DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5-6 have intended use limitations “in use for polishing a material having a Vickers hardness of 1500 Hv or higher” and “in use for polishing silicon carbide.” It is unclear how these claims further limit the base claim. Do these limitations change the composition in some manner that is not described in the claim? A composition is defined by its components, not by how it is used.
Claims 8-15 have the term “type” in the term “multi-agent-type polishing composition” render the claims indefinite. MPEP 2173.05 (b) E. The term may be simply deleted to overcome this rejection.
In claim 15, the term ”part C” is unclear. Is this a required part of the claim? What does it comprise? The metes and bounds of the claim are thus unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mori et al (US 2024/0400862 A1).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Mori discloses a polishing composition comprising sodium permanganate as an oxidant [0020], a transition metal salt different from the oxidant [0061]), and water [0075],
wherein the polishing composition comprises the oxidant in an amount of more than 10 % by weight (e.g., about 45 wt% or less, 40 wt% or less [0021]). A range of below 45 wt% or below 40 wt%, overlaps with the cited range of greater than 10 wt% with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate the range because of the large overlapping ranges.
As to claim 2, the transition metal salt of Mori comprises a transition metal and oxygen [0062]-[0063]. It is expected to form a multi-nuclear transition metal complex when dissolved in water because it is the same composition as in the instant invention [e.g. 0033, boric acid salt], and therefore the same results are expected. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claim 3, Mori discloses that the polishing composition further comprises an abrasive [0037].
As to claim 4, Mori discloses that the polishing composition has a pH of 6.0 or less and 1.0 or more [0079].
As to claims 5-6, these limitations relate to the method of using the composition, and are given little patentable weight in a composition claim.
As to claim 7, Mori discloses using the polishing composition to polish an object to be polished [0082], [0085].
As to claim 8, Mori discloses a multi-agent polishing composition comprising
a part A comprising water and sodium permanganate as an oxidant [0020]
a part B comprising water [0075] and a transition metal salt different from the oxidant [0061],
wherein the polishing composition comprises the oxidant in an amount of more than 10 % by weight (e.g., about 45 wt% or less, 40 wt% or less [0021]). A range of below 45 wt% or below 40 wt%, overlaps with the cited range of greater than 10 wt% with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate the range because of the large overlapping ranges.
As to claim 9, the transition metal salt of Mori comprises a transition metal and oxygen [0062]-[0063]. It is expected to form a multi-nuclear transition metal complex when dissolved in water because it is the same composition as in the instant invention [e.g. 0033, boric acid salt], and therefore the same results are expected. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claim 10, Mori discloses that the order of mixing is not fixed and thus components can be mixed in any order [0080], which encompasses adding abrasive as cited.
As to claim 11, Mori discloses to add the components is not limited, and thus any order is appropriate [0080], which encompasses having the abrasive as a part C, as cited.
As to claims 12-13, these limitations relate to the method of using the composition, and are given little patentable weight in a composition claim.
As to claim 14, Mori discloses using the polishing composition to polish an object to be polished [0082], [0085].
As to claim 15, Mori discloses that the order to combine the different parts of the composition is not fixed [0080], which broadly interpreted encompasses mixing as cited and supplying the mixed polishing composition during polishing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu et al (US 2021/0062045 A1) in view of Matsuyama et al (US 2019/0010359 A1).
Fu discloses a polishing composition comprising permanganate as an oxidant (potassium permanganate, [0020]), a transition metal salt different from the oxidant (multi-valent metal borate, such as iron borate [0011]-[0012]; iron is a transition metal that is different from the oxidant), and water [0023],
wherein the polishing composition comprises the oxidant in an amount of more than 10 % by weight (e.g., not greater than 40 wt%, not greater than 20 wt% [0021], [0060] as it depends from [0058]). A range of below 40 wt% or below 20 wt%, overlaps with the cited range of greater than 10 wt% with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate the range because of the large overlapping ranges.
Fu fails to disclose sodium permanganate. Rather, Fu discloses potassium permanganate. Matsuyama teaches a polishing composition similar to Fu that includes a permanganate [0030] and transition metal salt such as an iron salt [0039] and water (aqueous solution 0033]). Further Matsuyama teaches that to improve the polishing efficiency, the permanganate salt may be either sodium permanganate, potassium permanganate, or both [0030]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sodium permanganate as an oxidant in the composition of Fu because Matsuyama teaches it is functionally equivalent to potassium permanganate, and because it is expected provide polishing efficiency to the polishing composition.
As to claim 2, the iron borate salt of Fu comprises a transition metal, iron, and oxygen. It is expected to form a multi-nuclear transition metal complex when dissolved in water because it is the same composition as in the instant invention [0033, boric acid salt], and therefore the same results are expected. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claim 3, Fu discloses that the polishing composition further comprises an abrasive [0027].
As to claim 4, Fu discloses that the polishing composition has a pH of at least 1 and not greater than 7, or not greater than 5, or in another example at least 1.5 and not greater than 5 [0026]. These ranges describe the cited range with sufficient specificity because of the large overlap so as to anticipate the cited range.
As to claims 5-6, these limitations relate to the method of using the composition, and are given little patentable weight in a composition claim.
As to claim 7, Fu discloses using the polishing composition to polish an object to be polished [0034].
As to claim 8, Fu discloses a multi-agent polishing composition comprising
a part A comprising water and permanganate as an oxidant (potassium permanganate, [0020]),
a part B comprising water and a transition metal salt different from the oxidant (multi-valent metal borate, such as iron borate [0011]-[0012]; iron is a transition metal, and thus Fu discloses a transition metal salt that is different from the oxidant),
wherein the oxidant is contained in an amount of more than 10 % by weight in the multi-agent- type polishing composition (e.g., not greater than 40 wt%, not greater than 20 wt% [0021], [0060] as it depends from [0058]). A range of below 40 wt% or below 20 wt%, overlaps with the cited range of greater than 10 wt% with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate the range because of the large overlapping ranges.
Fu fails to disclose sodium permanganate. Rather, Fu discloses potassium permanganate. Matsuyama teaches a polishing composition similar to Fu that includes a permanganate [0030] and transition metal salt such as an iron salt [0039] and water (aqueous solution 0033]). Further Matsuyama teaches that to improve the polishing efficiency , the permanganate salt may be either sodium permanganate, potassium permanganate, or both [0030]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include sodium permanganate as an oxidant in the composition of Fu because Matsuyama teaches it is functionally equivalent to potassium permanganate, and because it is expected provide polishing efficiency to the polishing composition.
As to claim 9, the iron borate salt of Fu comprises a transition metal, iron, and oxygen. It is expected to form a multi-nuclear transition metal complex when dissolved in water because it is the same composition as in the instant invention [0033, boric acid salt], and therefore the same results are expected. MPEP 2112.01, II (If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties).
As to claim 10, Fu discloses that the composition comprises an abrasive [0027]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an abrasive in part A or part B in the composition of Fu because Fu teaches that the abrasive is useful to include, and such is expected to give the predictable results of a solution ready to form the desired composition.
As to claim 11, Fu discloses to add the abrasive to the base composition [0027], which encompasses having the abrasive as a part C, as cited.
As to claims 12-13, these limitations relate to the method of using the composition, and are given little patentable weight in a composition claim.
As to claim 14, Fu discloses using the polishing composition to polish an object to be polished [0034].
As to claim 15, Fu discloses to combine the different parts of the composition prior to polishing [0038], which encompasses mixing the separate parts, and Fu discloses polishing while supplying the mixed polishing composition [0038]. Fu discloses that the first package may comprise a multi-valent metal salt, the second package may comprise boric acid, and the multi-valent metal borate is formed when mixed prior to etching [0038]. The oxidant may be contained in the package with the boric acid [0039]. Broadly interpreted, because all parts are mixed, they are all mixed prior to supplying the mixed polishing composition to object to be polished, as cited.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/696,793 (reference application) in view of Fu et al (US 2021/0062045 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ’793 application claims an oxidant of sodium permanganate (claim 1), an abrasive (claim 1) and a transition metal salt (claim 6). The ’793 application fails to claim that the content of the sodium permanganate is greater than 10 wt%. The discussion of Fu from above is repeated here. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited content of the sodium permanganate in the ’793 application as cited because Fu teaches that it is known and useful in order to achieve polishing efficiency, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a polishing composition ready for polishing an object to be polished.
As to claims 2 and 9, the cations of the transition metal element when forming a salt in solution would inherently form a complex with one or both of oxygen and hydrogen as cited because the same materials are present, the same results are expected.
As to claim 3-4, the other claim limitations of the ’793 application render obvious including an abrasive (claim 1) and the pH range (claim 8).
As to claims 7 and 14, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the modified composition of the ’793 application for polishing as cited because the composition is specifically described as a polishing composition.
As to claims 10-11 and 15, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mix as cited in the method of the ’793 application because Fu teaches that it is useful to mix the various parts of the composition.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakai et al (US 2024/0076522 A1) is cited to show a sodium permanganate [0013], and zirconyl salt [0029], and mildly acidic composition [0024] for polishing SiC [0046].
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANITA K ALANKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713