DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 16-20 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 20200174425 A1 by Georges, III (hereinafter Georges).
Regarding Claim 16, Georges teaches a method for determining a vertical position of a structure on a substrate with respect to a nominal vertical position (Fig. 1, 5-6, 10-12, Par. [0004, 0027-0032, 0044-0057, 0062-0072]), comprising:
obtaining complex field data relating to scattered radiation from the structure, for a plurality of different wavelengths (Par. [0031, 0062]);
determining variation in a phase parameter with wavelength from the complex field data (Par. [0027]); and
determining the vertical position with respect to a nominal vertical position from the determined variation in phase with wavelength (Par. [0027, 0069]).
Regarding Claim 17, Georges teaches the complex field data relates to interference of object radiation scattered by the structure and reference radiation at a detection plane, for each of the plurality of wavelengths (Fig. 5, Abstract, Par. [0006, 0008, 0049]).
Regarding Claim 18, Georges teaches the phase parameter comprises a phase difference between the object radiation and reference radiation at the detection plane (Fig. 5, Abstract, Par. [0006, 0008, 0027, 0046, 0049]).
Regarding Claim 19, Georges teaches the nominal vertical position comprises a vertical position for a zero optical path length difference at the detection plane (Fig. 5 @ 550, illustrates zero optical path length difference at the detection plane) between the object radiation (Fig. 5 @ 545) and the reference radiation (Fig. 5 @ 525).
Regarding Claim 20, Georges teaches the determining the vertical position comprises determining the vertical position from the variation in phase parameter with wavelength (See Claim 16 rejection), the angle of incidence of measurement radiation on the target to obtain the object radiation (Fig. 1 @ 132, Fig. 5 @ 532, Par. [0033, 0036, 0048, 0069]), or the structure pitch and an average or central wavelength of the plurality of wavelengths used to measure the structure (inherently teaches central wavelength).
Regarding Claim 24, Georges teaches performing a measurement of the structure using a plurality of wavelengths to obtain the complex field data (Par. [0031, 0062]. Also see claim 16 rejection).
Regarding Claim 25, Georges teaches the measurement is a holographic measurement (Abstract, Par. [0004-0005]).
Regarding Claim 26, Georges teaches performing a phase-retrieval method or shear interferometry to obtain the complex field data (Fig. 4, Par. [0027-0029, 0044]).
Regarding Claim 27, Georges teaches a computer program comprising instructions for a processor that cause the processor and an apparatus associated with the processor to perform the method of claim 16 (Fig. 6 @ 654, 656, 658, Par. [0057, 0080]).
Regarding Claim 28, Georges teaches a processing device and associated program storage, the program storage comprising instructions for the processing device that cause the processing device and an apparatus associated with the processing device to perform the method of claim 16 (Fig. 6 @ 654, 656, 658, Par. [0057, 0080]).
Regarding Claim 29, Georges teaches a metrology (Par. [0004]) apparatus that determines a characteristic of interest of a target, the metrology apparatus comprising a processing device and associated program storage, the program storage comprising instructions for the processing device that cause the processing device and the metrology apparatus to perform the method of claim 16 (Fig. 6 @ 654, 656, 658, Par. [0057, 0080]).
Regarding Claim 30, Georges teaches a lithographic apparatus (inherently teaches) comprising a metrology (Par. [0004]) apparatus of claim 29 (See Claim 29 rejection).
1.-15. (Cancelled)
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 21-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877