DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thimothee J. V. Blanquart et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2018/0182613, here after Blanquart).
Claim 1 is rejected. Blanquart teaches a method for processing substrates, the method comprising:
pyrolyzing a deposition precursor on a surface of a substrate to form a pyrolyzed film comprising a decomposed silicon-containing precursor [0013, 0088]; and
exposing the pyrolyzed film to a first plasma to form a deposited film [0014-0015].
Claim 2 is rejected as the pyrolyzing is performed by heating the
substrate to a temperature sufficient to cause pyrolysis of the deposition precursor; and exposing the surface of the substrate to the deposition precursor [0013-0015, 0088].
Claim 3 is rejected as Blanquart teaches pyrolyzing and the exposing of the
pyrolyzed film are performed in a process chamber having a chamber pressure of about 10 Torr [0063].
Claim 8 is rejected as Blanquart teaches first plasma(reactant) is generated by igniting an inert gas (as inert gas flow with reactant gas) [0038, 0113] which in fact the deposited film is densified.
Claim 10 is rejected. Blanquart teaches a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising:
(a) introducing a deposition precursor (silicon halide) to a process chamber housing the substrate;
(b) pyrolyzing the deposition precursor on a surface of the substrate to form a pyrolyzed
film comprising a decomposed silicon-containing precursor;
(c) introducing a plasma to the process chamber, the plasma being generated from
igniting a reactant to form a reactant plasma ambient in the process chamber; and
(d) while the reactant plasma ambient is in the process chamber, exposing the
pyrolyzed film to the reactant plasma to form at least a partial film on the substrate [0013-0015, 0088].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thimothee J. V. Blanquart et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2018/0182613, here after Blanquart), further in view of Takahiro Oka et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2013/0084714, here after Oka).
Claim 4 is rejected. Blanquart teaches a purging step with inert gas prior to
exposing the pyrolyzed film to reactive plasma (nitrogen containing plasma for making silicon nitride) [0034, 0053, 0036], but does not teach the inert gas is an inert gas plasma. Oka teaches a method of depositing a film by adsorbing and decomposition of precursor on substrate and exposing to reactive plasma, and further teaches prior to exposing to reactive plasma exposing to inert plasma to decompose the precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Blanquart where a plasma is also igniting during purge time, because it further helps decomposition of the precursor on substrate.
Claim 7 is rejected for the same reason claim 4 is rejected which in fact comprising exposing the pyrolyzed film to a second plasma (inert plasma) [see claim 5 rejections above].
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thimothee J. V. Blanquart et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2018/0182613, here after Blanquart), further in view of Awnish Gupta et al (WO 2021/025874, here after Gupta).
Claim 5 is rejected. Blanquart teaches a method for processing substrates, the method comprising:
setting a temperature of a substrate to a first temperature;
exposing the substrate to a deposition precursor having a pyrolysis temperature that is less than the substrate temperature while substrate is heated to the first temperature in a plasma-free environment;
stopping exposure of the deposition precursor; and
after stopping exposure of the deposition precursor, exposing the substrate to a first plasma to form a deposited film [0013-0015, 0088]. Blanquart does not teach heating the substrate with a heatable pedestal holding the substrate (in ALD chamber). Gupta teaches a method of a film comprising silicon (silicon nitride) [abstract] where the silicon precursor is decomposed and pyrolysis [0028], and further teaches the substrate is heated by heatable pedestal holding the substrate [0097, fig. 11] in an ALD chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Blanquart where a substrate is heated by a heatable pedestal as Gupta, because it is suitable way to heat substrate in ALD chamber.
Claim 6 is rejected. Balnquart teachs the precursor is a silane compound [0067] but not bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane. Gupta teaches a method of a film comprising silicon (silicon nitride) [abstract] where the silicon precursor is decomposed and pyrolysis [0028], and further teaches the silicon precursor is a silane compound such as bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane [0045]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of Blanquart where the precursor is bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane, because it is suitable silane compound as silicon precursor to decompose by heat for making silicon nitride films.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Blanquart. Blanquart teaches decomposition of precursor, therefore the substrate temperature should be higher than the pyrolyzing temperature.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argument regarding Gupta does not teach pyrolyzing is not persuasive, Gupta clearly teaches heating precursor at high temperature results in pyrolyzing and decomposition [0029]. Regarding the applicant argument in paragraph 0045, Gupta teaches decomposition by heat or plasma and 0045 is related the decomposition by plasma. However, to make the rejection more clear and stronger the examiner replaced Gupta with Blanquart reference (see claim rejection above) which teaches decomposition of precursor following by reaction with reactant plasma.
The applicant argument regarding claim 10 is not persuasive as Blanquart also teaches the new limitations of claim 10(see claim rejection above).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718