DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-16, and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6-12, and 18-20 of copending Application No. 18/833,914 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application recite “a semiconductor structure defect monitoring method” and “injecting a laser beam into a semiconductor structure” instead of “a process monitoring method” and “injecting a laser beam in a thin film” as claimed in the instant application. The claims of the instant application are broader and therefore anticipated by the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 8-17, and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 18/833,918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application recite “a thin film monitoring method” and “injecting a laser beam into a thin film on a substrate” instead of “a process monitoring method” and “injecting a laser beam in a thin film” as claimed in the instant application. The claims of the instant application are broader and therefore anticipated by the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 7 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 18/833,918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the claims of the reference application to include when a defect type indicating that the thin film is abnormal is derived by comparing the reference data to the carrier recombination time constant divided by type of defects in the thin film, controlling process conditions related to the derived defect type, as claimed in claim 7, because the objective is to monitor production of thin film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 18 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10, 12, and 17-19 of copending Application No. 18/833,918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the claims of the reference application to include wherein, when a defect type indicating that the thin film is abnormal is derived by comparing the reference data to the carrier recombination time constant divided by type of defects in the thin film, the operation controller controls process conditions related to the derived defect type, as claimed in claim 18, because the objective is to monitor production of thin film.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (USPN 10,475,711 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Hayashi et al. disclose a process monitoring method comprising: injecting a laser beam (via excitation light irradiation means - 1) capable of forming excited carriers in a thin film (20b); irradiating an electromagnetic wave (via microwave irradiation means - 3) onto the thin film while the excited carriers in the thin film are recombining; measuring characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave reacting with the excited carriers in the thin film; and determining whether the thin film is normal, by comparing reference data to a result using the measured characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave (Fig. 7 & column 3, line 20 - column 15, line 47).
With respect to claim 12, Hayashi et al. disclose a process monitoring apparatus comprising: a beam emitter (excitation light irradiation means - 1) for generating a laser beam to be injected into a thin film (20b) to form excited carriers in the thin film; an electromagnetic wave irradiator (microwave irradiation means - 3) for irradiating an electromagnetic wave onto the thin film while the excited carriers in the thin film are recombining; a measurer (signal processor - 8) for measuring characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave reacting with the excited carriers in the thin film; and an operation controller (evaluation means - 9) for determining whether the thin film is normal, by comparing reference data to a result using the measured characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave (Fig. 7 & column 3, line 20 - column 15, line 47).
With respect to claim 2, Hayashi et al. disclose wherein the characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave comprises a transmittance or reflectance of the electromagnetic wave (column 3, lines 20+).
With respect to claim 11, Hayashi et al. disclose wherein the excited carriers in the thin film comprise excited free electrons or holes in the thin film (column 6, lines 1+).
With respect to claim 13, Hayashi et al. disclose wherein the measurer measures a transmittance or reflectance of the electromagnetic wave as the characteristic information of the electromagnetic wave (column 3, lines 20+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (USPN 10,475,711 B2) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Fukasawa (US 2001/0029436 A1).
With respect to claims 9 and 19, Hayashi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the laser beam comprises a femtosecond laser beam. Fukasawa discloses a laser beam comprises a femtosecond laser beam (paragraph 0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hayashi et al. to have the laser beam comprise a femtosecond laser beam, as a matter of design choice, as this is a viable option, as taught by Fukasawa.
With respect to claims 10 and 20, Hayashi et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the electromagnetic wave comprises a terahertz wave. Fukasawa discloses an electromagnetic wave comprises a terahertz wave (paragraphs 0010-0011). Fukasawa discloses use of a terahertz wave to enable obtaining electrical material quantities to be measured and tested without contaminating or otherwise causing a defect in the measurement target. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Hayashi et al. to have the electromagnetic wave comprise a terahertz wave, as a matter of design choice, to enable electrical material quantities to be measured and tested without contaminating or causing defects in the measurement target, as taught by Fukasawa.
Conclusion
/JURIE YUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884
April 2, 2026