Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed September 23, 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s reply filed 09/23/2026 to the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 07/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant elected without traverse:
Group 1, claims 1-15, drawn to a cell comprising a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR), and compositions comprising thereof; and
the CAR polypeptide according to SEQ ID NO: 84.
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/23/2026.
Claim Listing
The instant claim listing was filed on 05/27/2025.
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-15 are under examination.
Priority
The instant application 18/853,458 was filed on 10/02/2024. This application is a national stage of international application PCT/US2023/065479 filed 04/06/2023, claiming priority based on U.S. Provisional Patent Application Nos. 63/339,100, filed 05/06/2022, and 63/327,890 filed 04/06/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/23/2026 and 05/19/2025 have been considered.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, or by applicant in an information disclosure statement (IDS), they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7, the term “MHCI” should be “MHC Class I (MHCI)” instead.
In claim 2, line 3, the term “MHC-I” should be “MHCI” instead.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the human B2ML comprises “the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 73.”
Claim 7 recites the human B2M comprises “the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 75.”
Claim 8 recites an HLA-A comprising “the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 76.”
Claim 11 recites the CD8 binding domain comprises “the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 77.”
The above recitations are indefinite because SEQ ID NOs: 73, 75, 76 and 77 are not amino acid sequences. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 & 103
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/073248 A1 to Pulé et al.
Pulé is relevant prior art for disclosing a cell comprising an MHC Class I CAR comprising two non-covalently linked polypeptide chains, α chain (MHCI) and β2-microglobulin (β2m), and loaded with a cognate peptide recognized by a TCR, wherein the β2m is connected to a transmembrane domain via a bridge sequence and an endodomain which acts to transmit intracellular signals to the cell, wherein the endodomain comprises at least one costimulatory domain (41BB/CD28) and an intracellular signaling domain (CD3ζ). See, pages 7-8 and Figures 1-5.
Pulé further discloses the B2M polypeptide may be engineered to include the cognate peptide linked to the B2M so that the MHC Class I exclusively presents the linked cognate peptide. See, page 10, lines 17-22.
The B2M polypeptide comprises a B2M leader sequence (MSRSVALAVLALLSLSGLEA). See, page 12, lines 1-20.
For these reasons, claim 1 is anticipated by Pulé.
Regarding claim 12, the cell is a T cell. See, page 4, lines 29-30.
Regarding claim 14, Pulé further discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the cell and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. See, pages 34-35.
Claims 3-8, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulé, as applied above.
Regarding claim 3, Pulé teaches the invention is used for treating autoimmune diseases, allergies and graft-vs-host rejection. See, page 36, lines 12-13.
Pulé does not teach the cognate peptide is isolated or derived from an antigen of an autoimmune disease or a chronic inflammatory disease, as claimed
However, antigens of an autoimmune disease or a chronic inflammatory disease that may be loaded on an MHC Class I molecule were known in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention. Official Notice taken, if necessary.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the cognate peptide of Pulé with an antigen of an autoimmune disease or a chronic inflammatory disease, as previously known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to treat an autoimmune disease, allergy or graft-vs-host rejection, and the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claims 4-8, the claims recite that each component of the CAR is derived from human sequences, as opposed to nonhuman animal species.
Pulé does not expressly teach that each component of the CAR is human in origin, as claimed.
However, human sequences for each component of the CAR were known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention. Official Notice taken, if necessary.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the sequence of each component of the CAR, as found in Pulé, with a corresponding humanized sequence, as previously known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success because humanized sequences would be less immunogenic when the CAR is introduced into a human body, and the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 13, Pulé teaches the cell is a T cell (page 4, lines 29-30) or, more specifically, a cytotoxic T cell (page 29, lines 6-10).
Pulé does not expressly teach that the cytotoxic T cells express CD8, as claimed.
"[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968). See, MPEP 2144.01.
In this case, cytotoxic T cells comprise a functional T-cell receptor (TCR) for targeting other cells, e.g., cancer cells, and CD8 serves as a co-receptor for the TCR. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably inferred that the cytotoxic T cells of Pulé are CD8+ T cells, as claimed. For these reasons, the limitations of claim 13 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding claim 15, the claim further recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells.
Pulé does not teach the range of about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells, as claimed.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 further instructs that, generally, differences in concentration (amount) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration (amount) is critical.
In this case, as set forth above, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the cells, generally, is taught by the prior art in Pulé, and there is no evidence of record that the instantly claimed range is critical. Moreover, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of cells in the pharmaceutical composition is a result-effective variable effecting the outcome of treatment when the pharmaceutical composition is administered to a subject in need thereof. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to optimize the amount of cells through routine experimentation in order to arrive at a more effective therapy. For these reasons, absent a secondary consideration, the claimed range of about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/094847 A1 to Norville et al.
Norville is relevant prior art for disclosing a major histocompatibility complex-based chimeric receptor (MHC-CAR) for use in targeting autoreactive immune cells. See, Abstract.
The MHC-CAR is expressed by a T cell and comprises an ectodomain of an MHC linked to an antigenic peptide of an autoimmune disease and an intracellular domain of a CAR molecule. In particular, the MHC-CAR comprises an ectodomain, a transmembrane domain, at least one costimulatory domain and a cytoplasmic signaling domain, wherein the ectodomain comprises a beta-2 microglobulin signal peptide, an antigenic peptide, at least one linker domain, a beta-2 microglobulin, an MHC Class I molecule such as HLA-A, and a stalk/hinge domain. See, pages 1-3, and Figures 2, 8B and 9.
The MHC class I molecule is a human HLA-A molecule, a human HLA-B molecule, or a human HLA-C molecule (page 11); the beta-2-microglobulin is human beta-2-microglobulin (page 37); the beta-microglobulin signal peptide has the amino acid sequence MSRSVALAVLALLSLS-GLEA (page 35); and the sequences of one or more of the components of the MHC-CAR are obtained form a human cell (page 52).
The T cells is a cytotoxic T cell (pg. 4) or a CD8+ T cell (pg. 89-90).
Norville further discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the MHC-CAR cells and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (page 5),
For these reasons, claims 1-9, 12-14 are anticipated by Norville.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norville, as applied above.
Regarding claim 15, the claim further recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells.
Norville does not teach the range of about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells, as claimed.
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 further instructs that, generally, differences in concentration (amount) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration (amount) is critical.
In this case, as set forth above, a pharmaceutical composition comprising the cells, generally, is taught by the prior art in Norville, and there is no evidence of record that the instantly claimed range is critical. Moreover, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the amount of cells in the pharmaceutical composition is a result-effective variable effecting the outcome of treatment when the pharmaceutical composition is administered to a subject in need thereof. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to optimize the amount of cells through routine experimentation in order to arrive at a more effective therapy. For these reasons, absent a secondary consideration, the claimed range of about 1.0 × 105 to about 1.0 × 109 cells would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norville, as applied above; in view of Wooldridge et al. (2007) “Enhanced immunogenicity of CTL antigens through mutation of the CD8 binding MHC class I invariant region” European journal of immunology, 37(5), 1323-1333.
Regarding claims 10-11, the claims recite that the HLA-A comprises at least one mutation in the CD8 binding domain.
Norville does not teach the HLA-A comprises at least one mutation in the CD8 binding domain, as claimed.
Woodridge is relevant prior art for teaching that CD8 facilitates antigen recognition by binding to the invariant domains of peptide-MCH Class I complexes (pMHCI), and a mutation in a CD8 binding domain of HLA-A enhances CD8 binding by about 50% without altering TCR/pMHCI interactions. See, Abstract.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Norville by introducing a mutation into a CD8 binding domain of HLA-A, in view of Woodridge, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to enhance CD8 binding without altering TCR/pMHCI interactions.
Conclusion
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631