DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the method claims 1-13, 26-29 in the reply filed on 7/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 28, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Toda et al. (US 2015/0380268A1).
With respect to claims 1, 28, 29, Toda describes an etching method comprising: providing a wafer in a reaction chamber, the wafer comprising a silicon oxide film to be etched or target material that is to be partially or wholly etched; providing a gas mixture comprising F2 (a halogen source), an alcohol gas such as butanol (organic solvent) or water vapor, an inert gas (a carrier gas), and HF gas (an additive comprising a hydrogen fluoride complex forming chemical) (para 6, 7, 39) or claimed the gas mixture is a vapor phase; providing a high temperature including 100-300 degrees C or 150-250 degrees C to etch the silicon oxide without exposing the wafer to a plasma (para 47-51, 61).
Claim(s) 1, 3-13, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li et al. (5783495).
With respect to claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 28 Li teaches a method comprising: providing a substrate in a vapor chamber wherein the substrate having a silicon substrate with a native oxide 16 to be removed; providing a vapor mixture comprising HF or a halogen source, an alcohol vapor or water vapor, TEAH or TMAH or claimed additive comprising a hydrogen fluoride complex forming chemical containing an alkyl group, and a carrier gas (abs.; col. 3, lines 21-33; col. 4, line 20-32); providing a temperature from 60-to 105 degrees C to remove the native oxide 16 or claimed providing thermal energy to drive a reaction that partially or wholly etches the target material without exposing the substrate to a plasma (col. 5, lines 47-58).
Claims 4, 5, 8-13, 26 and 27 describe alternate compounds as cited in claim 3; therefore, they are considered to be optional and not necessarily part of the method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fisher et al. (WO-2019226341A1).
With respect to claim 2, Toda doesn’t teach the method further comprising prior to providing the etching gas mixture of F2, HF, alcohol/vapor water, and carrier gas, exposing the substrate to thermal energy and a second gas mixture to drive a second reaction between the second gas mixture and the target material to form a modified target material. Fisher teaches a selective etching method for the same material including silicon oxide (para 57, 63), where a process gas and thermal energy modifies a surface prior to a subsequent process gas being used to remove the modified surface (para 79, fig. 6), wherein a process step 605 with a first gas and a first thermal energy modifies the surface prior to the steps 609 and 611 removing the modified surface. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Toda’s method by providing a step of providing a first process gas and thermal energy, in light of Fisher’s teaching, because this would provide a modified surface and facilitate Toda’s etching of the target layer with selectivity with expected results.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fisher et al. (WO-2019226341A1).
With respect to claim 2, Li doesn’t teach the method further comprising prior to the etching step, exposing the substrate to thermal energy and a second gas mixture to drive a second reaction between the second gas mixture and the target material to form a modified target material. Fisher teaches a selective etching method for the same material including silicon oxide (para 57, 63), where a process gas and thermal energy modifies a surface prior to a subsequent process gas being used to remove the modified surface (para 79, fig. 6), wherein a process step 605 with a first gas and a first thermal energy modifies the surface prior to the steps 609 and 611 removing the modified surface. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Li’s method by providing a step of providing a first process gas and thermal energy, in light of Fisher’s teaching, because this would provide a modified surface and facilitate Li’s etching of the target layer with selectivity with expected results.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 28 above, and further in view of Toda et al. (US 2015/0380268).
With respect to claim 29, Li doesn’t teach that the alcohol comprising 1-butanol. However, butanol is known and used by one skilled in the in the etching process for oxide material as shown here by Toda (para 39). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an 1-butanol, in light of Toda, in order to provide an alcohol to facilitate the removal of the oxide material with expected results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 26-29 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 9-11, 21-26, 45, 48, 52-56, 58 of copending Application No. 17/995290 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Application No. 17/995290 describes the same steps of etching a substrate to partially or wholly removing a target material having a modification step and etching step, which uses the same vapor phase gas mixture.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-13, 26-29 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,568,781. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of Patent No. 12,568,781 describes the same steps of etching to partially or wholly remove a target material having a modification step and etching step, which uses the same vapor phase gas mixture.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
7/23/2026