DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 10/09/2024 has been entered into this application. Claims 16-20 have been added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 10/15/2024 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a detection module” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detection module”, “a replaceable routing component”, in claims 1 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim limitation “a detection module,” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitations such as “a detection module,” is not defined as to what the detection module is or not or specifically what it is? For example, is it an image sensor such as, a CCD sensor, a CMOS sensor, or the like. Therefore, the limitations in these claims have too many potential options of what may be considered as the invention detection module, as a result makes the claims limitations indefinite. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1 - 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As discussed above, claims 1 and 8 is indefinite for failure to disclose adequate structure in the specification. Because there is inadequate disclosure of the claimed invention, the inventor has also not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwai et al. (2015/0192515 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Iwai discloses a metrology system (figs. 1-3 and 11)/detection optical system 3 that can detect this rough alignment mark [par. 0047] for imaging a plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) disposed on a substrate i.e. when the alignment substrate 12 is replaced with the substrate 8 [pars. 0047-49], the metrology system comprising:
a detection module an imaging element 25; and
a replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism"), optically coupled to the detection module the imaging element 25, and comprising a plurality of routing elements is the prism 24 includes a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45], and
wherein the substrate (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) is configured to be moved (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063] with respect to the replaceable routing component the prism 24 such that a first end of each of the plurality of routing elements is configured to overlay one of the plurality of targets /alignment marks (10, 11, 13) and a second end of each of the plurality of routing elements the prism 24 is optically coupled to the detection module the imaging element 25, as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 2);
wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to be positioned to overlay the substrate the prism 24 such that each of the plurality of routing elements that is included in prism 24 overlays one of the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13), as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
As to claim 2, Iwai also discloses a structure of substrate stage 5 that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system, wherein the substrate/substrate 12/the substrate 8 is further configured to be moved to a second position so as not to be positioned under the replaceable routing component (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063] that allow for configured to be moved in various positions, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
As to claims 3 and 9, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 includes waveguides or optical couplers/a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45].
For the purposes of clarity, the function by the prism//a reflection film 24a with aperture is to connect/joining two illumination/reflect path in an optical system or to connect two separate parts, and thus is a coupler by function.
As to claims 4-6 and 10-12, Iwai also discloses a structure of replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system that is/are implementing limitations such as, wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to permit the plurality of routing elements the reflection film at its affixed faces that includes a differently shaped aperture and the plurality of optical elements to be disposed thereon in a plurality of different locations along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claims 4 and 10); wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to guide light to or from the plurality of routing elements along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claims 5 and 11); and wherein the system is configured such that the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) are imaged by the imaging element 25 in parallel resulted from (see the (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) x, y and z stage configured movable direction or the double head arrow movement) [pars. 0063] (claims 6 and 12).
For the purposes of clarity, the structure recited in claims 10-12 is/are symmetrical to the structure recited in claims 4-6, as such, the claims are rejected above as being anticipated by Iwai.
As to claims 7 and 14, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] includes active or passive integrated photonic elements a resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) [pars. 0004-7, 0009, and 0026, 0037, 0089].
For the purposes of clarity, the based-on applicant disclosure as published [par. 0108], the replaceable routing element can be a custom printed routing wafer. A printed routing wafer refers to a semiconductor substrate where, rather than relying solely on traditional photolithography, circuits, interconnects, or components are created using advanced printing techniques, such as imprint technology.
For the purposes of clarity, the structure recited in claim 14 is/are symmetrical to the structure recited in claim 7, as such, the claim is/are rejected above as being anticipated by Iwai.
As to claim 13, Iwai also discloses wherein the plurality of routing elements the resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) are configured to detect/reflect light from the irradiation unit 2, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
As to claim 15, Iwai discloses a replaceable routing component a prism 24, comprising:
a plurality of routing elements a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") [pars. 0042-45] and a plurality of sensors is included in CCD [par. 0043], CCD is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels, pixels is/are picture element(s) or imaging sensors,
wherein the replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") is configured to be moved (relative movement to (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) to a first position so as to overlay a substrate (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) such that a first end of each of the plurality of routing elements overlays one of a plurality of targets on the substrate and a second end of each of the plurality of routing elements included in the prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") [pars. 0042-45] is optically coupled to one of the plurality of sensors imaging sensors/pixels that is included in CCD [par. 0043], CCD is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels, pixels is/are picture element(s) or imaging sensors, and
wherein the replaceable routing component a prism 24 is further configured to be moved ((relative movement to (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) to a second position so as not to overlay the substrate (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063].
For the purposes of clarity, a charge-coupled device (CCD) is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels. Pixels is/are picture element(s) and/or imaging sensors or a pixel refers to the smallest unit of a digital image captured by a camera's image sensor. Each pixel represents a specific color and brightness value, which collectively form the photograph.
As to claim 16, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 includes waveguides or optical couplers/a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45].
For the purposes of clarity, the function by the prism//a reflection film 24a with aperture is to connect/joining two illumination/reflect path in an optical system or to connect two separate parts, and thus is a coupler by function.
As to claims 17-19, Iwai also discloses a structure of replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system that is/are implementing limitations such as, wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to permit the plurality of routing elements the reflection film at its affixed faces that includes a differently shaped aperture and the plurality of optical elements to be disposed thereon in a plurality of different locations along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claim 17); wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to guide light to or from the plurality of routing elements along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claim 18); and wherein the system is configured such that the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) are imaged by the imaging element 25 in parallel resulted from (see the (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) x, y and z stage configured movable direction or the double head arrow movement) [pars. 0063] (claim 19).
As to claim 20, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] includes active or passive integrated photonic elements a resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) [pars. 0004-7, 0009, and 0026, 0037, 0089].
For the purposes of clarity, the based-on applicant disclosure as published [par. 0108], the replaceable routing element can be a custom printed routing wafer. A printed routing wafer refers to a semiconductor substrate where, rather than relying solely on traditional photolithography, circuits, interconnects, or components are created using advanced printing techniques, such as imprint technology.
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed in the attached form PTO-892 teach of other prior art a metrology system for imaging a plurality of targets disposed on a substrate.
Conclusion
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877