DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the prior art, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 includes that the nucleation on the surface of the substrate is performed without seeding. However, this language is not present in the disclosure. Further, the mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion (MPEP 2176.05(i)) Any negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claims. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977)
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The Raman Shift peak needs clarified that the shift occurs from the silicon substrate, this is currently not clear and confusing. One of ordinary skill in the art would look at the instant figures that have Raman spectra in the 1250 CM-1 and up and not know where the disclosure of 520 is coming from as this peak is not shown in the Figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkpatrick (US 5082359) in view of Li et al. (Precision Engineering 71 (2021) 103-118; as cited on the 7/24/24 IDS) and Ali et al. (Solid State Sciences Vol 14, Issue 4, (2012) 540-544.
As to claim 1, Kirkpatrick subjects a silicon surface to an unevenness formation as claimed (plasma, for example in the abstract) to create a surface roughness over 10 nm as broadly claimed in Example 1. Further, Kirkpatrick teaches a single crystal silicon substrate (col 2 lines 13-25) that inherently has a Raman shift at 520 cm-1 undamaged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the surface roughness is changed to that claimed, the Raman shift peak is modified to the amount claimed as well as the peak depends upon the roughness treatment as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed Raman shift based on the surface roughness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
In addition, Li et al., in Figures 17 and 18, shows the desirability of damaging a Si substrate such that the Raman spectra shifts in the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kirkpatrick to include the damage amount of Li et al. as Li et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such a Raman shift.
Kirkpatrick uses seeding. Ali et al. teaches that diamond deposition may occur with or without seeding, and that not seeding is preferable as it reduces the amount of defects in the film, is less expensive and is more suitable for electronic applications (abstract, p 540). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kirkpatrick to deposit its diamond without seeding as Ali et al. teaches not seeding is preferable as it reduces the amount of defects in the film, is less expensive and is more suitable for electronic applications.
As to claim 2, hot filament CVD is used in Kirkpatrick Example 1 and Ali (Abstract).
As to claim 3, the Kirkpatrick Figures show crater or unevenness formation on parts of the regions of the substrate and these are nucleation regions as in the abstract. Ali teaches a pretreatment without seeding (Experimental section)
As to claim 4, hot filament CVD is used in Kirkpatrick Example 1 and Ali (Abstract).
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ali et al. (Solid State Sciences Vol 14, Issue 4, (2012) 540-544 in view of Kirkpatrick (US 5082359) and Li et al. (Precision Engineering 71 (2021) 103-118; as cited on the 7/24/24 IDS) and Ali et al. (Solid State Sciences Vol 14, Issue 4, (2012) 540-544.
As to claim 1, Ali et al. deposits diamond by a CVD method on a silicon substrate (p 540, 541) using a CVD method. Ali et la. does not teach damaging the silicon substrate before deposition.
Kirkpatrick subjects a silicon surface to an unevenness formation as claimed (plasma, for example in the abstract) to create a surface roughness over 10 nm as broadly claimed in Example 1. Further, Kirkpatrick teaches a single crystal silicon substrate (col 2 lines 13-25) that inherently has a Raman shift at 520 cm-1 undamaged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the surface roughness is changed to that claimed, the Raman shift peak is modified to the amount claimed as well as the peak depends upon the roughness treatment as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed Raman shift based on the surface roughness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
In addition, Li et al., in Figures 17 and 18, shows the desirability of damaging a Si substrate such that the Raman spectra shifts in the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kirkpatrick to include the damage amount of Li et al. as Li et al. teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such a Raman shift.
Kirkpatrick damages the substrate in order to define nucleation cites for diamond in the abstract. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Ali et al. to include damaging a Si substrate before deposition as taught by Kirkpatrick and Li et al. in order to define nucleation cites.
As to claim 2, hot filament CVD is used in Kirkpatrick Example 1 and Ali (Abstract).
As to claim 3, the Kirkpatrick Figures show crater or unevenness formation on parts of the regions of the substrate and these are nucleation regions as in the abstract. Ali teaches a pretreatment without seeding (Experimental section)
As to claim 4, hot filament CVD is used in Kirkpatrick Example 1 and Ali (Abstract).
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718