DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sims et al. (US 9865455 B1)
As to claim 1, Sims et al. teaches a method for processing substrates (abstract), the method comprising: providing a substrate having a dielectric material deposited thereon (Fig 5, initial layer 520 or 530); depositing a protective layer on the dielectric material in a plasma-free environment (Si reactant in Fig 1, 4 as the process is repeated); and after depositing the protective layer, exposing the substrate to a first plasma (plasma steps in Fig 1,4) to deposit a first silicon nitride while converting at least a portion of the protective layer to second silicon nitride (col 10 et seq, col 12 lines 30-50, col 13 lines 19-21). Though Sims et al. does not explicitly teach the second layer on the dielectric material as a protective layer, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that each layer as the process is repeated in the Sims et al. figures forms a protective function as broadly claimed as it covers the substrate.
As to claims 2-3, the silicon precusor is thermally decomposed at a sufficient temperature in col 13 lines 30-45.
As to claim 4, initially a silicon-containing precursor is introduced in a vapor phase to a wafer, and a carrier gas, such as argon, continues to flow (see column 10, lines 59-63 and Figures 1, 4).
As to claim 5, the first plasma is created using nitrogen containing gases in col. 12, lines 30-32 and figure 4.
As to claim 6, the films are deposited by decomposing Si precursors and exposing the deposited precursor to a plasma to form the layer (col 11 lines 7-22 and figure 4).
As to claim 7, the precursor is diisopropylaminosilane or bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane in col 11 lines 56-57.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sims et al. in view of Rao et al. (US 2022/0037144 A1) and Fields et al. (US 2021/0384029 A1)
As to claim 8, Sims et al. teaches depositing a protective layer as discussed above where the silicon containing precursor is deposited/decomposed on the surface and a nitrogen containing plasma converts the silicon deposit to silicon nitride (col 13 lines 30-45, col 11, col 10 lines 59-63 and Figures 1, 4). Though there is an initial film when the silicon is deposited due to repetition of cycles, Sims et al. does not teach that this is silicon oxynitride. Sims et al. also does not teach repeating the silicon precursor pulse before the nitrogen plasma.
Rao et al. teaches that it is common in semiconductor applications to have a film of silicon oxynitride on the substrate before silicon nitride deposition in para 0075. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sims et al. to include an initial silicon oxynitride film as taught by Rao et al. as it is common when the film is used in a semiconductor.
Fields et al. is in the same field of endeavor of Sims et al. and deposits a protective layer by depositing a silicon containing precursor (410 in Fig 4) then another silicon containing precursor (430 in Fig 3) where the silicon precursor is thermally decomposed (para 0102) and the deposition is then repeated to form a silicon nitride film in para 0051, 0102 where the two silicon precursors are used to adjust the hydrophobicity of the substrate in paras 0027-0028. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sims et al. to include a second pulse of silicon precursor in its process as taught by Fields et al. in order to adjust the hydrophobicity of the substrate.
As to claim 9, the precursor is diisopropylaminosilane or bis(tertiarybutylamino)silane in Sims et al. col 11 lines 56-57.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1715
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718