and 110b2), and
wherein the first insulating layer is in contact with part of a top surface of the first EL layer and part of a top surface of the second EL layer (please see a top surface of 112b being in direct contact with a top surface of 110b1 and 110b2).
Regarding claim 2, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 1, further comprising a second insulating layer (112a) in contact with a bottom surface of the first insulating layer.
Regarding claim 3, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 2, wherein the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (par. 129).
Regarding claim 5, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 2, wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with one or more of part of the first EL layer and part of the second EL layer (please see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 1, further comprising a third insulating layer (113b) in contact with the top surface of the first EL layer.
Regarding claim 10, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 9, wherein the third insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (par. 131).
Regarding claim 12, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 1, further comprising a fourth insulating layer (112a) in contact with the top surface of the second EL layer.
Regarding claim 13, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 12, wherein the fourth insulating layer comprises an inorganic material (par. 129).
Regarding claim 15, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises an organic material (par. 111).
Regarding claim 16, Seki teaches a display device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises an acrylic resin (par. 111).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 (please note dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 7.
Claim 11 (please note dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 (please note dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-21 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: prior art fails to anticipate and/or obviate limitations mentioned in claim 17. For instance, prior art fails to teach the temporal ordering of method steps mentioned in claim 17.
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818