Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 7-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 6, and 8-12 of co-pending Application No. 18/855735. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Regarding Claims 1-2, Co-pending ‘735 recites a prepreg comprising a thermosetting resin composition and a fiber base material, wherein the prepreg has a first region containing a thermosetting resin composition and a second region containing a thermosetting resin composition different from the thermosetting resin composition contained in the first region (Claim 1). The thermosetting resin composition contained in the first region and the thermosetting resin composition contained in the second region contain an inorganic filler, and a volume-based content V(1) of the inorganic filler in the thermosetting resin composition contained in the first region is lower than a volume-based content V(2) of the inorganic filler in the thermosetting resin composition contained in the second region (Claim 6). The volume-based content V(1) of the inorganic filler in the thermosetting resin composition contained in the first region is 5% to 60% by volume (Claim 8), and the volume-based content V(2) of the inorganic filler in the thermosetting resin composition contained in the second region is 20% to 80% by volume (Claim 9).
In light of the overlap between the present claims and those recited by co-pending ‘735, the requirements of the present claims are considered met by co-pending ‘735.
Regarding Claim 7, co-pending ‘735 further recites a laminated plate comprising a cured product of the prepreg and a metal foil (Claim 10).
Regarding Claim 8, co-pending ‘735 further recites a printed wiring board comprising a cured product of the prepreg (Claim 11).
Regarding Claim 9, co-pending ‘735 further recites a semiconductor package comprising the printed wiring board and a semiconductor element (Claim 12).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsurui et al. (JP 2022/090371 A).
Regarding Claims 1-3, Tsurui discloses a prepreg comprising a sheet-like fiber base material, a first resin composition impregnating the sheet-like fiber base material, and a resin composition layer on the surface of the prepreg comprising a second resin composition (para 0014). The first resin composition comprises a thermosetting resin (para 0017) and 30-80 vol% inorganic filler (paras 0050, 0061) (i.e. forming a high filled region layer). The second resin composition layer comprises thermosetting resin (paras 0094, 0017). The second resin composition may optionally contain an inorganic filler, but this is not required (para 0094); therefore the second resin composition may comprise no inorganic filler (i.e. forming a low filled region layer).
In light of the overlap between the claimed prepreg and that disclosed by Tsurui, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a prepreg that is both disclosed by Tsurui and is encompassed within the scope of the present claims, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 4, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 3 above. Tsurui further discloses the prepreg may comprise two resin sheets made of the first resin composition (i.e. two high filled region layers) applied to opposite sides of the sheet-like fiber base (para 0127).
Alternatively, Tsurui further discloses the layers may be repeatedly formed to form a multilayer product (para 0178), which would have multiple layers of the first resin composition (i.e. two or more high filled region layer).
Regarding Claim 5, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Tsurui further discloses the thermosetting resin may be epoxy resin, phenolic resin, benzoxazine resin, cyanate ester resin, or amine resin (para 0018).
Regarding Claim 6, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Tsurui further discloses the inorganic filler may be silica, alumina, aluminosilicate, talc, clay, mica powder, magnesium hydroxide, calcium carbonate, boron nitride, aluminum borate, strontium titanate, calcium titanate, titanium oxide, or barium titanate (para 0050).
Regarding Claim 7, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Tsurui further discloses a laminated sheet comprising the above prepreg with resin composition layer, and a metal foil (para 0110).
Regarding Claim 8, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Tsurui further discloses a printed wiring board comprising a cured product of the above prepreg with resin composition layer (para 0133).
Regarding Claim 9, Tsurui discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 8 above. Tsurui further discloses a semiconductor device comprising the above printed wiring board and a semiconductor chip (para 0192).
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787