DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on 04/16/2026 has been entered into this application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the disclosure on [par. 0163] discloses “The metrology system of clause 16, wherein the replaceable routing component is configured to permit the plurality of routing elements to be disposed thereon in a plurality of different locations.” However, the “metrology system of clause 16” is lacking in the drawing. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of routing elements is configured to overlay one of the plurality of targets and a second end of each of the plurality of routing elements is optically coupled to the one or more detectors” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
For examination purposes the examiner has assumed that as long as the prior art described a detector and plurality of optical elements that is/are capable of being structure or function to perform or carrying out the claimed imaging, it can be assumed the device/system will inherently perform the claimed imaging, and the claimed limitations would be met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwai et al. (2015/0192515 A1, previously cited reference).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Iwai discloses a metrology system (figs. 1-3 and 11)/detection optical system 3 that can detect this rough alignment mark [par. 0047] for imaging a plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) disposed on a substrate i.e. when the alignment substrate 12 is replaced with the substrate 8 [pars. 0047-49], the metrology system comprising:
a one or more detectors an imaging element 25; and
a replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism"), optically coupled to the one or more detectors the imaging element 25, and comprising a plurality of routing elements is the prism 24 includes a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45], and
wherein the substrate (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) is configured to be moved (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063] with respect to the replaceable routing component the prism 24 such that a first end of each of the plurality of routing elements is configured to overlay one of the plurality of targets /alignment marks (10, 11, 13) and a second end of each of the plurality of routing elements the prism 24 is optically coupled to the one or more detectors the imaging element 25, as can be seen in depicted drawing (fig. 2);
wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to be positioned to overlay the substrate the prism 24 such that each of the plurality of routing elements that is included in prism 24 overlays one of the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13), as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
For the purposes of clarity, when a claim takes the form “A or B”, a prior art reference teaching only A is anticipatory, as is a prior art reference teaching only B: that’s what the “or” means, that you are setting forth alternatives. "When a claim covers several structures or compositions, either generically or as alternatives, the claim is deemed anticipated if any of the structures or compositions within the scope of the claim is known in the prior art." Brown v. 3M, 265 F.3d 1349, 1351, 60 USPQ2d 1375, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2001), see MPEP 2131. In the present case, Since Iwai teaches one of the alternatives set forth in the claim (in this case one detector or imaging element), the claim is anticipated.
As to claim 2, Iwai also discloses a structure of substrate stage 5 that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system, wherein the substrate/substrate 12/the substrate 8 is further configured to be moved to a second position so as not to be positioned under the replaceable routing component (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063] that allow for configured to be moved in various positions, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
As to claims 3 and 9, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 includes waveguides or optical couplers/a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45].
For the purposes of clarity, the function by the prism//a reflection film 24a with aperture is to connect/joining two illumination/reflect path in an optical system or to connect two separate parts, and thus is a coupler by function.
As to claims 4-6 and 10-12, Iwai also discloses a structure of replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system that is/are implementing limitations such as, wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to permit the plurality of routing elements the reflection film at its affixed faces that includes a differently shaped aperture and the plurality of optical elements to be disposed thereon in a plurality of different locations along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claims 4 and 10); wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to guide light to or from the plurality of routing elements along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claims 5 and 11); and wherein the system is configured such that the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) are imaged by the imaging element 25 in parallel resulted from (see the (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) x, y and z stage configured movable direction or the double head arrow movement) [pars. 0063] (claims 6 and 12).
For the purposes of clarity, the structure recited in claims 10-12 is/are symmetrical to the structure recited in claims 4-6, as such, the claims are rejected above as being anticipated by Iwai.
As to claims 7 and 14, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] includes active or passive integrated photonic elements a resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) [pars. 0004-7, 0009, and 0026, 0037, 0089].
For the purposes of clarity, the based-on applicant disclosure as published [par. 0108], the replaceable routing element can be a custom printed routing wafer. A printed routing wafer refers to a semiconductor substrate where, rather than relying solely on traditional photolithography, circuits, interconnects, or components are created using advanced printing techniques, such as imprint technology.
For the purposes of clarity, the structure recited in claim 14 is/are symmetrical to the structure recited in claim 7, as such, the claim is/are rejected above as being anticipated by Iwai.
As to claim 13, Iwai also discloses wherein the plurality of routing elements the resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) are configured to detect/reflect light from the irradiation unit 2, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B).
As to claim 15, Iwai discloses a replaceable routing component a prism 24, comprising:
a plurality of routing elements a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") [pars. 0042-45] and a plurality of sensors is included in CCD [par. 0043], CCD is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels, pixels is/are picture element(s) or imaging sensors,
wherein the replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") is configured to be moved (relative movement to (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) to a first position so as to overlay a substrate (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) such that a first end of each of the plurality of routing elements overlays one of a plurality of targets on the substrate and a second end of each of the plurality of routing elements included in the prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") [pars. 0042-45] is optically coupled to one of the plurality of sensors imaging sensors/pixels that is included in CCD [par. 0043], CCD is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels, pixels is/are picture element(s) or imaging sensors, and
wherein the replaceable routing component a prism 24 is further configured to be moved ((relative movement to (alignment substrate 12/the substrate 8) to a second position so as not to overlay the substrate (see the figs. x, y and z stage movable direction or the double head arrow) [pars. 0063].
For the purposes of clarity, a charge-coupled device (CCD) is an integrated circuit containing an array or grids of pixels. Pixels is/are picture element(s) and/or imaging sensors or a pixel refers to the smallest unit of a digital image captured by a camera's image sensor. Each pixel represents a specific color and brightness value, which collectively form the photograph.
As to claim 16, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 includes waveguides or optical couplers/a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture) [pars. 0042-45].
For the purposes of clarity, the function by the prism//a reflection film 24a with aperture is to connect/joining two illumination/reflect path in an optical system or to connect two separate parts, and thus is a coupler by function.
As to claims 17-19, Iwai also discloses a structure of replaceable routing component a prism 24, the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] that anticipate(s) of being use in a metrology system that is/are implementing limitations such as, wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to permit the plurality of routing elements the reflection film at its affixed faces that includes a differently shaped aperture and the plurality of optical elements to be disposed thereon in a plurality of different locations along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claim 17); wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 is configured to guide light to or from the plurality of routing elements along the optical path, as can be seen in depicted drawing (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) (claim 18); and wherein the system is configured such that the plurality of targets/alignment marks (10, 11, 13) are imaged by the imaging element 25 in parallel resulted from (see the (figs. 2-3, 4A-4B) x, y and z stage configured movable direction or the double head arrow movement) [pars. 0063] (claim 19).
As to claim 20, Iwai also discloses wherein the replaceable routing component the prism 24 can be switched with another prism (a prism whose reflection film at its affixed faces includes a differently shaped aperture) by a switching mechanism such as a turret or a slide mechanism") and/or a plurality of optical elements [pars. 0027, 0046] includes active or passive integrated photonic elements a resin pattern on the substrate/wafer that is created using photolithography techniques, or microstructures on the order of several nanometers on a substrate that is created using imprint technology or a pattern on a substrate (wafer, glass plate, film-like substrate, or the like) [pars. 0004-7, 0009, and 0026, 0037, 0089].
For the purposes of clarity, the based-on applicant disclosure as published [par. 0108], the replaceable routing element can be a custom printed routing wafer. A printed routing wafer refers to a semiconductor substrate where, rather than relying solely on traditional photolithography, circuits, interconnects, or components are created using advanced printing techniques, such as imprint technology.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks, (see pages 5-8), filed on 04/16/2026, with respect to the drawings objection(s) and the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objection(s) and the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn.
However, Applicant’s arguments/remarks with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
a) Applicant argues in particular that The Office Action alleges that prism 24 of Iwai corresponds to the replaceable routing component. However, the cited portions of Iwai fail to disclose a replaceable routing component comprising a plurality of routing elements. …………………
Applicant argues that It is not apparent what corresponds to the plurality of routing elements. There appears be just one "routing element" - the prism 24 …………
Applicant argues that Accordingly, there is no apparent disclosure in the cited portions of Iwai of, for example, the claimed plurality of routing elements, wherein a first end of each of the plurality of routing elements is configured to overlay one of the plurality of targets.
Applicant argues that For similar reasons as presented above, Applicant submits that the cited portions of Iwai fail to disclose claims 8 and 15. Claim 2-7, 9-14 and 16-20 should be allowed by virtue of their dependency, as well as for the features they recite individually. Thus, this rejection should be withdrawn.
Examiner's response:
With respect to argument (a), it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument is not persuasive because Iwai clearly discloses in [pars. 0042-45] that the prism 24 is plurality as one in that it includes optical component of a reflection film 24a with aperture; plate-shaped optical element + reflection film with aperture).
In addition, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument is not persuasive because it is well settled that the teachings or suggestions of the prior art that have been used as evidence within a rejection of the claimed invention in view of the prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103, as set forth by the Court, are to be evaluated and determined not just from one or more specifically identified quotes to individual sections of the text of the prior art document but are in fact to be evaluated and determined from all that the prior art document teaches or suggests, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 17 (CCPA, 1977), with some reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977). In this case, Applicant’s attention is respectfully requested to Iwai [par. 0027] as Iwai clearly discloses that the system of irradiation unit 2 includes a light source and a plurality of optical elements, which further solidifies examiner’s position.
In conclusion, it is respectfully pointed out to applicant that this argument is not persuasive because one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made would have fairly and reasonably recognized that the prior art does properly support a rejection of the claimed invention under 35 U.S.C. 102 as detailed above, and the applicant has not provided any factual evidence that suggest or obviate the examiner's cited paragraphs would not anticipates the instant claim invention. As such, the cited paragraphs are proper and the claim limitations are anticipated.
Finally, Applicant has argued the patentability of claims, based solely upon the patentability of independent claim(s) limitation(s), and has presented no additional arguments exclusively pertaining to the claims, since the applicant has not argued the examiner’s position about the rejection(s) regarding the dependent claims, in the previous Official action. The applicant has acquiesced.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877