DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 16-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapoor (US 8282983).
As to claim 1, Kapoor discloses a multi-station process tool comprising:
A plurality of process chambers, each of the process chambers located at a station of the multi-station process tool (figure 1: top view of stations A-D; figure 2: schematic side view stations 251);
A RF power path component associated with each station of the multi-station tool, the RF power path positioned and oriented such that when energized a symmetric RF power path is created with respect to a symmetry axis of the process tool (figure 2: schematic view of identical distribution paths of RF power from distribution network 221 to stations 251; figure 1: top view of RF power 113 with identical symmetric distribution to stations A-D; col 1 lines 35-47: symmetric RF power distribution).
As to claim 2, Kapoor discloses the symmetry axis is located at the center of the multi-station process tool (figure 1: showing distribution of power from center of stations A-D).
As to claim 3, Kapoor discloses the symmetry axis is defined by an axis of a spindle motor the process tool (figure 1: spindle motor 112 coincident with central axis, and RF distribution symmetry axis).
As to claim 5, Kapoor discloses four stations with process chambers (figures 1-2).
As to claim 6, Kapoor discloses the geometric position and orientation of each RF power path is symmetric from a central point and therefore symmetric with each other path.
As to claim 7, Kapoor discloses symmetric arrangement of each component in each process station (figure 1-2: showerheads 253, wafers 255 and pedestals 257).
As to claim 8, Kapoor discloses providing a common asymmetry in the RF power distribution to each station (col 5 lines 55-63).
As to claim 16, Kapoor discloses a method of providing a symmetric RF power path at a multi-station process tool, the method comprising:
Providing a multi-station process too including a plurality of process chambers, each of the process chambers located at a station of the multi-station process tool (figure 1: top view of stations A-D; figure 2: schematic side view stations 251);
Installing an RF power path component associated with each station of the multi-station tool, the RF power path positioned and oriented such that when energized a symmetric RF power path is created with respect to a symmetry axis of the process tool (figure 2: schematic view of identical distribution paths of RF power from distribution network 221 to stations 251; figure 1: top view of RF power 113 with identical symmetric distribution to stations A-D; col 1 lines 35-47: symmetric RF power distribution).
As to claim 17, Kapoor discloses the symmetry axis is located at the center of the multi-station process tool (figure 1: showing distribution of power from center of stations A-D).
As to claim 18, Kapoor discloses the symmetry axis is defined by an axis of a spindle motor the process tool (figure 1: spindle motor 112 coincident with central axis, and RF distribution symmetry axis).
As to claim 20, Kapoor discloses four stations with process chambers (figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Dorf (US 20220037121).
As to claims 4 and 19, Kapoor discloses a plasma processing system with RF power path including a source, matching, filters/adjusters and distribution (figure 2) designed to obtain uniform RF distribution at the desired setpoints (figure 3), but is silent as to an enclosure for the RF path components.
Dorf discloses a plasma processing chamber which is provided RF power (abstract) in which RF delivery components are provided an enclosure for shielding and isolating the RF supply from electromagnetic interference with the chamber and other components (paragraphs 65, 67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an enclosure for RF path components, as disclosed by Dorf, in the system and method of Kapoor, because this allows for shielding from interference to maintain the desired RF levels.
Claim(s) 9-15 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapoor, as applied to claim 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Lind (US 20150030766).
As to claim 9 and 21, Kapoor discloses a multi-station semiconductor processing apparatus with four stations in which RF power is provided to a showerhead structure for deposition or etching (abstract; col 1 lines 15-17; col 4 lines 35-37), but is silent as to a vacuum system including a foreline assembly.
Lind discloses a multi-station semiconductor processing apparatus with four stations including RF power and showerheads for gas supply (abstract; figure 1; figure 3B/3H: four station design; paragraph 1, paragraph 97) which includes a foreline assembly for obtaining the desired uniform pressures within each chamber (abstract; paragraph 74). Lind discloses the foreline comprises an outlet to a vacuum source (paragraph 73; figure 3G’: foreline outlet at 343) with a first bifurcation proximate the oulet and a second split of each of those bifurcations to four inlets for each chamber, the bifurcations dividing the foreline into three sections divided by each bifurcation (figure 3G’, first ‘split’ above outlet 343, followed by second split to four branches to inlets 341; shown more schematically in figure 3F).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the foreline of Lind, in the system and method of Kapoor, because this allows for desired uniform pressures within a four station processing system.
As to claim 10, Lind discloses the diameter of the foreline increases at each bifurcation point from inlet to outlet (figure 3F: showing narrow diameter 354 four foreline section to inlets, to larger two foreline section 346 between the two bifurcations, to largest single foreline section 344; paragraph 82: diameters of X, 0.75X and 0.5X from section 344->346->354).
As to claim 11-12, Lind disclose the first section at 2 inch diameter, second section at 3 inches, and third section at 4 inches (figure 3f: outlet 360 of first section 354; paragraph 83: 2 inch diameter outlet [outlet 362 shown equal to foreline 354 diameter]; paragraph 82: 0.5X for first section, 0.75X for second section, X for third section [X=4 when 0.5X set to 2inches]).
As to claim 13, Lind discloses a T-shaped connection at each bifurcation (figure 3G/G’: illustration unlabeled ‘T’ connection to divide foreline at each bifurcation).
As to claim 14, Lind discloses a conical section at the T of each bifurcation (figure 3F: illustrating narrowing cylinder [cone] at each split point 352/356).
As to claim 15, Lind discloses a spacing between the bifurcation T and underside of the QSM (figure 3G, showing gap between foreline and processing chamber sections – It is important to note that the claim does not actually require an RF component located here but rather a gap ‘configured to accommodate’ an RF power path component – something any macro sized gap would be capable of).
As to claim 22, Lind and Kapoor disclose processing a substrate with their RF and gas flow systems (Lind at abstract, paragraph 1; Kapoor at abstract, figure 3: processing flow-path).
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794