DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 01/14/26 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, and Group III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/14/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joseph Abel et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0013616, here after Abel).
Claim 1 is rejected. Abel teaches a method of forming an oxide film on a substrate [0013], the method comprising:
performing a plurality of oxide film deposition cycles, at least one oxide film
deposition cycle of the plurality of oxide film deposition cycles comprising
exposing the substrate to an oxide-film precursor to adsorb the oxide-film
precursor to the substrate,
exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing gas,
reacting the oxide-film precursor and the oxygen-containing gas, and
exposing the substrate to a carbon-containing inhibitor [0015-0016, 0076, fig. 4, 0055].
Claim 2 is rejected. Abel teaches the method comprises an atomic layer deposition process [0055].
Claim 3 is rejected as Abel teaches a subsequent oxide film deposition cycle
of the plurality of oxide film deposition cycles that is performed after the at least one oxide film deposition cycle omits exposing the substrate to the carbon-containing inhibitor [fig. 4].
Claim 6 is rejected as Abel teaches the substrate comprises a stack of
alternating layers of a first material and a second material, wherein a gap is formed in the stack of alternating layers of materials, and wherein the oxide film is deposited in the gap [fig. 2a, 2b, 0045].
Claim 8 is rejected as Abel teaches the gap comprises a reentrant
structure [0024].
Claim 9 is rejected as Abel teaches the carbon-containing inhibitor
comprises alkyl amine [0046].
Claim 10 is rejected as Abel teaches the oxide film comprises a silicon oxide
Film [0074].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph Abel et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0013616, here after Abel), further in view of Ian John Curtin et al (WO 2021/173886, here after Curtin).
Claim 4 is rejected. Abel teaches formation of the oxide with ALD which in fact comprising reacting the oxide-film precursor and the oxygen-containing gas, for formation of NAND devices [0074], but does not teach forming a plasma. Curtin teaches high aspect ratio gaps disposed in multi-layer stack comprising pairs of layers of alternating materials for making NAND device [0021], and depositing oxide in the gap with ALD or PEALD [0058, fig. 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of forming an oxide film on a substrate that Abel teaches, where the oxide in the gap forms by PEALD, because it is suitable method for depositing oxide in gap and form NAND device. Deposition by PEALD comprises forming a plasma comprising the oxygen-containing gas [0058].
Claim 5 is rejected as Able teaches comprising reacting plasma with carbon-containing inhibitor deposited in a prior oxide film deposition cycle of the plurality of oxide film deposition cycles [fig. 4].
Claim 7 is rejected. Abel teaches the limitation of claim 6 and teaches the gap comprises high aspect ratio [0084], for formation of NAND devices [0074], but does not teach aspect ratio within a range of 40:1 to 100:1. Curtin teaches high aspect ratio gaps disposed in multi-layer stack comprising pairs of layers of alternating materials for making NAND device[0021], and teaches the gap has high aspect ratio and about 50-100nm width, with a depth of about 4-8 microns[0035], which give aspect ratio of 80:1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of forming an oxide film on a substrate that Abel teaches, where feature in substrate has aspect ratio of 80:1, because this high aspect ratio feature usable for making NAND devices.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718