DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that limitations still invoke 35 USC 112(f) for the same reasons outlined in the Office Action of 03/24/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0366905 A1 (hereinafter “Persson”).
Regarding claim 1 Persson discloses a web retractor, comprising:
a frame (4) including spaced-apart side walls (4a/4b),
a spool (2) rotatably mounted to and between the side walls (4a/4b),
a web (7) having one end mounted to the spool (2), the spool (2) rotatable relative to the side walls (4a/4b) in a web take-up direction (i.e. winding) to wrap the web (7) onto the spool (2) and in a web pay-out direction (i.e. unwinding) to unwrap the web (7) from the spool (2),
a handle (11) movably mounted to the side walls (4a/4b) and engageable with the spool (2) such that, with the handle (11) engaged with the spool (2), movement of the handle (11) in a first direction (clockwise in fig. 1) relative to the side walls (4a/4b) rotates the spool (2) in the web take-up direction (i.e. winding), and
a web tension limiting member (18) configured to limit engagement of the handle (11) with the spool (2) so as to limit rotation of the spool (2) by the handle (11) in the web take-up direction (i.e. winding) to a predefined fraction of a full rotation of the spool (2) (i.e. when handle 11 reaches the end of its stroke it cannot spin a full 360 degrees due to being blocked at 18; e.g. see 3a).
Regarding claim 2 Persson discloses the above retractor, and further discloses a lock pawl (8) mounted to the side walls (4a/4b) and configured to engage the spool (2) and prevent the spool (2) from rotating in the web pay-out direction (i.e. unwinding) while allowing the spool (2) to rotate in the web take-up direction (see paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 3 Persson discloses the above retractor, and further discloses a toothed wheel (6b) fixed to the spool (2) such that the toothed wheel (6b) rotates with the spool (2), wherein the handle (11) includes a ratchet pawl (15) biased into engagement with the toothed wheel (6b) such that, with the ratchet pawl (15) engaged with the toothed wheel (6b), movement of the handle (11) in the first direction relative to the side walls (4a/4b) rotates the spool (2) in the web take-up direction (i.e. winding).
Claims 23-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0246533 A1 (hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding claim 23 Huang discloses a web retractor, comprising:
a frame (20) including spaced-apart side walls (24/52; i.e. there are two side walls 24, and a single side wall 52),
a spool (42) rotatably mounted to and between (at least two of) the side walls (24/52),
a first wheel (74) fixed to the spool (42) such that the spool (42) and first wheel (74) rotate together relative to the side walls (24/52),
a web (34) having one end mounted to the spool (42), the spool (42) rotatable relative to the frame (20) in a web (34) take-up direction to wrap the web (34) onto the spool (42) and in a web (34) pay-out direction to unwrap the web (34) from the spool (42),
a second wheel (70) rotatably mounted to the frame (20) and operatively coupled to the first wheel (74) such that each of the first (74) and second (70) wheels is rotatably drivable by the other of the first (74) and second (70) wheels, and
a power spring assembly (SA, see annotated fig. 2 below) coupled to the second wheel (70) and configured to bias the second wheel (70) to rotate in a direction which causes the first wheel (74) to rotate the spool (42) in the web (34) take-up direction.
wherein the frame (20) includes a bottom wall (22) coupled (at least indirectly) to and between respective ends of the spaced-apart side walls (24/52), and wherein the second toothed wheel (70) and the power spring assembly (SA, above) are both coupled (at least indirectly) to the bottom wall (22) so as to reside in-board of outer surfaces of the side-walls (24/52).
Regarding claim 24 Huang discloses the above retractor, and further discloses wherein the first wheel (74) is a first toothed wheel (74), and the second wheel (70) is a second toothed wheel (70) having teeth meshed with teeth of the first toothed wheel (74) such that each of the first and second toothed wheels (74/70) is rotatably drivable by the other of the first and second toothed wheels (74/70), and wherein the power spring assembly (SA) is configured to bias the second toothed wheel (70) to rotate in the direction which, when transferred through the teeth of the second toothed wheel (70) to the teeth of the first toothed wheel (74), biases the spool (42) to rotate in the web (34) take-up direction (see par. 26).
Regarding claim 28 Huang discloses the above retractor, and further discloses a handle (12) movably mounted to the side walls (24/52) and engageable (at least indirectly) with the first wheel (74) such that, with the handle (12) engaged (at least indirectly) with the first wheel (74), movement of the handle (12) in a first direction (counterclockwise in fig. 2) relative to the side walls (24/52) rotates the spool (42) in the web (34) take-up direction (i.e. pulling in 34 allows spring 54 to move 42), and a web (34) tension limiting member (14) configured to limit engagement of the handle (12) with the first wheel (74) so as to limit rotation of the spool (42) by the handle (12) in the web (34) take-up direction to a predefined fraction of a full rotation of the spool (42) (i.e. for one revolution of 14, 42 rotates less than a full rotation due to the web already wound at 42; see geometry of spindles in figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
Claims 4-7, 26-27 and 29-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to anticipate or make obvious the entire combination of claim recitations set forth in any of claims 4, 8, 26, or 29. Specifically, these claims require the particulars of the base claim, and additionally require:
[Claims 4] a web tension limiting wheel having an outer surface defining a toothed section including at least one tooth and a non-toothed section adjacent to the toothed section, and wherein the ratchet pawl is also biased into engagement with the at least one tooth of the web tension limiting wheel such that movement of the handle in the first direction relative to the side walls causes the web tension limiting wheel to rotate in the web take-up direction for a predefined fraction of a full rotation of the spool after which the non-toothed section of the web tension limiting wheel blocks engagement of the ratchet pawl with the toothed wheel.
[Claim 8] the web tension limiting wheel having an outer surface defining a toothed section including at least one tooth and a non-toothed section adjacent to the toothed section, wherein the ratchet pawl is biased into engagement with the toothed wheel and with the at least one tooth of the web tension limiting wheel such that movement of the handle in a first direction relative to the side walls causes the spool and the web tension limiting wheel to rotate together in the web take-up direction for a predefined fraction of a full rotation of the spool after which the non-toothed section of the web tension limiting wheel blocks engagement of the ratchet pawl with the toothed wheel so as to limit rotation of the spool by the handle in the web take-up direction to the predefined fraction of the full rotation of the spool.
[Claim 26] the spool is disposed within a space of the frame bounded by the side walls and an inner surface of the bottom wall, and wherein the web retractor further comprises a bracket mounted to an outer surface, opposite the inner surface, of the bottom wall, and wherein the second toothed wheel and the power spring assembly are both coupled to the bottom wall in-board of the side-walls, and wherein at least a portion of the second toothed wheel extends through an open section of the bottom wall and into engagement with the first toothed wheel.
[Claim 29] wherein the web tension limiting member includes a web tension limiting wheel having an outer surface defining a toothed section including at least one tooth and a non-toothed section adjacent to the toothed section, and wherein the ratchet pawl is also biased into engagement with the at least one tooth of the web tension limiting wheel such that movement of the handle in the first direction relative to the side walls causes the web tension limiting wheel to rotate in the web take-up direction for a predefined fraction of a full rotation of the spool after which the non-toothed section of the web tension limiting wheel blocks engagement of the ratchet pawl with the first toothed wheel.
It is noted that Persson (US 2019/0366905 A1) teaches a limiting wheel (10) with at least one tooth (see fig. 2d) which blocks the locking pawl (8) from directly engaging the toothed wheel (6b). While this is similar to the claimed limiting wheel in structure, it does not interact with the ratchet (15) of the handle (11) as claimed above. It does not appear obvious to reach the claimed invention starting with Persson, or any other prior art reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not amended claim 1.
Applicant has incorporated limitations from claim 25 into claim 23 (from which it originally depended), and has also added additional limitations to claim 23.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 10-12) that Persson fails to teach “a web tension limiting member configured to limit engagement of the handle with the spool so as to limit rotation of the spool by the handle in the web take-up direction to a predefined fraction of a full rotation of a spool.” This is not persuasive. Persson’s handle (11) engages the spool (2) by applying a force to the cogwheels (6a/6b) via a pawl mechanism (15). This rotational force can only by applied through a partial arc due to the handle end (11a) stopping its travel (see fig. 3a, where 11a and 18 meet), and the handle (11) being prevented from applying further rotational force to the cogwheels (6a/6b). Thus the engagement of the handle (11) with the spool (2) is “limited” at least because the rotational force applied by the handle is limited to the arc of travel permitted to the handle (11), after which the handle must be reset by allowing the pawl member (15) motion relative to the spool in a reverse direction. While it is agreed that element 18 of Persson does not separate elements 11 and 2, this is not claimed (i.e. the claim only requires “to limit engagement,” not full separation of components).
Applicant argues (pages 12-13) that Huang fails to teach the newly added recitation of the toothed wheel and power spring residing between outer surfaces of the spaced-apart side walls. This is not persuasive. The Office now relies upon elements 24 and element 52 as teaching the spaced-apart side walls (i.e. three spaced-apart side walls in total). The toothed wheel (70) and power spring assembly (SA, above) of Huang both reside between the spaced-apart sidewalls (24/52) of Huang. The rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654