DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi (US 2023/0311844) in view of Lado (US 2014/0046523)
As to claim 8 Kim discloses a method for controlling a motor vehicle hybrid powertrain comprising a combustion engine and at least one electric machine associated with a battery, the method comprising:
using an energy management law to determine an optimal raw torque setpoint for the combustion engine as a function of the overall consumption of the powertrain, the consumption of the combustion engine and of at least one electric machine (Paragraph 26 “calculating costs for the plurality of candidate engine operation points and corresponding motor operation points; determining engine and motor operation points at which the engine and the motor can operate at the lowest cost; and applying an output command to the engine and the motor based on the determined engine and motor operation points.”);
determining an equivalence factor and the gradient of the equivalence factor as a function of the current energy present in the battery and of the target battery energy (Paragraph 26 “…determining a class of SOC based on the current operation state; determining, from a map in which a whole operable range of the engine is arranged, a plurality of candidate engine operation points and a plurality of motor operation points corresponding to the respective candidate engine operation points according to the determined class of SOC;”);
Pi does not explicitly disclose determining the crankshaft torque as a function of the target torque required at the wheel and of the step-down gearing, which are obtained from the energy management law, and determining the crankshaft torque gradient;
Lado teaches determining the crankshaft torque as a function of the target torque required at the wheel and of the step-down gearing, which are obtained from the energy management law, and determining the crankshaft torque gradient (Paragraph 4 “A method for determining a preferred engine speed and a preferred engine torque of a selected operating range state of an electro-mechanical multi-mode transmission configured to transfer torque among an engine, at least one electric machine and a drive includes selecting between of a first search window and a second search window”)
determining a combustion engine torque gradient minimum value and a combustion engine torque gradient maximum value using parameterizable tables each dependent on the gradient of the equivalence factor and on the filtered crankshaft target torque gradient (Paragraph 4 “. Each of the first and second search windows includes a two-dimensional search window definable by a first axis having minimum and maximum engine speed values and a second axis having minimum and maximum engine torque values. A plurality of candidate operating points within the selected one of the first and second search windows is iteratively generated. One of the plurality of candidate operating points within the selected one of the first and second search windows is iteratively determined as an optimum operating point.”); and
determining the optimal combustion engine torque as a function of the combustion engine raw torque setpoint by limiting the dynamics of change thereof as a function of the combustion engine torque gradient minimum value and the combustion engine torque gradient maximum value (Paragraph 34 “The first search window 500 includes a plurality of candidate operating points 512, each candidate operating point including a candidate engine speed and a candidate engine torque. It will be appreciated that the plurality of candidate operating points 512 can correspond to the plurality of candidate engine speeds Ne(j) 312 and the plurality of candidate engine torques Te(j) 314 iteratively generated by the two-dimensional search engine 420 of FIG. 4. Distance 515 denotes a distance between each candidate operating point 512 with respect to engine speed. The shaded one of the plurality of candidate operating points 512 denotes a preferred operating point. The preferred operating point can correspond to the candidate engine speed and the candidate engine torque having a minimum cost.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify Pi to include the teachings of determining an optimal engine torque of the purpose of improving efficiency.
As to claim 9 Lado teaches a control method further comprising first-order filtering of the crankshaft torque gradient as a function of a memory-stored time constant (Paragraph 46).
As to claim 11 Lado teaches a control method wherein the default combustion engine torque gradient minimum value has a value that is lower than the combustion engine torque gradient minimum value, and the default combustion engine torque gradient maximum value has a value that is higher than the combustion engine torque gradient maximum value(Paragraph 46).
As to claim 12 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 8.
As to claim 13 the claim is interpreted and rejected as in claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
IMRAN K. MUSTAFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/IMRAN K MUSTAFA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668 2/18/2026