DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2005/0073047 A1 (Miura).
Miura discloses, referring primarily to figures 1-3, a core substrate (2) for wiring boards comprising: a fiber base material; and an insulating resin layer impregnated into the fiber base material ([0031]-[0032]), wherein the core substrate for wiring boards has a first main surface and a second main surface on a rear side of the first main surface; and at least one of the first main surface or the second main surface is a flat surface having an arithmetic mean roughness Ra of 10 nm or less ([0040], [0098]) [claim 8].
Additionally, Miura discloses a wiring board comprising: the core substrate for wiring boards according to claim 8 (as described above); and a wiring layer (3, 4) provided on the flat surface ([0073]-[0074]) [claim 10].
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0118964 A1 (Nakamura).
Nakamura a core substrate for wiring boards comprising: a fiber base material; and an insulating resin layer impregnated into the fiber base material ([0107]), wherein the core substrate for wiring boards has a first main surface and a second main surface on a rear side of the first main surface; and at least one of the first main surface or the second main surface is a flat surface having an arithmetic mean roughness Ra of 10 nm or less ([0160]) [claim 8], wherein the insulating resin layer has a modified region including a void, which is provided in a surface layer portion on a flat surface side of the core substrate ([0116]-[0121]) [claim 9].
Additionally, Nakamura discloses a wiring board comprising: the core substrate for wiring boards according to claim 8 (as described above); and a wiring layer provided on the flat surface ([0135]-[0159]) [claim 10].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0047742 A1 (Samejima) in view of US 2005/0146403 A1 (Okubora).
Samejima discloses, referring primarily to figures 2A-5, a method for producing a core substrate for wiring boards, the method comprising: hot pressing ([0042]) an intermediate base material (50a, 50b, 2a, 2b, 2c) comprising a fiber base material (3a, be) and a thermosetting resin composition (4a, 4b, 2a, 2b, 2c; [0036]) impregnated into the fiber base material, thereby forming a core substrate having a core portion having a first main surface and a second main surface on a rear side of the first main surface, the core portion comprising the fiber base material and an insulating resin layer that is the cured or semi-cured thermosetting resin composition ([0039]-[0042]). Samejima does not specifically disclose planarizing at least one surface of the first main surface or the second main surface, thereby forming a flat surface [claim 1]. However, it is well known in the art to flatten the surface of a fiber impregnated resin substrate as evidenced by Okubora ([0018]-[0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the invention of Samejima. The motivation for doing so would have been to a substrate suitable for high precision component formation (Okubora [0023]).
Additionally, the modified invention of Samejima teaches wherein at least one surface of the first main surface or the second main surface is planarized by a polishing method, a fly cutting method, or a combination thereof (Okubora [0023]) [claim 3], wherein the fiber base material is located beneath the flat surface (Samejima, figure 2E, [0042]) [claim 4], further comprising forming a modified region including a void (8a, Samejima figure 3D) in the insulating resin layer [claim 6] and forming a wiring layer on the flat surface (51a, 51b) [claim 7].
Regarding claim 5, though the modified invention of Samejima does not specifically teach that in the core substrate before the flat surface is formed, the fiber base material is located in a region at a depth of 1 µm or more from a surface to be planarized of the first main surface or second main surface [claim 5], such a modification would involve a mere rearrangement of the working parts of the modified invention of Samejima, which has been held to be within the skill of the ordinary artisan (MPEP 2144). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the modified invention of Samejima. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensure sufficient resin was available for polishing without exposing the fiber material.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Samejima in view of Okubora as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miura.
The modified invention of Samejima teaches the claimed invention as described above except modified Samejima does not specifically teach the flat surface having an arithmetic mean roughness Ra of 10 nm or less is formed by planarizing at least one surface of the first main surface or the second main surface. However, planarizing a fiber infused resin in the claimed manner is well known in the art as evidenced by Miura ([0040], [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to incorporate the claimed features into the modified invention of Samejima, The motivation for doing so would have been to improve adhesion between insulating and conductive layers (Miura [0040]).
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847