DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by US 20200411289 A1 by Radomski et al (Radomski).
Referring to claim 1, Radomski Fig 1-20 teaches: A method for reducing radio frequency (RF) power reflected towards a high frequency (HF) RF generator in a bin independent manner (See Fig 17-20, abstract paragraph [0054] and claim 34) , comprising:
receiving a voltage signal from an output of a match coupled to a low frequency (LF) RF generator and the HF RF generator (See Fig 1-3, paragraphs [0036]-[0037] where it was taught a low frequency signal is triggered from the second RF frequency generator);
dividing the voltage signal into a plurality of bins for each cycle of an LF RF signal generated by the LF RF generator (See Fig 9, 10 and paragraph [0062] [0063]);
identifying a first bin from the plurality of bins during which a zero crossing occurs; accessing measurements of a parameter for occurrences of a pre-determined number of the plurality of bins (See Fig 15 paragraph [0069] Fig 20 [0087]);
calculating a frequency of operation of the HF RF generator for the first bin based on the measurements of the parameter; controlling the HF RF generator to operate at the frequency of operation during an occurrence of the first bin (See Fig 20 paragraph [0083]-[0087]).
Referring to claim 3 Radomski teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the measurements include values received during a transition state associated with power of the LF RF signal generated by the LF RF generator (See Fig 9,10 and paragraphs [0062], [0063]).
Referring to claim 4 Radomski teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the parameter is a reflection coefficient or voltage standing wave ratio (See Fig 8 and paragraph [0061] and [0091]).
Referring to claim 5 Radomski teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the voltage signal has a negative slope at the zero crossing (Fig 6 and paragraph [0058] the voltage has a negative slope at zero crossing).
Referring to claim 6 Radomski teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the pre-determined number includes all of the plurality of bins for each cycle (See Fig 20 and paragraph [0087]).
Referring to claim 8 Radomski teaches A controller (Fig 1, 7, 18 and item 20’ controller for reducing radio frequency (RF) power reflected towards a high frequency (HF) RF generator in a bin independent manner, (See abstract and paragraphs comprising:
a processor (item 20’ controller has a processor) configured to: receive a voltage signal from an output of a match (see matching network 18b) coupled to a low frequency (LF) RF generator (see Fig 1, 7, 17 item 14b RF generator [0049]) and the HF RF generator (See item 14a paragraphs [0043] [0049] );
divide the voltage signal into a plurality of bins for each cycle of an LF RF signal generated by the LF RF generator (See Fig 9, 10 and paragraph [0062] [0063]);
identify a first bin from the plurality of bins during which a zero crossing occurs ;
access measurements of a parameter for occurrences of a pre-determined number of the plurality of bins (See paragraph [0087]); calculate a frequency of operation of the HF RF generator for the first bin based on the measurements of the parameter (See paragraph [0087] and Fig 20);
control the HF RF generator to operate at the frequency of operation during an occurrence of the first bin (item 20a controller controls the HF generator [0048]); and
a memory device coupled to the processor (See paragraph [0054] where Radomski teaches a memory [0095] –[0097]).
Referring to claim 10 Radomski teaches controller of claim 8, wherein the measurements include values received during a transition state associated with power of the LF RF signal generated by the LF RF generator. (See Fig 9,10 and paragraphs [0062], [0063]).
Referring to claim 11 Radomski teaches controller of claim 8, wherein the parameter is a reflection coefficient or a voltage standing wave ratio. (See Fig 8 and paragraph [0061] and [0091]).
Referring to claim 12 Radomski teaches controller of claim 8, wherein the voltage signal has a negative slope at the zero crossing. (Fig 6 and paragraph [0058] the voltage has a negative slope at zero crossing).
Referring to claim 13 Radomski teaches The controller of claim 8, wherein the pre-determined number includes all of the plurality of bins for each cycle. (See Fig 20 and paragraph [0087]).
Referring to claim 15 Radomski teaches A plasma system (See Fig 1, 7, 17 abstract and claim 1) comprising:
a low frequency (LF) RF generator configured to generate an LF RF signal ((see Fig 1, 7, 17 item 14b RF generator [0049])
a high frequency (HF) RF generator configured to generate an HF RF signal(see Fig 1, 7, 17 item 14a RF generator [0049]);
a match coupled to the LF RF generator and the HF RF generator (see matching network 18a, b [0043]), wherein the match is configured to receive the LF RF and HF RF signals to output a modified RF signal (controller 20’ generates the output signal to the system); and
a controller (Fig 1, 7, 17 item 20’ and paragraphs coupled to the LF RF generator, the HF RF generator, and the match, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a voltage signal from an output of the match (item 20a controller controls the HF generator [0048]); divide the voltage signal into a plurality of bins for each cycle of the LF RF signal (See Fig 15 paragraph [0069] Fig 20 [0087]); identify a first bin from the plurality of bins during which a zero crossing occurs(See paragraph [0087] and Fig 20);
access measurements of a parameter for occurrences of a pre-determined number of the plurality of bins(See paragraph [0087] and Fig 20); calculate a frequency of operation of the HF RF generator for the first bin based on the measurements of the parameter (See Fig 15 paragraph [0069] Fig 20 [0087]); control the HF RF generator to operate at the frequency of operation during an occurrence of the first bin(See paragraph [0087] and Fig 20);
Referring to claim 17 Radomski teaches plasma system of claim 15, wherein the measurements include values received during a transition state associated with power of the LF RF signal generated by the LF RF generator. (See Fig 9,10 and paragraphs [0062], [0063]).
Referring to claim 18 Radomski teaches The plasma system of claim 15, wherein the parameter is a reflection coefficient or a voltage standing wave ratio. (See Fig 8 and paragraph [0061] and [0091]).
Referring to claim 19 Radomski teaches The plasma system of claim 15, wherein the voltage signal has a negative slope at the zero crossing. (Fig 6 and paragraph [0058] the voltage has a negative slope at zero crossing).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20 are rejected.
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14 16 and 20 are objected.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/Examiner, Art Unit 2844 02/02/2026