DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “wherein the object has a temperature variation less than 7 K/s during a pump-down process of the chamber.” The temperature variation during such a process will depend not only on the vacuum chamber system as claimed but also on the object (dimensions, material, etc.) and the specifics of the pump-down process (pump settings, heater settings, etc.). Therefore, it is ambiguous whether any particular configuration of the vacuum chamber system supports maintaining an object temperature variation less than 7 K/s during a pump-down process of the chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11, 14-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 2020/0027763 (Gosen et al.).
Regarding claim 1, Gosen et al. discloses a vacuum chamber system, comprising:
a supporting structure configured to support an object to be thermally stabilized (multiple figures, element 325 or equivalent);
a plate, having a first surface facing the object, positioned such that the first surface is located within a predetermined distance from the object when the object is placed on the supporting structure, the plate being thermally coupled to a heat conduction source (multiple figures, element 315 or equivalent); and
a chamber enclosing the supporting structure and the plate (multiple figures, element 310 or equivalent).
Regarding claim 2, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the plate is substantially parallel to a surface of the object that faces the first surface (multiple figures).
Regarding claim 4, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, further comprising a thermal conduction block configured to connect the plate and the heat conduction source (“Heat transfer element 340 may be coupled to a heater/cooler 360.” P 55).
Regarding claim 6, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 4, further comprising a heater configured to provide heat energy to the thermal conduction block (multiple figures, element 360 or equivalent).
Regarding claim 7, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the heat conduction source is configured to be maintained at a near constant temperature during a pumping down process of the chamber (“In some embodiments, the heater (such as heater/cooler 360 in FIG. 3A) may maintain the temperature of conditioning plate such that the residual radiation from the conditioning plate may help to keep the temperature of wafer during the pump down.” P 65).
Regarding claim 8, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the heat conduction source is a chamber wall surrounding the chamber (“In some embodiments, vacuum chamber 510 may include a heat transfer element 545 configured to change the temperature of vacuum chamber 510. In such embodiments, heat may be transferred from internal surfaces of vacuum chamber 510 to wafer 520 via radiation (as illustrated in FIG. 5).” P 74, note that in figure 5 heat transfer elements 540 and 545 are connected).
Regarding claim 11, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the plate has a second surface facing away the object and the plate is thermally coupled to the heat conduction source via the second surface (multiple figures, connection between heat conduction source 360 or equivalent and heat transfer element 340 or equivalent).
Regarding claim 14, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the object has a temperature variation less than 7 K/s during a pump-down process of the chamber (it cannot be determined whether the vacuum chamber system of Gosen would support this for the reasons discussed with respect to the 112(b) rejection above, but all the structural and functional limitations are met, so it will be assumed Gosen can support this absent evidence to the contrary; it is further noted that applicant states in the application that a predetermined distance of less than 15 mm correlates with the claimed temperature variation of less than 7 K/s, and Gosen et al. discloses a predetermined distance of less than 15 mm, “In some embodiments, the distance between wafer 320 and conditioning plate 315 may be in a range of 1.5 mm to 10 mm” P 51).
Regarding claim 15, Gosen et al. discloses the vacuum chamber system of claim 1, wherein the vacuum chamber system is a load lock system (“load lock chamber 310” throughout) and the object is a wafer (“wafer 320” throughout).
Regarding claim 16, Gosen et al. discloses an apparatus for attenuating a temperature variation on a wafer in a load-lock system during a pumping down process, comprising:
a wafer holder configured to support the wafer (multiple figures, element 325 or equivalent);
a plate, having a first surface facing the wafer, positioned such that the first surface is located within a predetermined distance from the wafer when the wafer is placed on the wafer holder, the plate being thermally coupled to a heat conduction source (multiple figures, element 315 or equivalent); and
a chamber enclosing the wafer holder and the plate (multiple figures, element 310 or equivalent).
Regarding claim 17, Gosen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the plate is substantially parallel to a surface of the wafer that faces the first surface (multiples figures).
Regarding claim 19, Gosen et al. discloses the apparatus of claim 16, further comprising a thermal conduction block configured to connect the plate and the heat conduction source (“Heat transfer element 340 may be coupled to a heater/cooler 360.” P 55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 13, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosen et al. as applied to claims 1, 4, & 19 above.
Regarding claims 5 & 20, Gosen discloses the claimed invention except it is silent as to whether the thermal conduction block is a metal conduction block. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art the art at the time the application was filed to use metal to form the thermal conduction block because metals have high thermal conductivities.
Regarding claim 13, Gosen et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the predetermined distance is approximately 15 mm. Gosen discloses a slightly smaller distance of up to 10 mm (“In some embodiments, the distance between wafer 320 and conditioning plate 315 may be in a range of 1.5 mm to 10 mm” P 51). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the application was filed to increase the predetermined distance to approximately 15 mm as a matter of design choice, as applicant has not disclosed that this value is critical and in fact discloses that 15 mm is a maximal value that provides no particular benefit over and above that of smaller distances such as those in Gosen et al. (see instant application, “In some embodiments, separation gap 641 between plate 650 and wafer 620 can be maintained less than approximately 15 mm so as to achieve a temperature variation less than 7 K/s (Kevin/sec) on wafer 620. In some embodiments, separation gap 641 can be maintained less than approximately 10 mm so as to achieve a temperature variation less than 5 K/s on wafer 620. In some embodiments, separation gap 641 can be maintained less than approximately 5 mm so as to achieve a temperature variation less than 2 K/s on wafer 620.”).
Claim(s) 3 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosen et al. as applied to claims 1 & 16 above, and further in view of US 2006/0231027 (Iwabuchi et al.).
Regarding claims 3 & 18, Gosen et al. discloses the claimed invention except it is silent as to whether the plate has a size to substantially cover the surface of the wafer. Iwabuchi et al. discloses a vacuum system with a thermal conditioning plate, wherein the plate has a size to substantially cover a surface of the wafer (“The lower surface of the plate body 75 has an area substantially the same as or larger than that of the upper surface of the substrate G so that it can heat the upper surface of the substrate G in a manner to cover the entire upper surface.” P 50 and “Note that the upper surface of the lower surface heating plate 72 has an area substantially the same as or larger than that of the lower surface of the substrate G so that it can heat the lower surface of the substrate G in a manner to cover the entire lower surface.” P 56). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to size the heat conditioning plate of Gosen et al. to substantially cover the surface of the wafer as in Iwabuchi et al. to ensure every part of the wafer is heated.
Claim(s) 9-10 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gosen et al. as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of US 2006/0389433 (Timans et al.).
Regarding claim 9, Gosen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for structures configured to enhance heat transfer between the first surface and a gas that is between the first surface and the object. Timan et al. discloses a thermal transfer plate including structures configured to enhance heat transfer between the first surface and a gas that is between the first surface and the object (“High thermally-conductive material may be positioned between the plate and the object. The plate may include protrusions, ribs, holes, recesses, and other discontinuities to enhance heat transfer and avoid physical damage to the object during the thermal cycle.” Abstract, see also figure 5, element 26). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the heat transfer plate of Gosen et al. to include the structures of Timans et al. on the first surface to increase thermal transfer, as recognized by Timans et al.
Regarding claim 10, Gosen et al. in view of Timans et al. disclose the vacuum chamber system of claim 9, wherein the structures include fins, pillars, grooved strips, or raised strips (Timans, fig. 5, element 26).
Regarding claim 12, Gosen et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first surface area having a larger surface area than the second surface. Timans et al. discloses a thermal transfer plate with a first surface area having a larger surface area than the second surface (“The features illustrated in the plate 20-2 of FIG. 3 and the plate 20-3 as shown in FIG. 4 may be the same on both sides of the plate, or may differ, depending upon the thermal characteristics desired for the RTP process.” P 50 see also fig. 5). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the thermal plate of Gosen to add structures to the first side such that the first surface area has a larger surface area than the second surface as in Timans et al. to increase the rate of heat transfer toward the object.
Conclusion
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881