DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Showa (WO 2022/054873 A1; English Translation provided by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 1, Showa (WO 2022/054873 A1; English Translation provided by Applicant) discloses a method (Fig 1) for manufacturing a wiring board (10), the method comprising: providing a resist layer (3) on a seed layer (20) comprising a metal ([0046]), the seed layer (20) being provided on a main surface of a substrate (1); forming a pattern (at 2) including an opening (3A) through which the seed layer (20) is exposed at the resist layer (3) by exposure and development of the resist layer; and forming a copper plating layer (21) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0047] “5 to 20 μm”) on the seed layer (20) exposed in the opening by electrolytic plating ([0046-0048]), wherein the copper plating layer (21) is formed so that a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0048] “black portions”) observed in a cross section of a metal portion (about 2) comprising the seed layer (20) and the copper plating layer (21) in a width direction of the copper plating layer, is 45% or less ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”), and the BP occupancy is a value as determined by a method comprising: determining a number n of black portions observed in a region ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”) having a width of L [μm] ([0048]) in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate (1) in a cross section of the metal portion comprising the copper plating layer having a width of less than 10 μm ([0048]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0048] “maximum width of less than 0.3 μm”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
Regarding Claim 2, Showa further discloses the method (Fig 1) according to claim 1, further comprising: removing (Fig 1(d)- Fig 1(e)) the resist layer (3) to expose a portion of the seed layer (20) that is not covered with the copper plating layer (21); and removing (Fig 1(e)) an exposed portion of the seed layer (20) with an etching liquid to form a wiring board comprising: a wiring comprising the seed layer and the copper plating layer; and the substrate.
Regarding Claim 3, Showa further discloses the method (Fig 1) according to claim 1, wherein the resist layer comprises a binder polymer ([0015]), a photopolymerizable component ([0015]), and a photopolymerization initiator ([0015]), and the resist layer is selected so that the BP occupancy is 45% or less ([0048]).
Regarding Claim 4, Showa further discloses the method (Fig 1) according to claim 3, wherein the photopolymerization initiator comprises a 2,4,5-triarylimidazole dimer derivative ([0029]).
Regarding Claim 5, Showa further discloses the method (Fig 1) according to claim 4, wherein a content of the 2,4,5-triarylimidazole dimer derivative in the resist layer is selected in a range of 6 parts by mass or more and 12 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass ([0030]) of a total amount of the binder polymer and the photopolymerizable component.
Regarding Claim 8, Showa (WO 2022/054873 A1; English Translation provided by Applicant) a method (Fig 1) for evaluating a wiring board comprising: a substrate (10); and a wiring (2) provided on the substrate (10), wherein the wiring (2) comprises: a seed layer (20) provided on the substrate (1); and a copper plating layer (21) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0047] “5 to 20 μm”), the copper plating layer (21) being formed on the seed layer (20), the method comprises determining a BP occupancy ([0048] “black portions”) that is an occupancy of a black portion observed in a cross section of the wiring in a width direction of the copper plating layer, and a method for determining the BP occupancy comprises: determining a number n of black portions ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”) observed in a region having a width of L [μm] ([0048]) in a direction parallel to a main surface of the substrate in a cross section of the wiring comprising the copper plating layer having a width of less than 10 μm ([0048]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0048] “maximum width of less than 0.3 μm”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”) according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
Regarding Claim 9, Showa (WO 2022/054873 A1; English Translation provided by Applicant) discloses a wiring board (Fig 1) comprising: a substrate (1); and a wiring (2) provided on the substrate (1), wherein the wiring (2) comprises: a seed layer (20) provided on the substrate (1); and a copper plating layer (21; [0046]) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0047] “5 to 20 μm”), the copper plating layer (21) being formed on the seed layer (20), a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0048] “black portions”) observed in a cross section of the wiring in a width direction of the copper plating layer, is 45% or less ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”), and the BP occupancy is a value as determined by a method comprising: determining a number n of black portions observed in a region ([0048] “8 or less per 1 μm”) having a width of L [μm] ([0048]) in a direction parallel to a main surface of the substrate in a cross section of the wiring comprising the copper plating layer (21) having a width of less than 10 μm ([0048]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0048] “maximum width of less than 0.3 μm”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
Claim(s) 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hidani (US 2023/0371176 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Hidani (US 2023/0371176 A1) discloses a method (Fig 2) for evaluating ([0118]) a wiring board comprising: a substrate (1); and a wiring (2) provided on the substrate (1), wherein the wiring comprises: a seed layer (4,5) provided on the substrate (1); and a copper plating layer (6) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0079] “10 μm or less”), the copper plating layer (6) being formed on the seed layer (4,5), the method comprises determining ([0118-0133]) a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0084-0090] “voids”; note that the Applicant’s Specification states at [0012] “inventors infer that the black portion is some defective portion such as a minute void, which is related to adhesion between the copper plating layer 21 and the seed layer 20” and thus the claimed black portion are voids) observed in a cross section of the wiring in a width direction of the copper plating layer (6), and a method for determining ([0118-0133]) the BP occupancy comprises: determining a number n of black portions ([0085-0090,0121-0133] “voids is 0”) observed in a region ([0084-0090] “number of voids generated in base film 1 is 10 or less per a reference unit area D of 0.25 mm.sup.2 on the surface of the base film. The number of voids per reference unit area D may be 5 or less, or may be 1 or less. Preferably, the number of voids is 0”) having a width of L [μm] ([0121] “number N of voids per reference unit area D was determined by calculation of T/(X/D) because a region having a width X corresponding to 0.02 mm.sup.2 of the surface of the base film appears in the metallurgical microscope image”) in a direction parallel to a main surface of the substrate in a cross section of the wiring comprising the copper plating layer (6) having a width of less than 10 μm ([0082-0090,0121-0133]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0082-0090,0121-0133] “maximum width”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
Regarding Claim 9, Hidani (US 2023/0371176 A1) discloses a wiring board (Fig 1) comprising: a substrate (1); and a wiring (2) provided on the substrate (1), wherein the wiring (2) comprises: a seed layer (4,5) provided on the substrate (1); and a copper plating layer (6) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0079] “10 μm or less”), the copper plating layer (6) being formed on the seed layer (4,5), a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0084-0090] “voids”; note that the Applicant’s Specification states at [0012] “inventors infer that the black portion is some defective portion such as a minute void, which is related to adhesion between the copper plating layer 21 and the seed layer 20” and thus the claimed black portion are voids) observed in a cross section of the wiring in a width direction of the copper plating layer, is 45% or less ([0085-0090,0121-0133] “voids is 0”), and the BP occupancy is a value as determined by a method comprising: determining a number n of black portions observed in a region ([0084-0090] “number of voids generated in base film 1 is 10 or less per a reference unit area D of 0.25 mm.sup.2 on the surface of the base film. The number of voids per reference unit area D may be 5 or less, or may be 1 or less. Preferably, the number of voids is 0”) having a width of L [μm] ([0121] “number N of voids per reference unit area D was determined by calculation of T/(X/D) because a region having a width X corresponding to 0.02 mm.sup.2 of the surface of the base film appears in the metallurgical microscope image”) in a direction parallel to a main surface of the substrate in a cross section of the wiring comprising the copper plating layer (6) having a width of less than 10 μm ([0082-0090,0121-0133]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0082-0090,0121-0133] “maximum width”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidani (US 2023/0371176 A1) in view of Okade (US 2017/0261851 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hidani (US 2023/0371176 A1) discloses a method (Fig 2) for manufacturing a wiring board (300), the method comprising: providing a resist layer ([0082-0083]), a seed layer (4,5) comprising a metal ([0043,0066,0067]), the seed layer (4,5) being provided on a main surface of a substrate (1); forming a pattern (at 2; [0082] “patterning corresponding to the conductive pattern is performed on the resist by exposure, development, and the like. Subsequently, portions of conductor layer 2 other than the conductive pattern are removed by etching using the patterned resist as a mask”) and development of the resist layer ([0082] “patterning corresponding to the conductive pattern is performed on the resist by exposure, development, and the like. Subsequently, portions of conductor layer 2 other than the conductive pattern are removed by etching using the patterned resist as a mask”); and forming a copper plating layer (6) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0079] “10 μm or less”) on the seed layer (4,5) exposed in the opening by electrolytic plating ([0075-0083]), wherein the copper plating layer (6) is formed so that a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0084-0090] “voids”; note that the Applicant’s Specification states at [0012] “inventors infer that the black portion is some defective portion such as a minute void, which is related to adhesion between the copper plating layer 21 and the seed layer 20” and thus the claimed black portion are voids) observed in a cross section (D) of a metal portion (about 2) comprising the seed layer (4-5) and the copper plating layer (6) in a width direction of the copper plating layer, is 45% or less ([0085-0090,0121-0133] “voids is 0”), and the BP occupancy is a value as determined by a method comprising: determining a number n of black portions observed in a region ([0084-0090] “number of voids generated in base film 1 is 10 or less per a reference unit area D of 0.25 mm.sup.2 on the surface of the base film. The number of voids per reference unit area D may be 5 or less, or may be 1 or less. Preferably, the number of voids is 0”) having a width of L [μm] ([0121] “number N of voids per reference unit area D was determined by calculation of T/(X/D) because a region having a width X corresponding to 0.02 mm.sup.2 of the surface of the base film appears in the metallurgical microscope image”) in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate (1) in a cross section of the metal portion comprising the copper plating layer having a width of less than 10 μm ([0082-0090,0121-0133]); determining a maximum width wi [μm] ([0082-0090,0121-0133] “maximum width”) of each of the n black portions in a direction parallel to the main surface of the substrate; and calculating the BP occupancy according to a following equation:
BP occupancy (%) =
∑
i
=
1
n
W
i
×
1
L
×
100
.
Hidani does not explicitly disclose providing a resist layer on a seed layer comprising a metal, the seed layer being provided on a main surface of a substrate; forming a pattern including an opening through which the seed layer is exposed at the resist layer by exposure and development of the resist layer.
Okade (US 2017/0261851 A1) teaches of a method (Fig 2) for manufacturing a wiring board, the method comprising: providing a resist layer (32) on a seed layer (10) comprising a metal ([0144]), the seed layer (10) being provided on a main surface of a substrate (15); forming a pattern (Fig 2(c)) including an opening (see Fig 2(d)) through which the seed layer (10) is exposed at the resist layer by exposure and development ([0144]) of the resist layer; and forming a copper plating layer (42; [0095,0139,0144]) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm ([0195]) on the seed layer exposed in the opening by electrolytic plating.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Hidani, providing a resist layer on a seed layer comprising a metal, the seed layer being provided on a main surface of a substrate; forming a pattern including an opening through which the seed layer is exposed at the resist layer by exposure and development of the resist layer as taught by Okade, in order to allow formation of finer circuit patterns, improve production efficiency and improve sensitivity (Okade, [0002-0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, Hidani in view of Okade teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Okade further teaches the method (Fig 2) comprising: removing (Fig 2(c)) the resist layer (32) to expose a portion of the seed layer (10) that is not covered with the copper plating layer (40; [0095,0139]); and removing (Fig 2(f)) an exposed portion of the seed layer (10) with an etching liquid ([0138]) to form a wiring board comprising: a wiring (10,40) comprising the seed layer (10) and the copper plating layer (40); and the substrate (15).
Regarding Claim 3, Hidani in view of Okade teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Hidani further discloses the method according to claim 1 wherein the resist layer ([0082]) is selected so that the BP occupancy is 45% or less ([[0084-0090]]).
Hidani does not disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the resist layer comprises a binder polymer, a photopolymerizable component, and a photopolymerization initiator.
Okade further teaches of the method (Fig 2), wherein the resist layer (32) comprises a binder polymer ([0011]), a photopolymerizable component ([0011]), and a photopolymerization initiator ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as taught by Hidani in view of Okade, wherein the resist layer comprises a binder polymer, a photopolymerizable component, and a photopolymerization initiator as taught by Okade, in order to provide excellent sensitivity, provide improve adhesion, provide improve release property and allow a formation of resist pattern having L/S of 10/10 or less () (Okade, [0012-0016]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hidani in view of Okade teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Okade further teaches the method (Fig 2) according to claim 3, wherein the photopolymerization initiator comprises a 2,4,5-triarylimidazole dimer derivative ([0015,0071,0077]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hidani in view of Okade teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Okade further teaches the method (Fig 2) according to claim 4, wherein a content ([0079]) of the 2,4,5-triarylimidazole dimer derivative in the resist layer is selected in a range of 6 parts by mass or more and 12 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total amount of the binder polymer and the photopolymerizable component.
Regarding Claim 6, Hidani in view of Okade teaches the limitations of the preceding claim.
Okade further teaches the method (Fig 2) according to claim 3, wherein the photopolymerizable component comprises a photopolymerizable compound having an oxyalkylene group ([0050-0069]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakai (US 2021/0153358 A1) teaches of a method (Fig 2) for manufacturing a wiring board, the method comprising: providing a resist layer (R) on a seed layer (11a,11c), the seed layer (11) being provided on a main surface of a substrate (1); forming a pattern including an opening (Fig 2D) through which the seed layer is exposed at the resist layer by exposure and development of the resist layer; and forming a copper plating layer (11b; [0040]) comprising a portion having a width of less than 10 μm (Abstract) on the seed layer exposed in the opening by electrolytic plating, wherein the copper plating layer is formed so that a BP occupancy that is an occupancy of a black portion ([0046-0048]) observed in a cross section of a metal portion comprising the seed layer and the copper plating layer in a width direction of the copper plating layer, is 45% or less. This could be used in a future 103 Rejection.
/ROSHN K VARGHESE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847