DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
2. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
3. Claim 1-4, 9, 10, 12 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/858,175 (reference application; Now US 2025/0147432). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
The following Table will match the claim of current application vs. 18/858,175 Claims
18/858,192 Claims (Current application) 18/858,175 Claims
1 1
2 2
3 3
4 4
9 11
10 12
12 14
5. Claim 5-8, 11 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/858,175 in view of Sandoh (US 2021/0104408 A1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 5 and 7 differs from claim 1 of copending application 18/858,175 by further disclose adhering a light-emitting material on a conductor surface of the substrate. Sandoh discloses adhering a light-emitting material (photoresist material having fluorescence property) on a conductor (metal) surface of the substrate (paragraph 0027-0030, 0042-0050; Fig 6A-6B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify copending application 18/858,175 in view of Sandoh by adhering a light-emitting material on a conductor surface of the substrate because it helps to create conductive pattern on the semiconductor device.
As to claims 6 and 8, copending application 18/858,175 claims 7 and 10 discloses the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern having a thickness of greater than or equal to 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm.
Claim 11 differs from claim 1 of copending application 18/858,175 by further disclose a light-emitting material is adhered on a conductor surface of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection. Sandoh discloses a light-emitting material is adhered on a conductor surface of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (paragraph 0027-0030, 0042-0050; Fig 6A-6B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify copending application 18/858,175 in view of Sandoh by having a light-emitting material is adhered on a conductor surface of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection substrate because it helps to create conductive pattern on the semiconductor device and reduces defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 2003243290 A1).
As to claim 1, Sato discloses a resist pattern inspection method comprising
performing an outer appearance inspection of a resist pattern based on light emission (fluorescence emission) from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed (abstract, paragraph 0007-0015).
As to claim 2, Sato discloses performing the outer appearance inspection includes detecting a contour (image of the resist) of the resist pattern based on light emission from the substrate, and performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern based on the detected contour (abstract, paragraph 0007-0015).
As to claim 3, Sato discloses wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes comparing the detected contour with pattern data for forming the resist pattern (paragraph 0007-0009, 0012-0015).
As to claim 9, Satao discloses a substrate selection method comprising:
performing an outer appearance inspection on a resist pattern based on light emission from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed; and
evaluating the resist pattern based on the outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (abstract, paragraph 0007-0015).
As to claim 10, Sato discloses evaluating includes evaluating the resist pattern according to number of defects of the resist pattern (abstract, paragraph 0003-0009, 0012, 0014, 0016, 0021).
9. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tashiro et al. (US 2004/233054)
As to claim 1, Tashiro discloses a resist pattern inspection method comprising
performing an outer appearance inspection of a resist pattern (23) based on light emission (fluorescence emission) from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed (abstract, paragraph 0008-0023).
As to claim 2, Tashiro discloses performing the outer appearance inspection includes detecting a contour (image of the resist) of the resist pattern based on light emission from the substrate, and performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern based on the detected contour (abstract, paragraph 0008-0031).
As to claim 3, Tashiro discloses wherein performing the outer appearance inspection includes comparing the detected contour with pattern data for forming the resist pattern (paragraph 0007-0009, 0050-0053, i.e. compare the shape of the obtained resist pattern (23) with a reference pattern.
As to claim 5, Tashiro discloses forming the resist pattern (23) on the substrate (20);
Adhering a light-emitting material (fluorescence) on a conductor (stainless steel 21) of the substrate (Fig 2, Fig 6, paragraph 0009-0017; 0044-0054).
As to claim 7, Tashiro discloses a resist pattern manufacturing method comprising:
forming a resist pattern (23) on a substrate (20); and
adhering a light-emitting material (fluorescence material) on a conductor surface (stainless steel 21) of the substrate (Fig 2, Fig 6, paragraph 0009-0017; 0044-0054).
As to claim 9, Tashiro discloses a substrate selection method comprising:
performing an outer appearance inspection on a resist pattern (23) based on light emission from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed; and
evaluating the resist pattern based on the outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (abstract, paragraph (abstract, paragraph 0008-0023).
As to claim 10, Tashiro discloses evaluating includes evaluating the resist pattern according to number of defects of the resist pattern (abstract, paragraph 0048-0054).
As to claim 11, Tashiro discloses wherein a light-emitting material (fluorescence) is adhered on a conductor surface (stainless steel) of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (Fig 2, Fig 6, paragraph 0009-0017; 0044-0054).
10. Claims 1-2, 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sandoh et al. (US 2021/0104408 A1)
As to claim 1, Sandoh discloses a resist pattern inspection method comprising
performing an outer appearance inspection of a resist pattern (25) based on light emission (fluorescence emission) from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed (abstract, paragraph 0042-0063, Fig 4, Fig 5, Fig 6A-6B, Fig 10 step S40;).
As to claim 2, Sandoh discloses performing the outer appearance inspection includes detecting a contour of the resist pattern based on light emission from the substrate, and performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern based on the detected contour (abstract, paragraph 0042-0063, Fig 4, Fig 5, Fig 6A-6B, Fig 10 step S40;).
As to claim 5, Sandoh discloses forming the resist pattern (25) on the substrate (11);
Adhering a light-emitting material (fluorescence) on a conductor (metal) of the substrate (paragraph 0027-0030, 0042-0050; Fig 6A-6B).
As to claim 6, Sandoh discloses the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern (25) having a thickness of between 2 pm to 6 µm including example of 0.1 µm (see paragraph 0062, Fig 5, within applicant’s range of “greater than or equal to 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm ).
As to claim 7, Sandoh discloses a resist pattern manufacturing method comprising:
forming a resist pattern (25) on a substrate (11); and
adhering a light-emitting material (fluorescence) on a conductor surface (metal) of the substrate (paragraph 0027-0030, 0042-0050 Fig 6A-6B).
As to claim 8, Sandoh discloses the forming of the resist pattern includes forming the resist pattern (25) having a thickness of between 2 pm to 6 µm including example of 0.1 µm (see paragraph 0062, Fig 5, within applicant’s range of “greater than or equal to 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm ).
As to claim 9, Sandoh discloses a substrate selection method comprising:
performing an outer appearance inspection on a resist pattern (25) based on light emission from a substrate on which the resist pattern is formed; and
evaluating the resist pattern based on the outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (abstract, 0042-0060, fig 4, Fig 5, Fig 6A-6B, Fig 9).
As to claim 10, Sandoh discloses evaluating including evaluating the resist pattern according to number of defects of the resist pattern (i.e. detect defect or failures; See paragraph 0010, 0050, 0063
As to claim 11, Sandoh discloses wherein a light-emitting material (fluorescence) is adhered on a conductor surface (metal) of the substrate to be subjected to outer appearance inspection in performing the outer appearance inspection (paragraph 0027-0030, 0042-0050; Fig 6A-6B).
As to claim 12, Sandoh discloses a manufacturing method for a semiconductor package substrate comprising:
forming a conductor pattern (metal) by performing etching process on a substrate in which the evaluation of the resist pattern in the substrate selection method (paragraph 0027-0028, 0056-0068).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (JP 2003/243290 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanai (JP 2000/193596 A).
As to claim 4, Sato discloses performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern. However, Sato fails to disclose measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour. Kanai teaches measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour (paragraph 0005-0011, 0034-0035, 0053-064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sato in view of Kanai by measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour because it helps to detect defect (paragraph 0004).
13. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandoh (US 2021/0104408 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kanai (JP 2000/193596 A).
As to claim 4, Sandoh discloses performing the outer appearance inspection of the resist pattern. However, Sandoh fails to disclose measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour. Kanai teaches measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour (paragraph 0005-0011, 0034-0035, 0053-064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sato in view of Kanai by measuring a line width of the resist pattern based on the detected contour because it helps to detect defect (paragraph 0004).
14. Claims 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tashiro (JP 2004233054) as applied to claims 1-3, 5, 7 above, and further in view of Kanai (JP 2000/193596 A).
As to claim 6, Tashiro disclose the forming of the resist pattern (23) includes forming the resist pattern having some thickness. As to claim 6, Tashiro fails to disclose a resist thickness of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm. Kanai disclose forming a resist pattern having a thickness of 300 nm (paragraph 0053, Note: 300 nm = 0.3 µm, within applicant’s range of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tashiro in view of Kanai by having a resist pattern with a thickness of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
As to claim 8, Tashiro disclose the forming of the resist pattern (23) includes forming the resist pattern having some thickness. As to claim 8, Tashiro fails to disclose a resist thickness of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm. Kanai disclose forming a resist pattern having a thickness of 300 nm (paragraph 0053, Note: 300 nm = 0.3 µm, within applicant’s range of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Tashiro in view of Kanai by having a resist pattern with a thickness of greater than 0.05 µm and less than or equal to 500 µm because in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713