DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a response dated April 9, 2026 in which claims 1, 5, 12-14, and 20 have been amended; and claims 3, 7, 10-11, 16, 18, and 22 have been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, and 19-21 are currently pending in the application.
Priority
Application 18/834,439 was filed on 07/30/2024 is a 371 of PCT/CN2023/073702 01/29/2023 and claims priority to CHINA 202210114133.6 01/30/2022.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or § 112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. (MPEP 2106). The claims are directed to a method, system, and apparatus which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES). The recitation of the claimed invention is analyzed as follows, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
A digital currency transaction method comprising:
acquiring, by a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device, a current power state of the first transaction device after receiving a transaction request sent by a second transaction device; and
performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a digital currency transaction with the second transaction device according to a transaction rule corresponding to the current power state;
wherein the digital currency card application apparatus runs in a secure element of the first transaction device; the acquiring a current power state of the first transaction device comprises: calling, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a chip operating system interface of the secure element, and thereby the secure element acquiring the current power state from a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device; and
wherein the first transaction device serves as a payment receipt device,
the current power state is one of a power-on with power available state, a power-off with power available state and a power-off without power available state, and the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment receipt function, and a payment receipt rule in a case of enabled payment receipt function.
The claim as a whole recites a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. This is a fundamental economic practice of a financial transaction; a commercial interaction, such as for business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which are certain methods of organizing human activity.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1: YES).
Moreover, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other than reciting a “a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device”, “second transaction device”, “a secure element of the first transaction device”, “a chip operating system interface of the secure element”, “a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device”, and “a payment receipt device”, to perform the steps of “acquiring” and “performing”, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being a certain method for organizing human activity. The claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction in a computer environment. The additional computer elements recited in the claim limitations are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception utilizing generic computer components.
For example, the Specification at pages 24-25 discloses “Fig. 10 shows an exemplary system architecture 1000 of a digital currency transaction method or a digital currency card application apparatus to which an embodiment of the present disclosure may be applied.
As shown in Fig. 10, the system architecture 1000 may comprise terminal devices 1001, 1002, 1003, a network 1004, and a server 1005. The network 1004 is a medium that may be used to provide communication links between the terminal devices 1001, 1002, 1003 and the server 1005. The network 1004 may comprise a variety of connection types, such as a wire, a wireless communication link or a fiber optic cable.
A user may use the terminal devices 1001, 1002, 1003 to interact with the server 1005 over the network 1004, to receive or send messages, etc. Various communication client applications, such as shopping applications, webpage browser applications, search applications, instant messaging tools, mailbox clients, and social platform software (only examples), may be installed on the terminal devices 1001, 1002 and 1003.
The terminal devices 1001, 1002, and 1003 may be various electronic devices that have a display screen and support webpage browsing, including but not limited to a smart phone, a tablet computer, a laptop portable computer, a desktop computer, etc.
The server 1005 may be a server providing various services, for example, a backend management server providing support for shopping websites browsed by users by using the terminal devices 1001, 1002 and 1003 (for example only). The backend management server may perform processing such as analysis on the received data such as a product information query request, and feed back a processing result (such as target push information and product information, for example only) to the terminal device.
It should be noted that, the digital currency transaction method provided in the embodiment of the present disclosure is generally executed by the terminal devices 1001, 1002 and 1003, and correspondingly, the digital currency card application apparatus is generally provided in the terminal devices 1001, 1002 and 1003.
It should be understood that the numbers of the terminal devices, networks, and servers in Fig. 10 are only illustrative. The numbers of the terminal devices, networks, and servers can be configured according to actual requirements.
Refer now to Fig. 11 which shows a block diagram of a computer system 1100 for implementing a terminal device of an embodiment of the present disclosure. The terminal device illustrated in Fig. 11 is merely an example, and is not intended to limit functions and scope of application of the embodiments of the present disclosure.”
Thus, the specification supports that general purpose computers or computer components are utilized to implement the steps of the abstract idea.
Merely implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The claim as a whole, in viewing the additional elements both individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A prong two: No)
The claim does not include additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device”, “second transaction device”, “a secure element of the first transaction device”, “a chip operating system interface of the secure element”, “a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device”, and “a payment receipt device”, to perform the steps of “acquiring” and “performing”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Such additional elements are determined to not contain an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(f). It should be noted that (1) the “recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”, and (2) “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice, commercial interaction, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, mental process, or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”.
Claims 12 and 13 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claim 12 recites the additional elements of “An electronic device comprising: one or more processors; and a memory arranged to store one or more programs, when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors implementing following actions:”.
Claim 13 recites the additional elements of “A non-transitory computer readable medium, on which a computer program is stored, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor, following actions are implemented:”.
Claims 4 and 19 recite the additional elements of “a digital currency backend system” and “a digital currency application program”.
Claim 8 recites the additional elements of “a near field communication connection”.
Claim 9 recites the additional elements of “a mobile intelligent device, and a form of the mobile intelligent device is one of a mobile phone, a watch, a bracelet, a card and a POS machine”.
For similar reasons as explained above with regard to claim 1, under Step 2A, prong two, these additional elements are merely applying generic computer components to implement the abstract idea. Under Step 2B, when viewing the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to an inventive concept amounting to significantly more than the judicial exception itself as the claimed computer-related technologies are mere tools for implementing the abstract idea as explained with regard to claim 1.
Dependent claims 2, 4-6, 8-9, 14-15, 17, and 19-21 merely limit the abstract idea and do not recite any further additional elements beyond the cited abstract idea and the elements addressed above, thus, they do not amount to significantly more. The dependent claims are abstract for the reasons presented above because there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Thus, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, and 19-21 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2022/121668; in view of Zhang, China Patent Application Publication Number 112508554; in view of Hanson, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0037532.
As per claim 1,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
A digital currency transaction method comprising: acquiring, by a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device, a current power state of the first transaction device after receiving a transaction request sent by a second transaction device; and
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a digital currency transaction with the second transaction device according to a transaction rule corresponding to the current power state;
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
the current power state is one of a power-on with power available state, a power-off with power available state and a power-off without power available state, and the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment [receipt] function, and a payment [receipt] rule in a case of enabled payment [receipt] function.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 9-10) ("Through the embodiment of the present application, when the smart terminal is in a powerless state, if the payment module receives a payment request sent by the payment object device, it can determine that a payment event in the powerless state is detected, and then can authorize the payment according to the target in the payment request. The identification information of the payment application is used to determine which payment application is used for payment. Among them, the payment module is powered by the induction module when the smart terminal is in a powerless state. After the payment module determines the target authorized payment application, it can obtain the non-electric payment authorization information corresponding to the target authorized payment application. Obtained by authorization request. The electricity-free payment authorization information may include electricity-free payment parameters, and the electricity-free payment parameters include the payment amount threshold and/or the payment times threshold of the target authorized payment application in the electricity-free state, so as to provide information to the smart terminal when the payment is without electricity. The amount and number of times are limited to ensure security. Finally, the payment module may process the non-electric payment service to the payment object device through the target authorized payment application according to the indication of the non-electric payment parameter included in the non-electric payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. Through this method, the smart terminal can be made to complete the payment even when the smart terminal is in a powerless state. At the same time, by limiting the payment amount and/or the number of times of the smart terminal in the power-off state through the power-off payment authorization information, the security of the smart terminal's power-off payment can be improved.")
Zhu does not explicitly teach, however, Zhang does teach:
wherein the digital currency card application apparatus runs in a secure element of the first transaction device; the acquiring a current power state of the first transaction device comprises: calling, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a chip operating system interface of the secure element, and thereby the secure element acquiring the current power state from a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device; and
(Zhang CN112508554A at pp. 10-11) ("Specifically, in the power-off state, the device networking state cannot be acquired, and the networking state in the power-on state is acquired and issued to a chip composed of the NFC unit and the security unit through the NFC service networking state. Based on the above embodiments, it can be understood that the security processing of the transaction is mainly performed in the security unit, the NFC unit is responsible for transmitting the device status information to the security unit, and the application built in the security unit is responsible for determining whether the status is a normal transaction condition, so as to process the transaction, for example, the user swipes the card through the RF Interface wireless transmission Interface to activate the NFC unit for processing, the NFC unit transmits the data to the security unit SE (secure element) through the host control Interface HCI Interface, and the payment applications (programs) pre-installed in the SE process the payment transaction. Besides the device status information, the security unit also needs to perform corresponding security processing according to other input information of the NFC unit, such as the amount of money." Zhang further discloses that "the Applet in the safety unit acquires the current STATE in real time through an instruction such as PMU service GET _ PMU _ STATE _ CMD/RSP to complete the transaction processing" and that "the NFC and eSE (i.e., NFC unit and secure unit) chips can acquire the device on/off state, the device off/screen lock state, and the networking state in two ways: hardware and software". )
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu and Zhang, because it allows for an efficient procedure to establish a trusted relationship that takes the above security and user authentication aspects into account. In particular, device integrity has to be ensured in addition to the user's identity. (Zhang at Abstract and pp. 1-4).
Zhu and Zhang do not explicitly teach, however, Hanson does teach:
wherein the first transaction device serves as a payment receipt device,
(Hanson US20240037532 at paras. 44-46) ("[0045] In one example, the payer initiates a transaction with the payee by selecting an indication of the payee user device 108 using the payer user device 106 and also selecting a payment amount. For example, the payer can view available payee user devices within a predetermined range (e.g., within five feet, within one foot, within two inches) of the payer user device 106, select a particular device such as the payee user device 108, and select an amount of funds to transfer. Upon initiating the payment (e.g., by selecting a submission button, by selecting the payee device, by selecting the amount of funds), a payment instruction is communicated from the payer user device 106 to the payee user device 108. The payment instruction contains a tokenized identifier of the payer user device 106 (e.g., a cell phone number, an email address, an account number, a user name, a randomized number) and the amount of the funds to be transferred. The payee user device 108 then communicates the payment instruction to a financial institution associated with the payee user device 108. The financial institution associated with the payee user device 108 processes the payment instruction (e.g., crediting an account associated with the payee user device 108, authenticating the payment instruction) and communicates with the provider computing system 102 to inform the provider computing system 102 that the payment instruction has been received and has been processed or is being processed by the financial institution associated with the payee user device 108. The provider computing system 102 communicates with a financial institution associated with the payer user device 106 to inform that financial institution of the transaction (e.g., so that that financial institution debits an account associated with the payer user device 106).")
a payment receipt function and a payment receipt rule…
(Hanson US20240037532 at paras. 44-46) ("[0045] In one example, the payer initiates a transaction with the payee by selecting an indication of the payee user device 108 using the payer user device 106 and also selecting a payment amount. For example, the payer can view available payee user devices within a predetermined range (e.g., within five feet, within one foot, within two inches) of the payer user device 106, select a particular device such as the payee user device 108, and select an amount of funds to transfer. Upon initiating the payment (e.g., by selecting a submission button, by selecting the payee device, by selecting the amount of funds), a payment instruction is communicated from the payer user device 106 to the payee user device 108. The payment instruction contains a tokenized identifier of the payer user device 106 (e.g., a cell phone number, an email address, an account number, a user name, a randomized number) and the amount of the funds to be transferred. The payee user device 108 then communicates the payment instruction to a financial institution associated with the payee user device 108. The financial institution associated with the payee user device 108 processes the payment instruction (e.g., crediting an account associated with the payee user device 108, authenticating the payment instruction) and communicates with the provider computing system 102 to inform the provider computing system 102 that the payment instruction has been received and has been processed or is being processed by the financial institution associated with the payee user device 108. The provider computing system 102 communicates with a financial institution associated with the payer user device 106 to inform that financial institution of the transaction (e.g., so that that financial institution debits an account associated with the payer user device 106).")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu, Zhang, and Hanson, because it allows for improved payment systems by facilitating payment between two parties by forming an anonymous link between the parties via a near-field communication transceiver without requiring the parties to interact with one another in person or to know any personal information, account information or contact information about one another. In other words, the payment can be anonymous such that the parties do not obtain and/or retain any personal or identifying information about the other party to the transaction. The clock time, processing time, programmatic instructions required to authenticate a user account, and other requirements of a central processing unit of the system, memory utilization of the system, and utilization of other system resources are reduced because a transaction between the parties is accomplished by only having access to only minimal data about the other party (e.g., a proximity of the other party) without requiring the provisioning of traditionally exchanged information needed to conduct mobile wallet transactions. Accordingly, system security is improved and payments are more quickly completed than current payment systems.. (Hanson at Abstract and paras. 19-21).
As per claim 4,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
further comprising: pre-storing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, transaction rules written by a digital currency backend system and corresponding to various power states, wherein the transaction rules corresponding to various power states are set by a digital currency application program and sent to the digital currency backend system, or are created by the digital currency backend system when issuing by the digital currency card application apparatus.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state, notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
As per claim 5,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the first transaction device serves as a payment device; when the current power state is a power-on with power available state, the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment function, and a password-free payment rule and/or authenticated payment rule in a case of enabled payment function; and when the current power state is a power-off with power available state or a power-off without power available state, the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment function, and a password-free payment rule in a case of enabled payment function.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
As per claim 6,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a digital currency transaction with the second transaction device according to a transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprising: determining, by the digital currency card application apparatus, according to the transaction rule, that the payment function is enabled and the password-free payment rule has been set, wherein the password-free payment rule comprises a password-free payment amount;
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a password-free payment on a digital currency of a payment amount when the payment amount in the transaction request is less than or equal to the password-free payment amount;
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 6-7) ("In one embodiment, if the smart terminal satisfies the payment conditions, the payment response information is sent to the payment object device through the target authorized payment application, and the payment conditions include that the sum of the paid amount and the to-be-paid amount of the target authorized payment application is less than or equal to the target. The payment amount threshold of the authorized payment application, and the number of times of completing payment through the target authorized payment application is less than the payment times threshold of the target authorized payment application; the payment response information includes the currency of the amount to be paid. In a second aspect, an embodiment of the present application provides a service processing device on an intelligent terminal, including: The acquiring unit is configured to acquire the non-electric payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application when the payment event in the non-electric state is detected, and the non-electric payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the non-electric payment parameters of the target authorized payment application , the powerless payment parameters include the payment amount threshold and/or the payment times threshold of the target authorized payment application;")
when a payment amount in the transaction request is greater than the password-free payment amount, determining, by the digital currency card application apparatus, that the current power state is the power-on with power available state and the authenticated payment rule has been set, and performing authenticated payment on a digital currency of the payment amount according to the authenticated payment rule.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 9-10) ("The payment request received by the payment module further includes the amount to be paid, and the amount to be paid is the amount initiated by the payment object device and needs to be paid by the current smart terminal. If the smart terminal satisfies the payment conditions, it can authorize the payment application to pay the payment target device the currency of the amount to be paid according to the target. Wherein, the payment condition may be: the sum of the paid amount and the amount to be paid by the target authorized payment application is less than or equal to the payment amount threshold of the target authorized payment application, and the number of times the payment is completed by the target authorized payment application is less than the target authorization The threshold for the number of payments for the payment application. That is to say, the payment module determines whether the payment amount of the payment application authorized by the target exceeds the payment amount threshold, and determines whether the payment times of the payment application authorized by the target exceeds the payment times threshold. In this way, it can be ensured that the number of payments and the payment amount of the smart terminal are limited when there is no electricity, and losses can be minimized in the event of an accident.")
As per claim 8,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
further comprising: establishing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a near field communication connection with the second transaction device by means of the first transaction device, and receiving a transaction request sent by the second transaction device.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 7-8) ("Please refer to FIG. 1. FIG. 1 is a system architecture and a network architecture diagram of an intelligent terminal service processing provided by an embodiment of the present application. The network architecture includes an intelligent terminal, a payment object device and a service server. The intelligent terminal and the payment object device can perform information interaction through the electromagnetic field sent by the payment object device, such as executing payment services and so on. The intelligent terminal includes a power monitoring module, a payment module and an induction module. Among them, the power detection module can try to monitor the current power of the intelligent terminal; the payment module can complete the processing of payment services; the sensing module is a communication module of the intelligent terminal, which can communicate with the payment object device. The sensing module may be an NFC module. When the battery provided by the smart terminal can also provide electric power, the payment module of the smart terminal can communicate with the service server, for example, the payment module can request payment authorization from the service server. On the other hand, when the smart terminal is in a powerless state due to the exhaustion of electric power, the payment module of the smart terminal cannot communicate with the service server.")
As per claim 9,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the first transaction device and/or the second transaction device are/is a mobile intelligent device, and a form of the mobile intelligent device is one of a mobile phone, a watch, a bracelet, a card and a POS machine.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 7-8) ("The smart terminal herein can be implemented in various forms. For example, the smart terminals described in this application may include mobile phones, tablet computers, notebook computers, PDAs, personal digital assistants (PDAs), portable media players (PMPs), navigation devices, Mobile terminals such as wearable devices, smart bracelets, and pedometers, as well as stationary terminals such as digital TVs and desktop computers. The following description will take a smart terminal as an example, and those skilled in the art will understand that the configuration according to the embodiments of the present application can also be applied to a stationary type of terminal, in addition to elements specially used for mobile purposes.")
As per claim 14,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the first transaction device serves as a payment device; when the current power state is a power-on with power available state, the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment function, and a password-free payment rule and/or authenticated payment rule in a case of enabled payment function; and when the current power state is a power-off with power available state or a power-off without power available state, the transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprises whether to enable a payment function, and a password-free payment rule in a case of enabled payment function.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
As per claim 15,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a digital currency transaction with the second transaction device according to a transaction rule corresponding to the current power state comprising: determining, by the digital currency card application apparatus, according to the transaction rule, that the payment function is enabled and the password-free payment rule has been set, wherein the password-free payment rule comprises a password-free payment amount;
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, a password-free payment on a digital currency of a payment amount when the payment amount in the transaction request is less than or equal to the password-free payment amount;
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 6-7) ("In one embodiment, if the smart terminal satisfies the payment conditions, the payment response information is sent to the payment object device through the target authorized payment application, and the payment conditions include that the sum of the paid amount and the to-be-paid amount of the target authorized payment application is less than or equal to the target. The payment amount threshold of the authorized payment application, and the number of times of completing payment through the target authorized payment application is less than the payment times threshold of the target authorized payment application; the payment response information includes the currency of the amount to be paid. In a second aspect, an embodiment of the present application provides a service processing device on an intelligent terminal, including: The acquiring unit is configured to acquire the non-electric payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application when the payment event in the non-electric state is detected, and the non-electric payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the non-electric payment parameters of the target authorized payment application , the powerless payment parameters include the payment amount threshold and/or the payment times threshold of the target authorized payment application;")
when a payment amount in the transaction request is greater than the password-free payment amount, determining, by the digital currency card application apparatus, that the current power state is the power-on with power available state and the authenticated payment rule has been set, and performing authenticated payment on a digital currency of the payment amount according to the authenticated payment rule.
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 9-10) ("The payment request received by the payment module further includes the amount to be paid, and the amount to be paid is the amount initiated by the payment object device and needs to be paid by the current smart terminal. If the smart terminal satisfies the payment conditions, it can authorize the payment application to pay the payment target device the currency of the amount to be paid according to the target. Wherein, the payment condition may be: the sum of the paid amount and the amount to be paid by the target authorized payment application is less than or equal to the payment amount threshold of the target authorized payment application, and the number of times the payment is completed by the target authorized payment application is less than the target authorization The threshold for the number of payments for the payment application. That is to say, the payment module determines whether the payment amount of the payment application authorized by the target exceeds the payment amount threshold, and determines whether the payment times of the payment application authorized by the target exceeds the payment times threshold. In this way, it can be ensured that the number of payments and the payment amount of the smart terminal are limited when there is no electricity, and losses can be minimized in the event of an accident.")
Claims 12 and 13 are substantially similar to claim 1, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 19-21 are substantially similar to claims 4-6, thus, they are rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2022/121668; in view of Zhang, China Patent Application Publication Number 112508554; in view of Hanson, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2024/0037532; in view of Abendroth, WIPO Patent Application Publication Number 2008/000721.
As per claim 2,
Zhu explicitly teaches:
wherein the acquiring, by a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device, a current power state of the first transaction device after receiving a transaction request sent by the second transaction device, comprises: performing, by the digital currency card application apparatus, [certificate verification with the second transaction device] after receiving the transaction request sent by the second transaction device, [wherein the certificate verification is configured to verify the validity of the user certificates of both the first transaction device and the second transaction device;]
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8-9) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
acquiring, by the digital currency card application apparatus, the current power state of the first transaction device [after determining that the certificate verification has passed.]
(Zhu WO2022121668A1 at pp. 8) ("Please refer to FIG. 2. FIG. 2 provides a schematic flowchart of a service processing method on an intelligent terminal according to an embodiment of the present application. When the smart terminal executes the process shown in Figure 2, it may include the following steps: 210. When a payment event in a powerless state is detected, obtain the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application, where the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application includes the powerless payment parameters of the target authorized payment application, and the powerless payment authorization information of the target authorized payment application. The payment parameters include a payment amount threshold and/or a payment number threshold of the target authorized payment application. In a possible implementation manner, the smart terminal detects a payment event in a no-power state, which may be implemented by the power monitoring module actively informing the payment module that the smart terminal has no power. Specifically, the payment module can subscribe the power monitoring module for the powerless state notification when the smart terminal has power. For example, the payment module can send a subscription message to the power monitoring module to notify the power outage status, and the power monitoring module receives the subscription message for the outage status notification and determines that it is necessary to send the no-power indication information to the payment module when the smart terminal is about to be in a non-power state. , notifies the payment module intelligent terminal to enter the no-power state. The no-power state notification message may be sent by the power monitoring module to the payment module when the smart terminal is in a shutdown state, so that the payment module can be notified in time. If the sensing module detects the payment request sent by the payment object device in the no-power state, it can be determined that a payment event in the no-power state is detected. Wherein, the payment request may be sent by the payment object device to the sensing module of the smart terminal by means of an electromagnetic field.")
Zhu, Zhang, and Hanson do not explicitly teach, however, Abendroth does teach:
performing, [by the digital currency card] application apparatus, certificate verification with the second transaction device [after receiving the transaction request sent by the second transaction device], wherein the certificate verification is configured to verify the validity of the user certificates of both the first transaction device and the second transaction device;
(Abendroth WO2008000721A1 at pp. 2-3) ("The present invention tackles this problem. It is proposed to protect services accessible via a network by combining information drawn from subscriber (user) specific authentication and device specific verification in a certificate used for service access. Preferably, this certificate is sealed to the device or even a special (trusted) state of the device which is used for service access. Below individual steps of the invention are provided: a) An authentication of a service subscriber (user) is performed. In a mobile network environment the Authentication and Key Agreement Protocol (AKA protocol) may be used for this purpose. b) A device verification procedure is performed to check whether the device employed by the subscriber is in line with security requirements. For instance, procedures proposed by the trusted computing group (TCG) may be applied for verification . c) A certificate is generated proving both the authentication of the service subscriber and the device verification, e.g. by including credentials derived from these procedures. For example, an attestation of the verification result (such as an attestation identity key AIK) may be included in the certificate. The certificate can be bound on the device in the specific device state that was verified, i.e. it will not be accessible in any other device state. d) The certificate is transmitted or provided to the device. e) The certificate is used for accessing the service." "After the generation of a certificate - which is referred to as TC_CERT below - the certificate is sent to the device using a secure channel. Also the associated 'private key' PrK_tc is generated in network and sent to the device, in a way that a subscriber can use but not modify it. TCG mechanisms can be used to accomplish this, e.g. relying on the secure SW running in the device or using TPM based remote protocols such as 'remote data binding' that makes use of TPM auditing commands. The TC_CERT as well as the associated private key are sealed to the system state that corresponds to the state that is confirmed by the certificate. Improving this and to assure presence of the SIM/USIM device when using the TC_CERT the following mechanism (or variants of it) can be applied (see Figure 6 ) : The public key PrK_tc is encrypted by applying the key Ks (session key) or the key PrK_SSC (private key resulting from a SSC procedure) . Afterwards a seal is applied. The sealed and encrypted key is transmitted to a trusted platform module on the device. There the message is unsealed (assuming the device stat did not change) and the encrypted key is forwarded to the user-specific module provided by a SIM or USIM card. Upon decryption the public key PrK_TC is available for secured communication.")
acquiring, by the [digital currency card] application apparatus, the current [power] state of the first transaction device after determining that the certificate verification has passed.
(Abendroth WO2008000721A1 at pp. 2-3) ("The present invention tackles this problem. It is proposed to protect services accessible via a network by combining information drawn from subscriber (user) specific authentication and device specific verification in a certificate used for service access. Preferably, this certificate is sealed to the device or even a special (trusted) state of the device which is used for service access. Below individual steps of the invention are provided: a) An authentication of a service subscriber (user) is performed. In a mobile network environment the Authentication and Key Agreement Protocol (AKA protocol) may be used for this purpose. b) A device verification procedure is performed to check whether the device employed by the subscriber is in line with security requirements. For instance, procedures proposed by the trusted computing group (TCG) may be applied for verification . c) A certificate is generated proving both the authentication of the service subscriber and the device verification, e.g. by including credentials derived from these procedures. For example, an attestation of the verification result (such as an attestation identity key AIK) may be included in the certificate. The certificate can be bound on the device in the specific device state that was verified, i.e. it will not be accessible in any other device state. d) The certificate is transmitted or provided to the device. e) The certificate is used for accessing the service." "After the generation of a certificate - which is referred to as TC_CERT below - the certificate is sent to the device using a secure channel. Also the associated 'private key' PrK_tc is generated in network and sent to the device, in a way that a subscriber can use but not modify it. TCG mechanisms can be used to accomplish this, e.g. relying on the secure SW running in the device or using TPM based remote protocols such as 'remote data binding' that makes use of TPM auditing commands. The TC_CERT as well as the associated private key are sealed to the system state that corresponds to the state that is confirmed by the certificate. Improving this and to assure presence of the SIM/USIM device when using the TC_CERT the following mechanism (or variants of it) can be applied (see Figure 6 ) : The public key PrK_tc is encrypted by applying the key Ks (session key) or the key PrK_SSC (private key resulting from a SSC procedure) . Afterwards a seal is applied. The sealed and encrypted key is transmitted to a trusted platform module on the device. There the message is unsealed (assuming the device stat did not change) and the encrypted key is forwarded to the user-specific module provided by a SIM or USIM card. Upon decryption the public key PrK_TC is available for secured communication.")
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhu, Zhang, Hanson, and Abendroth, because it allows for an efficient procedure to establish a trusted relationship that takes the above security and user authentication aspects into account. In particular, device integrity has to be ensured in addition to the user's identity. (Abendroth at Abstract and pp. 1-2).
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 2, thus, it is rejected on similar grounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 101 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, and 19-21, Examiner notes the following:
Applicant argues that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea.
Examiner disagrees, however, and notes that the claim as a whole recites a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. This is a fundamental economic practice of a financial transaction; a commercial interaction, such as for business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which are certain methods of organizing human activity.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1: YES).
Regarding the applicant's argument that the amended features would integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, the examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner disagrees and notes that the additional elements of the computer system - “a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device”, “second transaction device”, “a secure element of the first transaction device”, “a chip operating system interface of the secure element”, “a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device”, and “a payment receipt device”, to perform the steps of “acquiring” and “performing”, in all steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The claims at issue covers collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate the completion of a financial transaction. The claims invoke the “a digital currency card application apparatus of a first transaction device”, “second transaction device”, “a secure element of the first transaction device”, “a chip operating system interface of the secure element”, “a software/hardware power state acquisition interface reserved by the first transaction device”, and “a payment receipt device”, to perform the steps of “acquiring” and “performing” merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a certain method of organizing human activity or mental process or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05 (f))
Examiner notes that, the stated problems of how to securely, reliably, and controllably receive digital currency based upon device status is not a technical problem, and the claimed solution is not a technical solution. In the claim, the solution of determining a status to ascertain whether to facilitate a financial transaction is part of the abstract idea, as it is merely involves collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate completion of a financial transaction. Furthermore, the data manipulation and analysis could be completed mentally or manually by paper or pen.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 102 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 12-15, 17, and 19-21, Examiner notes that the rejection is withdrawn.
With respect to Applicant’s arguments as to the § 103 rejections for now pending claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 14-15, 17 and 20-26, Examiner notes that the following:
Applicant first argues that “the combination of Zhu and Zhang does not disclose the technical feature of acquiring the power state under the extreme condition where the main system is powered off without power.”
Examiner disagrees and notes that Applicant’s argument overlooks the broader disclosures on pages 10-11, particularly the disclosures that "the Applet in the safety unit acquires the current STATE in real time through an instruction such as PMU service GET _ PMU _ STATE _ CMD/RSP to complete the transaction processing" and that "the NFC and eSE (i.e., NFC unit and secure unit) chips can acquire the device on/off state, the device off/screen lock state, and the networking state in two ways: hardware and software". When considered as a whole, Zhang reasonably teaches a secure-element-resident application obtaining device power-state information via software/hardware interfaces. Furthermore, Applicant argues limitations that are not claimed. The claim does not require the secure element to acquire the power state independently or to acquire the power state when the device is powered off. Rather, the claim recites acquiring a current power state.
Applicant's argument that “a person skilled in the art could not combine them without exercising inventive ingenuity” is not persuasive because it argues the references individually rather than in combination. Zhu is relied upon to teach the recited power-state-dependent transaction rules, while Hanson is relied upon to teach the payment receipt device and corresponding payment receipt functionality. Additionally, the claim does not require a powered-off receiving device or an independently operating secure element, as argued by Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is available for review on Form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT J HASBROUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695