DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an image processing unit” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (US Pub 2009/0040533 A1)(hereinafter, “Takahashi”).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi teaches a surface shape measurement device (shape measuring system W) that measures a three-dimensional shape of a measurement surface in an object to be measured in the shape of a rotating body (tire 1) by optical sectioning method ([0167] and [0193]), comprising:
a rotary table (2) that rotates the placed object to be measured in a circumferential direction(“tire rotator 2, such as a motor, for rotating the tire 1 about the rotation axis 1g”, [0195-0196]);
an encoder (5) that sequentially outputs signals according to the rotation angle of the rotary table (discloses the encoder 5 is mounted on a rotation shaft… detects the rotation angle”, [0199]);
an optical sectioning sensor (sensor unit 3 and camera 20) that irradiates a band-shaped light or a line-shaped light (discloses light projection device 10 emits a line of light, slit light, [0197] and [0200]) onto the measurement surface (discloses the surface of the rotating tire, [0197]) and acquires optical section line image data ([0197] and [0248]) for each rotation angle ([0215]) by sequentially capturing optical section lines generated by the band-shaped light or the line-shaped light, which move across the measurement surface as the rotary table rotates (discloses the rotating tire causes the illuminated section line location to move across the surface, [0193-0194]), triggered by a signal output from the encoder (“captures an image for one frame in synchronization with the detection signal (the reset signal RESET) of the encoder 5”, [0215]); and
an image processing unit (host computer 7 and image processing apparatus 6) that generates a three-dimensional image showing the surface shape of the measurement surface (discloses computes tire surface height distribution, [0167], [0188], and [0210]) by sequentially arranging the respective optical section line image data according to the corresponding rotation angle (discloses reconstructed according to tire rotation angle, “captures an image for one frame every time the encoder 5 detects that the tire 1 that is rotating at 60 rpm rotates at 0.09°, [0167], [0215], and [0248-0249]).
Regarding claim 2, Takahashi teaches wherein the optical sectioning sensor (sensor unit 3 and camera 20) irradiates the band-shaped light or the line-shaped light (discloses light projection device 10 emits a line of light, slit light, [0197] and [0200]) in the radial direction (tire radius direction, [0203]) of the object to be measured (discloses light section line extends along radial direction, [0203]) to the bottom surface when the measuring surface is the bottom surface (discloses tread surface measurement, [0197] and [0204]).
Regarding claim 3, Takahashi teaches wherein the optical sectioning sensor (sensor unit 3 and camera 20) irradiates the band-shaped light or the line-shaped light(discloses light projection device 10 emits a line of light, slit light, [0197] and [0200]) in the height direction of the object (discloses “radial direction of the tire 1 is parallel to the Y-axis direction”, [0203]) to be measured to the side surface (tire sidewall) when the measuring surface is the side surface (“two sensor units 3a and 3c for measuring the shapes of two sidewalls of the tire 1”, [0197]).
Regarding claim 5, Takahashi teaches wherein the image processing unit (sensor unit 3 and camera 20) generates a three-dimensional image (discloses 3D reconstruction, [0167]) of the object to be measured in which the surface shape of the bottom surface (trend surface) and the surface shape of the side surface (sidewall) are continuously expressed (discloses simultaneously measure shapes of sidewall surfaces and tread surface, [0171]) from the optical section line image data for each rotation angle in which the measurement surface is the bottom surface and the optical section line image data for each rotation angle in which the measurement surface is the side surface(discloses encoder triggers capture timing and captures image every 0.09° rotation, [0199] and [0215]).
Regarding claim 9, Takahashi teaches wherein the image processing unit(sensor unit 3 and camera 20):
generates a planar image of the object to be measured viewed from the upper side of the rotary table from the measured three-dimensional surface shape of the measured surface of the object to be measured (teaches 2D/3D height distribution can be re-projected into a top-view image, [0167] and [0220-0221]);
for the generated planar image, detects edges in the radial direction from the center to the periphery of the object to be measured W at predetermined center angle increments over the entire circumference of the object to be measured (discloses encoder provides angular sampling (e.g., 4000 frames per rotation) and coordinate-based pixel location extraction per frame, inherently provides angular indexed profiles and radial coordinate of surface points, [0215] and [0219-0221] ); and
calculates the sum of the distances between adjacent edges and uses the sum as the circumference length of the portion of the object to be measured in which the edges were detected (discloses distance computation between reconstructed boundary points, 3D coordinate point cloud of tire surface and sequential angular sampling, [0167], [0215], and [0221]).
Regarding claim 10, Takahashi teaches wherein the image processing unit(sensor unit 3 and camera 20):
obtains a plurality of cross-sectional profiles through the center of the object to be measured at each predetermined step in the circumferential direction of the cylindrical coordinate system from the measured three-dimensional surface shape of the measured surface of the object to be measured (teaches each light-section line as cross-sectional profile at one rotation angle, “light-section line coordinates detected in accordance with the rotation angle”, [0166-0167]);
obtains the minimum and/or maximum values in the radial direction in the height range of interest for each of the obtained cross-sectional profiles(disclose height distribution computation and detects pixel with highest luminance, inherently computes peak and spatial coordinate extremes, [0167] and [0221]); and
determines the minimum among the minimum values of all cross-sectional profiles to be the minimum value in the outer or inner diameter of interest, and determines the maximum among the maximum values of all profiles to be the maximum value in the outer or inner diameter of interest (teaches encoder synchronized full rotation scanning and full circumferential coverage of tire surface, [0215]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub 2009/0040533 A1)(hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in view of Mizutani et al. ( US Pub 2011/0288814 A1)(hereinafter, “Mizutani”).
Regarding claim 4, Takahashi teaches wherein when the image processing unit (host computer 7 and image processing apparatus 6) sequentially arranges the respective optical section line image data (“computes the distribution of the tire surface height on the basis of the plurality of light-section line coordinates detected in accordance with the rotation angle”, [0167]) according to the corresponding rotation angle (discloses angular synchronization, [0199] and [0215]).
However, Takahashi fails to disclose the image processing unit corrects and arranges the optical section line image data according to the regularity based on the misalignment between the center of rotation of the rotary table and the central axis of the object to be measured.
Mizutani teaches the image processing unit corrects and arranges the optical section line image data (discloses Fourier transform filtering, [0057]) according to the regularity (“can be represented sinusoidally”) based on the misalignment (“the center positions Sc of the sidewall-side arcs Arc2 … have considerable variation cyclically in the radial direction R”, [0057]) between the center of rotation of the rotary table and the central axis of the object to be measured ([0056-0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to add a misalignment compensation process of Mizutani to Takahashi to improve measurement accuracy.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub 2009/0040533 A1)(hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in view of Boffa et al. (WO 2020129100 A1)(hereinafter, “Boffa”).
Regarding claim 6, Takahashi teaches further comprises:
on the distal end of which the optical sectioning sensor is attached(discloses a mechanical positioning system, [0198]); and
a control unit (4) that move the optical sectioning sensor (discloses “the unit driving apparatus 4… locates each of the sensor units 3 at a predetermined inspection position in the vicinity of the tire 1”, [0198]) to the position for acquiring the optical section line image data based on an instruction input(“in response to a predetermined operation of an operation unit or a control command”, [0198]).
However, Takahashi fails to discloses a robot having an articulated arm.
Boffa teaches a robot having an articulated arm (page 8, line 34 discloses a robotic arm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a robotic arm of Boffa to Takahashi to improve surface coverage and measurement accuracy.
Regarding claim 7, Takahashi teaches moves the optical sectioning sensor to acquire the optical section line image data for each rotation angle at two or more acquisition positions (sensor unit 3a, 3b, 3c, [0197]) in a common coordinate system (discloses coordinate based system, [0221]).
However, Takahashi fails to discloses the robot.
Boffa teaches a robot having an articulated arm (page 8, lines 36-37 discloses moving member of the apparatus is an anthropomorphic robotic arm with at least five axes.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate a robotic arm of Boffa to Takahashi to improve surface coverage and measurement accuracy.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub 2009/0040533 A1)(hereinafter, “Takahashi”) in view of Hassler et al. ( WO 2003023699 A1)(hereinafter, “Hassler”).
Regarding claim 8, Takahashi teaches wherein the image processing unit (sensor unit 3 and camera 20) extracts convex-concavity (reconstructs a height distribution of tire surface, which inherently includes convex/concave, [0167] and [0220-0221]) on the measurement surface of the object to be measured by subtracting a predetermined reference shape (discloses raw 3D surface data comparison to a reference model, [0215] and [0221]) from the three-dimensional surface shape of the measurement surface of the object to be measured (reconstructs surface height distribution, [0167] and [0250]).
However, Takahashi fails to discloses recognizes characters.
Hassler teaches recognizes characters (“OCR algorithms for recognizing and interpreting symbols, letters, numerals, etc.”, page 5, lines 29-31 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate OCR-based recognition and character classification of Hassler to Takahashi to improve robustness of identification under difficult surface conditions (page 1, lines 58-60 and page 2, lines 5-6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fujii et al. (US Pub 2013/0120566 A1) teaches a tire inspection method that acquires 3D sidewall shape data during rotation, divides it into sections, estimates local inclination using straight-line approximation, and rotates each section to correct deflection-induced contour deformation for accurate automated visual inspection, and it appears to render obvious at least the independent claims.
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877