DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that the claims are clearly defined to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection. However, the claim includes broadly either a damage pretreatment to create a particular Raman shift, or a damage and unevenness formation to create a surface roughness. Neither the damage pretreatment nor the unevenness formation is properly defined, and it is unclear what methods are being claimed to achieve the results. Further, the claim employs functional language to gain a desired result, and is defining the method on the desired result rather than what the method actually does. As is reflected in the further art arguments, a damage treatment or unevenness formation includes patterning as a broadest reasonable interpretation, for example, without further clarification. This rejection is maintained.
As to the art, the applicant argues that Kirkpatrick does not teach the Raman shift. However, the applicant admits on p5 of the instant arguments that a Raman shift at 520 cm-1 is inherent to single crystal silicon. Kirkpatrick uses single crystal silicon as its substrate throughout the document. It would be obvious that this shift occur as broadly claimed, as further detailed in the rejection below.
The applicant further argues that Kirkpatrick does not teach the damage and unevenness formation as it teaches a predetermined pattern. However, the damage and unevenness formation is not defined in the claims so as to exclude a predetermined pattern. A pattern damages a substrate and makes it uneven, even if it is intentional where the damage and unevenness occurs.
New grounds of rejection are due to amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the damage and the unevenness formation" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 1, the claim includes broadly either a damage pretreatment to create a particular Raman shift, or a damage and unevenness formation to create a surface roughness. Neither the damage pretreatment nor the unevenness formation is properly defined, and it is unclear what methods are being claimed to achieve the results. Further, the claim employs functional language to gain a desired result, and is defining the method on the desired result rather than what the method actually does. See MPEP 2173.05(g): “Notwithstanding the permissible instances, the use of functional language in a claim may fail "to provide a clear-cut indication of the scope of the subject matter embraced by the claim" and thus be indefinite. In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 213 (CCPA 1971). For example, when claims merely recite a description of a problem to be solved or a function or result achieved by the invention, the boundaries of the claim scope may be unclear. Halliburton Energy Servs., Inc. v. M-I LLC, 514 F.3d 1244, 1255, 85 USPQ2d 1654, 1663 (Fed. Cir. 2008)”
Regarding the Raman shift peak, it is not clear if the peak is shifting from 520 cm-1 by 0.1 cm-1 or more or if the intensity/broadening of the peak at 520 cm-1 is changing or what the applicant means by “in Raman spectroscopy 0.1 cm-1 or more”. The language is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kirkpatrick (US 5082359).
As to claim 1, Kirkpatrick subjects a silicon surface to an unevenness formation to create a surface roughness over 10 nm as broadly claimed in Example 1. It is inherent that Kirkpatrick includes the claimed Raman shift as taught above as Kirkpatrick teaches single crystal silicon (col 2 lines 13-25) and that is its typical Raman peak.
As to claim 2, hot filament CVD is used in Example 1.
As to claim 3, the Figures show crater or unevenness formation on parts of the regions of the substrate.
As to claim 4, hot filament CVD is used in Example 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkpatrick (US 5082359).
As to claim 1, Kirkpatrick subjects a silicon surface to an unevenness formation to create a surface roughness over 10 nm as broadly claimed in Example 1. Further, Kirkpatrick teaches a single crystal silicon substrate (col 2 lines 13-25) that inherently has a Raman shift at 520 cm-1 undamaged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when the surface roughness is changed to that claimed, the Raman shift peak is modified to the amount claimed as well as the peak depends upon the roughness treatment as claimed. Further, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the claimed Raman shift based on the surface roughness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
As to claim 2, hot filament CVD is used in Example 1.
As to claim 3, the Figures show crater or unevenness formation on parts of the regions of the substrate.
As to claim 4, hot filament CVD is used in Example 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718