DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending and examined in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kent et al (US 6,558,716) in view of NPL Damar et al. “Concentration of whey proteins by ultrafiltration: Comparative evaluation of process effectiveness based on physicochemical properties of membranes” (from International Diary Journal 111 (2020) 104823).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9, 10, 14 and 17-19: Kent discloses a method of making cream cheese by (i) preparing a cheese curd; (ii) preparing a whey protein composition; (iii) combining the cheese curd and the whey protein composition to form a whey protein-cheese curd blend; and (iv) subjecting the whey protein-cheese curd blend to high shear and an elevated temperature for a time sufficient to provide a stable cheese product supplemented with whey protein. The heat treatment effectively transforms the whey protein to produce a "functionally enhanced" whey protein which allows for the formation of a stable cheese product containing the functionally enhanced whey protein (see Kent abstract; column 3, lines 30-column 4, line 22). Kent discloses using aqueous whey solution comprising 2-12wt% whey, but fails to disclose using ultrafiltration to attain the desired concentration; However, Damar discloses using ultrafiltration to attain desired whey concentration is well known and conventional (see Damar whole document). Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have modified Kent and to have used ultrafiltration to attain desired whey concentration, as conventional in the art, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
As to the sweet whey and acid whey and their contents recited in the claims: Kent discloses the whey may be a combination of acid whey and sweet whey to attain desired flavor (see Kent column 3, lines 23-43). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was made to have modified Kent and to have adjusted the relative contents of the sweet whey and acid whey to attain the desired flavor, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 8: Kent discloses the whey solution is acidic at pH of about 4.5 (see Kent examples 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 9, 11-13, 15 and 16: Kent disclose using cream with skim or whole milk and of heat treating the mixture at temperatures between 70°C-90°C for 5 to 45 minutes (see Kent column 3, lines 30-45).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Spiegel et al (USPatPub. 2016/0088855 A1) – discloses a method of making cream cheese by fermenting a mixture of cheese curds and whey.
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792