DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a national stage entry of application PCT/EP2023/054221, filed on 2/20/2023, which claims priority from EP22168399.8, filed on 4/14/2022, and from EP22159521.8, filed on 3/1/2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is curved” in line 2 in claim 25 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19, line 2, “the at least one element” should be changed to --the at least one shielding element-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 29, line 1, “a lithographic apparatus” should be changed to --the lithographic apparatus-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a system” in lines 1-2 in claim 23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18, 19, 24, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kubo (US PGPub 2005/0237503).
Regarding claim 16, Kubo discloses a reticle stage for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-9, 12, 13, paras. [0032]-[0036], mask stage with a main base 1, slider base 2, Y bases 3, stators 8, second table 9 support a mask 32), the reticle stage comprising:
a support for a reflective reticle (Figs. 1-9, 12, 13, paras. [0033]-[0036], [0050], main base 1 supports the reflective mask 32); and
at least one shielding element (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0041]-[0045], [0052], [0056]-[0058], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b, or 74 to 81) coupled to the support (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b are coupled to main base 1) and selectively configurable between a first position for shielding a portion of a patterned side of the reflective reticle form a radiation beam, and a second position for exposing the portion (the limitation “selectively configurable between a first position for shielding a portion of a patterned side of the reflective reticle form a radiation beam, and a second position for exposing the portion” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Kubo. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0016], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b are driven by actuators to move between positions to block and expose regions of the mask).
Regarding claim 18, Kubo discloses comprising a pair of shielding elements, each shielding element configurable to selectively shield a respective portion of opposite ends of the patterned side of the reflective reticle (Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0016], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b are arranged to shield opposite ends of the mask).
Regarding claim 19, Kubo discloses wherein the at least one shielding element is coupled to the support such that, in use, the at least one element moves together with the support within the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0016], [0035]-[0037], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a, 31b are supported by supports 29 on second table 9, and the blades 31a, 31b are moved with second table 9).
Regarding claim 24, Kubo discloses wherein the reticle stage is configured to load or unload the reflective reticle onto or from the support respectively, when the at least one shielding element is in the second position (the limitation “wherein the reticle stage is configured to load or unload the reflective reticle onto or from the support respectively, when the at least one shielding element is in the second position” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device and does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the structure as taught by Kubo. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0010], [0015]-[0016], [0041]-[0048], [0052]-[0054], [0070]-[0071], [0073]-[0075], the mask is mounted on the mask stage, and blades are movable to change the distance between the blades configured to load or unload the mask).
Regarding claim 28, Kubo discloses a lithographic apparatus comprising the reticle stage of claim 16 (see claim 16 rejection above, Figs. 1-9, 12, 13, paras. [0009], [0032]-[0033], an exposure apparatus includes the mask stage).
Regarding claim 29, Kubo discloses a lithographic system comprising an EUV radiation source and a lithographic apparatus of claim 28 (see claim 28 rejection above, Figs. 1-9, 12, 13, paras. [0009], [0032]-[0033], [0050], [0062], the exposure apparatus includes the mask stage and comprises light source 91 that emits EUV light).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Ahn et al. (US PGPub 2012/0088196, Ahn hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Kubo discloses wherein the at least one shielding element comprises at least one elongate member (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0041]-[0045], [0052], [0056]-[0058], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b, or 74 to 81), but Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the at least one elongate member is selectively pivotable or rotatable between the first position and the second position, wherein the second position is substantially perpendicular to the first position.
Ahn discloses wherein the at least one shielding element comprises at least one elongate member selectively pivotable or rotatable between the first position and the second position, wherein the second position is substantially perpendicular to the first position (Figs. 2, 4, 7-8, 10, 12A-E, paras. [0058], [0065]-[0076], [0081]-[0086], [0089]-[0096], the blind 134 is rotated between perpendicular positions (see at least Figs. 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the at least one shielding element comprises at least one elongate member selectively pivotable or rotatable between the first position and the second position, wherein the second position is substantially perpendicular to the first position as taught by Ahn as the at least one shielding element in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since including wherein the at least one shielding element comprises at least one elongate member selectively pivotable or rotatable between the first position and the second position, wherein the second position is substantially perpendicular to the first position is commonly used to improve reliability for controlling light blocking during exposure (Ahn, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0070], [0081]).
Regarding claim 26, Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein in a cross section orthogonal to a plane defined by the support of at least one of: the at least one shielding element comprises a substantially triangular cross-section; and surfaces of a shielding portion of the at least one shielding element are configured to face away from the patterned side of the reflective reticle in use are further configured to limit absorption of a portion of the radiation beam for patterning a substrate.
Ahn discloses wherein in a cross section orthogonal to a plane defined by the support of at least one of: the at least one shielding element comprises a substantially triangular cross-section; and surfaces of a shielding portion of the at least one shielding element are configured to face away from the patterned side of the reflective reticle in use are further configured to limit absorption of a portion of the radiation beam for patterning a substrate (Figs. 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, 12A-E, paras. [0036]-[0038], [0058], [0065]-[0076], [0081]-[0084], [0086], [0089]-[0096], the blind 134e, 134f has a cross sectional shape that is triangular in the x-y plane, which is orthogonal to the x-z plane defined by the support of the mask 132).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included in a cross section orthogonal to a plane defined by the support of at least one of: the at least one shielding element comprises a substantially triangular cross-section; and surfaces of a shielding portion of the at least one shielding element are configured to face away from the patterned side of the reflective reticle in use are further configured to limit absorption of a portion of the radiation beam for patterning a substrate as taught by Ahn as the shape of the at least one shielding element in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since including wherein in a cross section orthogonal to a plane defined by the support of at least one of: the at least one shielding element comprises a substantially triangular cross-section; and surfaces of a shielding portion of the at least one shielding element are configured to face away from the patterned side of the reflective reticle in use are further configured to limit absorption of a portion of the radiation beam for patterning a substrate is commonly used to improve reliability for controlling light blocking during exposure while allowing balance to be maintained during rotation of the blind (Ahn, paras. [0010]-[0011], [0070], [0081], [0096]-[0097]).
Claims 20-21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo as applied to claim 16 and further in view of Karuishi et al. (KR2009/0128436, Karuishi hereinafter; English translation accompanies this Office Action).
Regarding claim 20, Kubo discloses an actuator configured to transition the at least one shielding element between the first and second positions (Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0016], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b are driven by actuators to change the positions of the blades), but Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the at least one shielding element is disposed at an opposite side of the support to the actuator.
Karuishi discloses an actuator configured to transition the at least one shielding element between the first and second positions, wherein the at least one shielding element is disposed at an opposite side of the support to the actuator (Figs. 37-40, pages 36-37 of English translation, drive mechanism 445 drives the mask support body 444 between positions, and the mask support body 444 is on the opposite side of mask holding part 71 to the drive mechanism 445).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an actuator configured to transition the at least one shielding element between the first and second positions, wherein the at least one shielding element is disposed at an opposite side of the support to the actuator as taught by Karuishi as the arrangement of the actuator and shielding element in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since including an actuator configured to transition the at least one shielding element between the first and second positions, wherein the at least one shielding element is disposed at an opposite side of the support to the actuator is commonly used to prevent the mask from falling (Karuishi, pages 36-37), thereby preventing damage.
Regarding claim 21, Kubo as modified by Karuishi discloses wherein the actuator is configurable to move the reticle stage within the lithographic apparatus (Kubo, Figs. 1-5, 7-9, 12, 13, paras. [0016], [0035]-[0037], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a, 31b and second table 9 are moved with the same linear motor).
Regarding claim 25, Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein: a reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is curved and/or the reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is configured to support the reticle upon detachment from the support.
Karuishi discloses wherein: a reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is curved and/or the reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is configured to support the reticle upon detachment from the support (Figs. 37-40, pages 36-37, mask drop preventing means 443 includes mask support body 444 that contacts the outer peripheral edge of the mask M to prevent the mask dropping).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is curved and/or the reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is configured to support the reticle upon detachment from the support as taught by Karuishi in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since a reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is curved and/or the reticle-facing surface of the at least one shielding element is configured to support the reticle upon detachment from the support is commonly used to prevent the mask from falling (Karuishi, pages 36-37), thereby preventing damage.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Mizusawa et al. (US Patent No. 5,390,227, Mizusawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 22, Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the at least one shielding element comprises a fluid channel for thermally conditioning the at least one shielding element.
Mizusawa discloses wherein the at least one shielding element comprises a fluid channel for thermally conditioning the at least one shielding element (Figs. 1, 5, 6, col. 4, lines 55-61, col. 6, lines 30-68, col. 7, lines 1-30, the blades BLD are provided with pipes CLI and CLO for cooling, and cooling passages CLP are provided inside the blades).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the at least one shielding element comprises a fluid channel for thermally conditioning the at least one shielding element as taught by Mizusawa in the at least one shielding element in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since including wherein the at least one shielding element comprises a fluid channel for thermally conditioning the at least one shielding element is commonly used to suppress the increase in temperature in the shielding element to enable precise alignment and position control of the exposure region (col. 1, lines 50-58, col. 2, lines 55-60).
Regarding claim 23, Kubo as modified by Mizusawa discloses comprising a system for inducing a flow of fluid in the fluid channel (Mizusawa, Figs. 1, 5, 6, col. 4, lines 55-61, col. 6, lines 30-68, col. 7, lines 1-30, a controller CNT controls the proportional controlling valve LNV to provide cooling water from cooling water containers TNK1 and TNK2 to the passage in blade BLD).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubo as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Ota (US PGPub 2002/0070355).
Regarding claim 27, although Kubo discloses wherein the portion corresponds to at least one test pattern region located in a border portion of the patterned side of the reflective reticle (Kubo, Figs. 1-10, 12, 13, paras. [0006], [0016], [0032]-[0037], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the mask on the mask stage includes a test pattern in a border portion, and the blades move to limit the exposure range on the mask to expose only the test pattern or to block the test pattern), Kubo does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the portion corresponds to at least one reticle alignment mark.
Ota discloses in combination with the reflective reticle, wherein the portion corresponds to at least one reticle alignment mark located in a border portion of the patterned side of the reflective reticle (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14-16, paras. [0090], [0098]-[0099], [0102]-[0108], [0120], [0153]-[0155], [0166], [0173], the reticle R supported on reticle stage RST includes reticle alignment marks RM1 to RM12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the portion corresponds to at least one reticle alignment mark located in a border portion of the patterned side of the reflective reticle as taught by Ota in the border portion of the reticle in the reticle stage as taught by Kubo since including in combination with the reflective reticle, wherein the portion corresponds to at least one reticle alignment mark located in a border portion of the patterned side of the reflective reticle is commonly used to improve alignment accuracy between the reticle and the wafer to minimize overlay errors (Ota, paras. [0017], [0024]-[0025], [0108], [0153]-[0155], [0163]).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US PGPub 2002/0070355) in view of Kubo (US PGPub 2005/0237503).
Regarding claim 30, Ota discloses a method of operating an EUV lithographic apparatus, the method comprising:
determining a relative position and/or orientation of a reticle on a support of a reticle stage by sensing radiation reflected from at least one reticle alignment mark on a patterned side of the reflective reticle (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-10, 12, 14-16, paras. [0090], [0098]-[0099], [0102]-[0108], [0119]-[0121], [0153]-[0166], [0173], the reticle R supported on reticle stage RST includes reticle alignment marks RM1 to RM12. The alignment of the reticle is determined by illuminating the alignment marks RM1 to RM12 with exposure light and detecting positions using photoelectric conversion devices in aerial image sensor FM);
configuring at least one shielding element to transition from a position for exposing the at least one reticle alignment mark to a position for shielding the at least one reticle alignment mark from an EUV radiation beam (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-10, 12, 14-16, paras. [0090], [0098]-[0100], [0102]-[0108], [0119]-[0121], [0153]-[0166], [0173], movable blind 42 and slit plate 44 determine the illumination area on the reticle R. The slit plate 44 is moved from a position exposing the reticle alignment marks RM1 to RM12 to a position blocking the marks from the EUV light EL);
exposing the reflective reticle to EUV radiation, wherein radiation reflected from the reflective reticle is for patterning a substrate (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14-16, paras. [0088]-[0089], [0098]-[0100], [0102]-[0108], [0119]-[0121], [0153]-[0159], [0164], [0173], [0175], [0185], [0187], [0215-[0217], the EUV light irradiates the reticle R to pattern the EUV light to expose wafer W). Ota does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the at least one shielding element is coupled to the support.
Kubo discloses configuring at least one shielding element coupled to the support (Figs. 1-9, paras. [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the blades 31a and 31b, or 28a and 28b are coupled to main base 1) to transition from a position for exposing the at least one test portion to a position for shielding the at least one test portion from an EUV radiation beam (Figs. 1-10, 12, 13, paras. [0006], [0016], [0032]-[0037], [0041]-[0045], [0052]-[0054], [0071], [0073]-[0075], the mask on the mask stage includes a test pattern in a border portion, and the blades move to limit the exposure range on the mask to expose only the test pattern or to block the test pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one shielding element coupled to the support as taught by Kubo in the method as taught by Ota since including at least one shielding element coupled to the support is commonly used to improve exposure performance by arranging the masking blade in the vicinity of the mask (Kubo, paras. [0009]-[0011]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882