DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-28 and 30-33 are pending. Claims 20-28 and 31-33 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 5-7, 10-19 and 30 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10-19 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any section of a reference cited in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matteson et al. (“Haloboranes”).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 7, Matteson teaches a boron containing precursor which is (di-isopropylamino)dichloroborane (see compound 12 in Scheme 6 on page 187). Matteson teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 6 and 7; therefore, Matteson anticipates the claims.
2. Claim(s) 1, 5, 10, 12, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maringgele et al. (“Sterically Encumbered Monomeric Sec.Amino-(Halogeno)Hydroboranes and the Corresponding Dihalogeno- and Dihydroborane Precursors”).
I. Regarding claims 1 and 5, Maringgele teaches a boron containing precursor having the structure of Formula (I) where X is Cl, n is 1, R1 is a C1 alkyl group, and R2 is a C10 aryl group (see compound 2a, Table 1). Matteson teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1 and 5; therefore, Matteson anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claims 10, 12, 13 and 15, Maringgele teaches a composition comprising: a boron precursor which has a structure where X is Cl, n is 1 and R1 and R2 are linked together to form a ring, wherein R1 and R2 are C3 to C6 alkyls and are not the same (see compound 16a, page 719) which has a boiling point of 87 ºC and note that this is formed in a solvent of carbon tetrachloride which has a boiling point of 77 ºC (see General Procedures on page 725). Maringgele teaches all the limitations of claims 10, 12, 13 and 15; therefore, Maringgele anticipates the claims.
3. Claim(s) 10, 14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brotherton et al. (“Tetra-(amino)-diborons”).
Regarding claims 10, 14 and 16-19, Brotherton teaches a composition comprising: bis(dimethylamino)bromoborane (bp of 20-28 ºC) in a solvent of pentane (bp of 36 ºC), see the Experimental section. Brotherton teaches all the critical limitations of claims 10, 14 and 16-19; therefore, Brotherton anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brotherton in view of Matteson.
Regarding claim 11, Brotherton teaches all the limitations of claim 10 (see above), wherein the composition comprises bis(dimethylamino)bromoborane (bp of 20-28 ºC) in a solvent, but fails to teach the solvent selected from the group as claimed in claim 11. However, Matteson teaches that diethyl ether (bp of 34.6 ºC) can be used as a solvent for amino(halo)boranes like dimethyl aminodichloroborane (Scheme 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brotherton’s composition by substituting diethyl ether for pentane. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that pentane and diethyl ether have similar boiling points and Matteson teaches the use of diethyl ether for solvating similar haloboranes), and the predictable result of providing a composition.
5. Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brotherton.
Regarding claim 30, Brotherton teaches all the limitations of claim 10 (see above), including the compound being bis(dimethylamino)bromoborane (see above), but fails to teach the specific compounds as recited in claim 30. However, bis(ethylmethylamino)bromoborane is simply a homolog of bis(dimethylamino)bromoborane by the inclusion of an additional CH2 unit. The compounds are so similar as to expect identical properties in the composition. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Brotherton’s composition by substituting bis(ethylmethylamino)bromoborane for bis(dimethylamino)bromoborane. Note that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious); Aventis Pharma Deutschland v. Lupin Ltd., 499 F.3d 1293, 84 USPQ2d 1197 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (5(S) stereoisomer of ramipril obvious over prior art mixture of stereoisomers of ramipril.). Furthermore, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c).
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-28 and 30-33 are pending.
Claims 20-28 and 31-33 are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 5-7, 10-19 and 30 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 8, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717