DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. The Restriction election received on 05/26/2026 has been acknowledged. Claim 55 has been amended and claim(s) 1-44 have been cancelled. Claims 45-64 are now pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I and Species 1 (claims 45-53) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 54-64 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention Group II and Species 2-3. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/26/2026.
Applicant's statement that claims 55-64 not depend directly or indirectly from claim 45 of Group 1, has been considered, however, claim 55 remains a process claim that is not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept, as detailed in the restriction requirement.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 50 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 50, at line 2, the recitation “bracket”, is understood to mean --brackets--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “or more” in “three or more columns” of claim 45 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 45-47 and 49-52, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soucy et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,057,172).
Regarding claim 45, Soucy et al. teaches a reinforcement assembly for a monopole (abstract), the reinforcement assembly comprising three or more columns (9) secured in spaced relation away from an outer surface of the monopole (figure 1), each of the columns being arranged to extend between a first and second distal end (bottom and top ends of 9), the first distal end of each of the columns being secured to a foundation of the monopole (71; figure 1), and the second distal end of each of the columns being located at a height that is above a height of the first distal end (figure 1), the columns being arranged such that, in use, a load applied to the monopole is distributed between the monopole and each of the three or more columns (since the structural limitations of the claim are met, it is understood that in use, a load applied to the monopole would be distributed between the monopole and each of the three or more columns).
Soucy et al. does not specifically disclose the columns having a cross-section that defines a square or rectangular hollow section. However, it would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the columns to have a cross-section that defines a square or rectangular hollow section, since such a modification would have only involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent any persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). It is also common knowledge to choose a shape that has a desired aesthetic or durability and flexibility etc. for the application and intended use of that element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the columns to have a cross-section that defines a square or rectangular hollow section, in order to provide an improved welding surface which provides a greater contact area for a more consistent weld seating.
Regarding claim 46, Soucy et al. does not specifically disclose between approximately 40% to 70% of the load is distributed from the monopole to the three or more columns.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges wherein between approximately 40% to 70% of the load is distributed from the monopole to the three or more columns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that by discovering an optimum value of a result, the effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to contrive any number of desirable ranges wherein between approximately 40% to 70% of the load is distributed from the monopole to the three or more columns, in order to provide a more stable force distribution, to protect against strong winds and prevent failure.
Regarding claim 47, Soucy et al. teaches each of the columns comprises a plurality of segments (at 39, 41), each of the plurality of segments being coupled together (figure 9) so as to enable continuous transfer of the load between an adjacent two segments of the plurality of segments (it is understood that the segments would enable continuous transfer of the load between an adjacent two segments of the plurality of segments).
Regarding claim 49, Soucy et al. teaches each of the three or more columns are secured to the outer surface of the monopole at intervals therealong (figure 1).
Regarding claim 50, Soucy et al. teaches the reinforcement assembly further comprises a plurality of mounting brackets (23) that are configured to secure each of the three or more columns to the outer surface of the monopole (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 51, Soucy et al. teaches the plurality of mounting brackets are each fixed to the outer surface of the monopole via one or more fastener (13) to the outer surface of the monopole (figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 52, Soucy et al. teaches the first distal end of each of the columns is secured to the foundation using a cast-in anchor (51).
Claim(s) 48, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Soucy et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,057,172) in view of Stevens (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0058550)
Regarding claim 48, Soucy et al. does not specifically disclose a connecting bracket is fixed to one or more side of each segment of the adjacent two segments proximal an end thereof so as to couple the adjacent two segments together.
Stevens discloses a fastening assembly for a pole (abstract; figure 1) including a connecting bracket (4) is fixed to one or more side of each segment of the adjacent two segments proximal an end thereof (figure 1) so as to couple the adjacent two segments together (figure 1).
Therefore, from the teaching of Stevens, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anchoring assembly of Soucy et al. to include a connecting bracket is fixed to one or more side of each segment of the adjacent two segments proximal an end thereof so as to couple the adjacent two segments together, as taught by Stevens, in order to securely connect two components together and provide a means of adjusting the combined length thereof to provide incremental adjustments as required to facilitate installation to the desired length or alignment.
Claim(s) 53, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soucy et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,057,172) in view of Doocy (U.S. Patent No. 3,571,991).
Regarding claim 53, Soucy et al. does not specifically disclose a stub assembly is arranged at the first distal end of each column, the cast-in or chemical anchor being configured to fix the stub assembly to the foundation.
Doocy discloses a base structure for a pole (abstract) including a stub assembly (33, 35, 45) is arranged at the first distal end of each column (B6), the cast-in anchor being configured to fix the stub assembly to the foundation (figure 5).
Therefore, from the teaching of Doocy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the anchoring assembly of Soucy et al. to include a stub assembly is arranged at the first distal end of each column, the cast-in or chemical anchor being configured to fix the stub assembly to the foundation, as taught by Doocy, in order to further secure the pole to the foundation by providing additional points of contact connecting the columns to the foundation for a more robust securement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to tower assemblies in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633