DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 9-12 in the reply filed on 07/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 9-12 are currently examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al (US 20170345672 A1, “Kaneko”), or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko.
Regarding claim 9, Kaneko teaches an evaluation method of a subsurface damaged layer, the method comprising providing a surface scratches/disordered crystallinity/modified layer (subsurface damaged layer) of a SiC (semiconductor) substrate and observing in-growth stacking faults formed during epitaxial growth on the semiconductor (SiC) substrate (figs 3-6, 0002, 0004-0007, 0010, 0057-0062, 0073-0075, 0084). Even if it is not clearly envisaged an evaluation step of evaluating a subsurface damaged layer of a semiconductor substrate based on in-growth stacking faults formed during epitaxial growth on the semiconductor substrate, it still would have been obvious that one skilled in the art before the effective filing date would have readily evaluated the subsurface damaged layer of a semiconductor substrate based on the in-growth stacking faults formed during epitaxial growth on the semiconductor substrate since Kaneko explicitly teaches the subsurface damaged layer (surface scratches/disordered crystallinity/modified layer) of the semiconductor substrate is corresponding to the in-growth stacking faults formed during epitaxial growth on the semiconductor substrate (figs 3-6, 0002, 0004-0007, 0010, 0057-0062, 0073-0075, 0084).
Regarding claim 10, Kaneko teaches etching step of etching the subsurface damaged layer of the semiconductor substrate; a crystal growth step of performing crystal growth on a surface on which the subsurface damaged layer is etched (0001, 0009-0029, 0057-0077, 0080-0095, claims 1-11); and a measurement step of measuring density of in-growth stacking faults at the crystal growth step (0006, 0059, 0062, 0073, 0082-0084, 0095).
Regarding claim 11, Kaneko teaches that the evaluation step is a step of performing measurement/observing two substrates (a plurality of times) while changing an etching depth (0006, 0059, 0062, 0073, 0082-0084, 0095). Also, the court has held that repeating steps would have been obvious, and "[a] person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton," MPEP 2143 I (E).
Regarding claim 12, Kaneko teaches the etching step includes a first etching step of etching at a first etching depth and a second etching step of etching at a second etching depth (0062). Kaneko also teaches that the depth of etching is controlled to obtain a smooth terrace of the substrate (0010, 0029, 0059-0062, 0081-0084, claims 1, 2 and 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified/optimized Kaneko, and obtained various depths including a first etching depth and a second etching depth in order to obtain a smooth terrace of the substrate, by conducting routine experimentation of a result effective variable. See MPEP 2144.05 (II) (A-B). Further it is well-established that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/HUA QI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714