DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Masato (JP2001329250A).
With respect to claim 1, Masato describes a slurry comprising cerium oxide abrasive particles, DI water. The cerium oxide particles have a median primary particles diameter from 30 to 250nm, for example 100-250nm and the maximum of particle diameter is 100 nm, which would provide and contain particles with crystal diameter of 17nm or more (page 2, 5). The value of structural parameter Y, which represents isotropic micro-strain and isotropic fine distortion is 0.350, or 0.41 to provide crystal distortion (pages 3, 4, 5), which would also provide crystal strain or claimed lattice strain of the cerium oxide to be 0.10% or more.
With respect to claim 4, Masato shows an example where the median primary particle size is 290 nm (page 6).
With respect to claim 5, the slurry contain 3 wt% of cerium oxide abrasive particles (page 5).
With respect to claims 7 and 8, the slurry is used in a step of polishing SiO2 insulating film (page 6).
With respect to claim 9, the slurry contains only cerium oxide particles (page 5 and 6). Therefore, it is expected that a content of the cerium oxide is 95 mass% or more based on the total mass of the abrasive grains contained in the slurry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, 10, 11-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato as applied to claim 1 above.
With respect to claims 2, 10, 11-15, the cerium oxide particles have a value of structural parameter Y, which represents isotropic micro-strain and isotropic fine distortion is from 0.01 to 0.7 to provide crystal distortion or lattice distortion (page 3), which would overlap claimed lattice distortion of 0.10-0.75%, 0.10 to 0.30%, or 0.10 to 1.00%. and the cerium oxide particles have a median primary particles diameter from 30 to 250nm (page 3), which would overlap crystalline diameter of the cerium oxide particles of 17-40nm, 17-60nm or 17-50nm. Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use ranges including claimed ranges to provide a CMP composition with expected results.
With respect to claim 6, the pH is from 7-10 (page 3), which overlaps claimed pH 1-7. Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use pH range including claimed range to provide a CMP composition with expected results.
With respect to claim 16 and 17, the average particle size of the cerium oxide particles are 200nm to 400nm (page 3), which is closely overlapping claimed 100-600 nm or 200 to 300nm. Overlapping ranges are held obvious. See MPEP 2144.05. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, one skill in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use the average particle size range including claimed range to provide a CMP composition with expected results.
Claim(s) 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Iwano (US 2021/0207002).
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Masato doesn’t teach that the slurry contains a water-soluble polymer including polyglycerin. Iwano teaches a slurry for the same material as that of Yoshida including silicon oxide (para 4, 20), wherein the slurry includes a water-soluble polymer of polyglycerin (para 121). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to add polyglycerin in light of Iwano because he teaches such water-soluble polymer has an effect of adjusting the polishing characteristics such as the dispersion stability of the abrasive grains, flattening properties, in-plane uniformity, polishing selectivity for silicon oxide (para 120).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 3 and 20, the applied prior art Masato doesn’t teach the crystalline diameter of the cerium oxide is 17nm or more and less than 30nm and the pH is from 4.00 to 6.00. He teaches the medium primary particle size is from 30 to 250 nm and a pH is from 7 or more and 10 or less (page 3).
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
7/8/2026