DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8 in the reply filed on July 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasaki et al. (US20200024750).
Regarding claim 1, Sasaki discloses an etching composition which selectively removes an etching target (abstract), the etching composition comprising: an amine compound containing a tertiary amine (triethanolamine, paragraph 0039); and an oxidizing agent (hydrogen peroxide, paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 2, Sasaki discloses the composition further comprising an alkali compound (ammonia, paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 3, Sasaki discloses wherein the alkali compound is ammonia (paragraph 0036).
Regarding claim 4, Sasaki discloses wherein the oxidizing agent contains a peroxide (hydrogen peroxide, paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 5, Sasaki discloses an organic solvent (methanol, paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 6, Sasaki discloses wherein the etching composition is an aqueous etching solution containing water (paragraph 0058).
Regarding claim 7, Sasaki discloses a chelating agent (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 8, Sasaki discloses wherein the tertiary amine does not include a cyclic tertiary amine (triethanolamine, paragraph 0039).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713