DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, it is unclear to determine whether the limitation “an electronic component test apparatus” (line 1 of claim 12) refers to the limitation “an electronic component test apparatus” (line 1 of claim 1), or, if it is a new limitation. In addition, the examiner interprets said limitations as being the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wadell et al (US 2019/0349096 A1, heretofore referred to as Wadell).
Regarding claim 1, Wadell teaches a socket assembly (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 10) used in an electronic component test apparatus (Wadell; Fig 9, Element 40 and Par 0040) for testing a device under test (DUT) (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 19 and Par 0028) having a first device antenna (Wadell; Fig 2 and Par 0035; Wadell teaches that a DUT antenna for measuring the signal is provided), the socket assembly comprising: a socket in which the DUT is mounted (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 20 and Par 0027); a pressing portion (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 16 and Par 0028), disposed between an antenna unit (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 13) and the socket, that presses the DUT toward the socket (Wadell; Fig 2 and Par 0027-0029; Wadell teaches that the pressing portion presses the DUT into the socket which is past the antenna), the antenna unit having a first measuring antenna opposed to the socket (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 13, Par 0027, and Par 00335; Wadell teaches that a test antenna is used to send test signals); and a reinforcement frame on which the pressing portion is stacked (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 11 and Par 0027; Wadell teaches a receptacle which has the pressing portion stacked on it), wherein a material in the pressing portion has a lower dielectric constant than a material in the reinforcement frame (Wadell; Par 0008 and Par 0032; Wadell teaches that the plunger is made of a non-conductive material such as PEEK to reduce conductivity, while the reinforcing receptacle may be made of metal, i.e. the pressing portion has a lower conductivity than the reinforcing portion).
Regarding claim 2, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 1, further comprising the antenna unit (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 13, Par 0027, and Par 00335; Wadell teaches that a test antenna is used to send test signals).
Regarding claim 3, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 1, wherein the pressing portion has a contact surface that contacts the DUT (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 16 and Par 0028; Wadell teaches that the pressing portion may pick up and press the DUT into the socket), and the reinforcement frame has a first opening portion that in plan view, encompasses the DUT mounted in the socket and the contact surface of the pressing portion (Wadell; Fig 4 and Par 0028-0029; Wadell teaches that the receptacle has an opening for the pressing plunger, which contains the pressing surface and DUT).
Regarding claim 4, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 1, wherein the material in the reinforcement frame has greater strength than the material in the pressing portion (Wadell; Par 0008 and Par 0032; Wadell teaches that the plunger is made of a non-conductive material such as PEEK to reduce conductivity, while the reinforcing receptacle may be made of metal and metal typically has a greater “strength” than PEEK or other non-conductive materials).
Regarding claim 5, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 3, wherein the contact surface of the pressing portion has a larger area than a region where the first device antenna is disposed in the DUT (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 16 and Par 0028; Wadell teaches that the pressing portion may pick up and press the DUT into the socket, as the first device antenna is on the DUT and the pick up mechanism may be a suction cup, it’s surface could be larger than the first device antenna).
Regarding claim 6, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 2, further comprising: a device guide, having a second opening portion that exposes the socket, surrounding the socket (Wadell; Fig 1A, 1B, 2, Element 12 and Par 0027-0029; Wadell teaches cap to support the pressing portion with a separate through hole); and a support pillar disposed in the device guide and supporting the antenna unit (Wadell; Fig 1B, Element 15 and Par 0028; Wadell teaches an arm to support the pressing portion, i.e. a support pillar).
Regarding claim 7, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 6, further comprising: an elastic member disposed between the device guide and the reinforcement frame (Wadell; Fig 1B, Element 24 and Par 0031; Wadell teaches a rubber may be between the cap and the frame), wherein the reinforcement frame, held by the support pillar that moves relative to the device guide, is biased by the elastic member in a direction away from the device guide (Wadell; Par 0031; The rubber portion on the underside of the cap will push the cap further from the frame).
Regarding claim 8, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 6, wherein the device guide includes a depressed portion having: the second opening portion at a bottom portion of the device guide (Wadell; Figs 4-8, The recessed area in the center with the through hole; Wadell teaches a recessed mounting portion for the plunger and through hole); and a cutout portion on a wall surface of the device guide extending substantially parallel to a mounting direction of the DUT to the socket (Wadell; Figs 4-8, One of the holes on the right or left side of the cap; Wadell teaches cut out portions on the cap sides).
Regarding claim 9, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 6, wherein the device guide includes a second measuring antenna opposed to a second device antenna disposed on a side portion of the DUT (Wadell; Par 0036; Wadell teaches a second antenna may be used and may be located on the side of the DUT/Test socket).
Regarding claim 11, Wadell teaches an electronic component test apparatus for testing the DUT (Wadell; Fig 9, Element 40 and Par 0040), the electronic component test apparatus comprising: the socket assembly according to claim 1; a pressing device that presses the DUT against the socket via the reinforcement frame and the pressing portion (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 14 and Par 0027-0028); and a tester including a test head in which the socket assembly is mounted (Wadell; Fig 9, Element 46 and Par 0040), wherein the pressing device includes: a contacting portion that contacts the reinforcement frame (Wadell; Fig 2, Element 12 and Par 0027-0029; Wadell teaches the plunger contacts the frame through the cap); and a driving portion that moves the contacting portion relatively to the reinforcement frame (Wadell; Fig 9, Element 51 and Par 0039-0041; Wadell teaches an actuator to drive the plunger), and when the DUT is electrically connected to the socket by the contacting portion contacting the reinforcement frame and by the pressing portion pressing the DUT against the socket, a radio wave is transmitted and received between the device antenna and the first measuring antenna to test the DUT (Wadell; Par 0035 and Par 0038-0039; Wadell teaches that the DUT is pressed into the socket and radio signals are transmitted between the DUT antenna and the test antenna).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John (US 7,839,136 B1, heretofore referred to John).
Regarding claim 10, Wadell teaches the socket assembly according to claim 6.
Wadell is silent on further comprising: a socket cover that presses the DUT against the socket via the reinforcement frame and the pressing portion, wherein the socket cover includes: a contacting portion that contacts the reinforcement frame; and a latch that engages the device guide, the pressing portion contacts the DUT mounted in the socket by the contacting portion contacting the reinforcement frame, the device guide has a depressed portion, and the latch engages the depressed portion such that the socket cover is to the device guide.
John teaches further comprising: a socket cover (John; Fig 3, Element 42 and Col 5, Lines 1-12) that presses the DUT against the socket via the reinforcement frame and the pressing portion (John; Col 5, Lines 1-12), wherein the socket cover includes: a contacting portion (John; Fig 3, Element 14) that contacts the reinforcement frame (John; Fig 3, Element 34 and Col 5, Lines 1-12; John teaches that the board 14 connects the cover to the stand); and a latch that engages the device guide (John; Fig 3, Element 44 and Col 5, Lines 1-12; John teaches a latch to hold the cover on and guide the pressing portion), the pressing portion contacts the DUT mounted in the socket by the contacting portion contacting the reinforcement frame (John; Fig 3, Element 46 and Col 5, Lines 1-12), the device guide has a depressed portion (John; Fig 3, Element 40A and Col 5, Lines 1-12; John teaches the top portion is lower than the lid), and the latch engages the depressed portion such that the socket cover is to the device guide (John; Col 5, Lines 1-12; John teaches the cover acts as a part of the guide).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the apparatus of Wadell with the latching socket cover and pressing portion of John in order to ensure constant contact (John; Col 5, Lines 1-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Lei et al teaches a tester for electronic devices.
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858