DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 12/31/2025 is acknowledged. Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasahara et al. (US 2019/0157093 A1) in view of Trickett et al. (US 2019/0295887 A1)
As to claim 1, Sasahara teaches a filling method of filling a film containing a predetermined element into a recess formed on a substrate (Fig 2a), the filling method comprising:(a) forming, in a first chamber, a first film, which is the film containing the predetermined element (Si, for example, para 0028, polysilicon 39 as shown in Figs. 2a-2c), in the recess; (b) forming, a modified layer by exposing the first film to a gas including a halogen-containing gas (Fig 3a shows a halogen containing gas that modifies the SiB layer, thereby forming a smaller layer by sublimation in paras 0030-0034); (c) forming a protective film covering the modified layer (AFB in Fig. 3b, para 0035, inhibits/protects against F gas); and (d) sublimating the modified layer by etching the protective film (Figs 3c-3d, paras 0036-0037).
Sasahara does not explicitly teach performing the steps in separate chambers as indicated in the claim language. Trickett et al. is drawn to gapfill method (Figs. 3a-3e) that includes a cluster tool with separate chambers as shown in Fig. 2. Trickett et al. operates these chambers to switch between chambers for differing processes, such as deposition and etching, that provide a different pressure in each chamber as needed or a different temperature in each chamber as needed (para 0039). Each module, or chamber, may be designed by the user as needed in paras 0041-0043. The modules may mirror each other or be all different in paras 0062-0069. Trickett et al. uses this type of set up in order to have many substrates processed at once and to quickly tailor each process to each chamber to be able to move between them easily (paras 0039-0069). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the chambers of Trickett et al. in the process of Sasahara to be able to change between reaction conditions using differently set chambers where needed and perform the processes in each chamber together if their reaction conditions dictate. “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)
Sasahara does not explicitly teach (e) forming a second film, which is the film containing the predetermined element, in the recess. Trickett et al. teaches repeating a similar gapfill process as shown in Fig. 1 in order to fill the recess. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasahara to include repeating the process as taught by Trickett if the gap was not filled.
As to claims 2 and 4, the element is Si in Sasahara para 0028 and Figs 2a shows deposition without closing the recess.
As to claim 3, Trickett et al. teaches that metals of those claimed may also be used as gapfill in para 0074.
As to claim 5. Steps (f)-(e) repeat the steps of claim 1. Trickett et al. teaches repeating a similar gapfill process as shown in Fig. 1 in order to fill the recess. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sasahara to include repeating the process as taught by Trickett if the gap was not filled.
As to claims 6-7, fluorine and ammonia are supplied in Sasahara Figs. 3a-3d.
As to claims 8-9, fluorine is supplied in Sasahara Figs. 3a-3d and etches the protective film in paras 0036-0037.
As to claims 10-11, Trickett et al. is drawn to gapfill method (Figs. 3a-3e) that includes a cluster tool with separate chambers as shown in Fig. 2. Trickett et al. operates these chambers to switch between chambers for differing processes, such as deposition and etching, that provide a different pressure in each chamber as needed or a different temperature in each chamber as needed (para 0039). Each module, or chamber, may be designed by the user as needed in paras 0041-0043. The modules may mirror each other (be the same) or be all different in paras 0062-0069. Trickett et al. uses this type of set up in order to have many substrates processed at once and to quickly tailor each process to each chamber to be able to move between them easily (paras 0039-0069). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the chambers of Trickett et al. in the process of Sasahara to be able to change between reaction conditions using differently set chambers where needed and perform the processes in each chamber together if their reaction conditions dictate. “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options with his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) Trickett shows exposure to a common atmosphere 210a,b in Fig. 2 as broadly claimed.
As to claims 12-14, Sasahara teaches the claimed temperatures in paras 0015-0018, 0040 and increasing for the sublimation step in para 0041-0048. Sasahara found that when the temperature increases the etching amount increases (Figs 4-6) making temperature a result effective variable depending on etching amount desired. In addition, Trickett et al. teaches modifying each of its temperatures in various chambers in para 0075 and actively monitors the process parameters to improve film deposition in paras 0049. Therefore, it would be obvious to modify the temperatures to those claimed based upon routine experimentation to improve deposition. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasahara et al. (US 2019/0157093 A1) in view of Trickett et al. (US 2019/0295887 A1) and in further view of van Schravendijk et al. (US 2009/0286381 A1)
Sasahara or Trickett do no teach that the protective film is an oxide film containing the predetermined element. Schravendijk teaches using an oxide resistant to fluorine etching as a protective film during a gapfill process in the abstract, for example. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Sasahara and Trickett to include an oxide protective layer as Schravendijk teaches the art recognized suitability and utility of such.
Conclusion
KELLY M. GAMBETTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1718
/KELLY M GAMBETTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718