DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 01/14/26 is
acknowledged. Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR
1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, and Group III, there being no
allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed
on 01/14/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The disclosure does not support the carbon-containing inhibitor comprises (all kind of) hydrocarbons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joseph Abel et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0013616, here after Abel).
Claim 1 is rejected. Abel teaches a method of forming an oxide film on a
substrate [0013], the method comprising:
performing a plurality of oxide film deposition cycles, at least one oxide film
deposition cycle of the plurality of oxide film deposition cycles comprising
exposing the substrate to an oxide-film precursor to adsorb the oxide-film
precursor to the substrate,
exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing gas,
reacting the oxide-film precursor and the oxygen-containing gas, and
exposing the substrate to a carbon-containing inhibitor [0015-0016, 0076, fig. 4, 0055]. Abel teaches the carbon-containing inhibitor comprises alcohol (hydrocarbon, based on 0056 of the invention specification) [0076].
Claim 2 is rejected. Abel teaches the method comprises an atomic layer
deposition process [0055].
Claim 3 is rejected as Abel teaches a subsequent oxide film deposition cycle
of the plurality of oxide film deposition cycles that is performed after the at least one
oxide film deposition cycle omits exposing the substrate to the carbon-containing
inhibitor [fig. 4].
Claim 6 is rejected as Abel teaches the substrate comprises a stack of
alternating layers of a first material and a second material, wherein a gap is formed in
the stack of alternating layers of materials, and wherein the oxide film is deposited in the
gap [fig. 2a, 2b, 0045].
Claim 8 is rejected as Abel teaches the gap comprises a reentrant
structure [0024].
Claim 10 is rejected as Abel teaches the oxide film comprises a silicon oxide
Film [0074].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph Abel et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0013616, here after Abel), further in
view of lan John Curtin et al (WO 2021/173886, here after Curtin).
Claim 4 is rejected. Abel teaches formation of the oxide with ALD which in fact
comprising reacting the oxide-film precursor and the oxygen-containing gas, for
formation of NAND devices [0074], but does not teach forming a plasma. Curtin teaches
high aspect ratio gaps disposed in multi-layer stack comprising pairs of layers of
alternating materials for making NAND device [0021], and depositing oxide in the gap
with ALD or PEALD [0058, fig. 4]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of
forming an oxide film on a substrate that Abel teaches, where the oxide in the gap forms
by PEALD, because it is suitable method for depositing oxide in gap and form NAND
device. Deposition by PEALD comprises forming a plasma comprising the oxygen-
containing gas [0058].
Claim 5 is rejected as Able teaches comprising reacting plasma with carbon-
containing inhibitor deposited in a prior oxide film deposition cycle of the plurality of
oxide film deposition cycles [fig. 4].
Claim 7 is rejected. Abel teaches the limitation of claim 6 and teaches the gap
comprises high aspect ratio [0084], for formation of NAND devices [0074], but does not
teach aspect ratio within a range of 40:1 to 100:1. Curtin teaches high aspect ratio gaps
disposed in multi-layer stack comprising pairs of layers of alternating materials for
making NAND device [0021], and teaches the gap has high aspect ratio and about 50-
100nm width, with a depth of about 4-8 microns [0035], which give aspect ratio of 80:1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made to have a method of forming an oxide film on a substrate that Abel
teaches, where feature in substrate has aspect ratio of 80:1, because this high aspect
ratio feature usable for making NAND devices.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph Abel et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2020/0013616, here after Abel), further in view of Wontae Noh et al (U. S. Patent Application: 2022/0119939, here after Noh).
Claim 9 is rejected. Abel teaches the inhibitor is alcohol, or amine [0076], but
does not teach inhibitor is alkanes, alkenes, or alkynes. Noh teaches a method of gap-filling and using inhibitors such as alcohol, amines or alkanes, alkenes, alkynes [0018, 0019, 0022]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have a method of forming an oxide film on a substrate that Abel teaches, where the inhibitor is alkanes, alkenes, or alkynes, because it is suitable for selectively deposition and gap fill tranches.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues Abel does not teach exposing the substrate to a carbon containing hydrocarbon. The examiner disagrees, Able in paragraph 0076 clearly teaches using inhibitor as fluorine plasma as well as methanol and ethanol, which are hydrocarbon based on 0056 of the invention specification.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The applicant argument that Curtin does not teach exposing the substrate to carbon containing inhibitor is not persuasive, as Able teaches this limitation. Albe teaches exposing substrate to carbon containing inhibitor and deposition oxide film via ALD, where PEALD deposition of oxide film of Curtin substitute for ALD deposition of Albe and meet limitation of claim 4. The applicant argues Curtin teaches away of plasma PEALD; the examiner disagrees as Curtin teaches benefit of using PEALD as reducing deposition temperature [0045].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718