DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending before the Office for review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, Applicant claims “CxHyClz” without defining “y” in the chemical formula provided. It is unclear which values would satisfy “y”.
With regards to claim 6, Applicant claims “CxHyFz” without defining “y” in the chemical formula provided; claims CxHy without defining x or y in the chemical formula provided. It is unclear which values would satisfy “x” or “y” in the respective formulas.
With regards to claim 8, Applicant claims “CxHyFz” without defining “x” or “y” in the chemical formula provided. It is unclear which values would satisfy “x” or “y” in the respective formulas.
With regards to claim 9, Applicant claims “CxHyFz” without defining “y” in the chemical formula provided. It is unclear which values would satisfy “y” in the respective formulas.
Claims 2-5, 7, 10-16 are rejected based on their dependency.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/709,925 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited claims of current pending application are not patentably different from the cited claims of copending application 18/709925 in that they overlap in scope.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANARIK et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0005472).
With regards to claims 1 and 5, Kanarik discloses A method of etching recessed features in stack with a silicon containing layer over a wafer on a substrate support (Paragraphs [0012], [0033], [0043], [0049]), the method comprising: a. flowing an etch gas; b. forming the etch gas into a plasma; and c. exposing the stack to the plasma to etch recessed features into the stack (Claim 1, Paragraphs [0012], [0043]-[0049]).
Kanarik does not explicitly disclose flowing an etch gas, comprising i. an organochloride source selected from the group consisting of carbon tetrachloride (CCl4), CXHyClZ (where x>0 and z > 0), and combinations thereof, ii. a carbon source and iii. a fluorine source and wherein the etch gas further comprises a hydrogen source.
However Kanarik discloses wherein the etching gas comprises a gas including methylene chloride (CH2Cl2) and chloroform (CHCl3) which renders obvious i. an organochloride and gases such a CF4, CCHF3 and H2 which renders obvious , ii. a carbon source and iii. a fluorine source, and wherein the etch gas further comprises a hydrogen source. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2144.05(I) Therefore the modified teaching of Kanarik render obvious the combination of a number of processing gases for forming a plasma for etching which renders obvious b. flowing an etch gas, comprising i. an organochloride source selected from the group consisting of carbon tetrachloride (CCl4), CXHyClZ (where x>0 and z > 0), and combinations thereof, ii. a carbon source, iii. a fluorine source, and iv. a hydrogen source.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kanarik to include the etching gas a rendered obvious by Kanarik because the reference of Kanarik teaches that such etching composition teaches such composition allows for etching at cryogenic temperature while protecting the sidewalls (Paragraph [0025]) and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using etch gas as rendered obvious by Kanarik. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the stack comprises alternating layers of silicon oxide and polysilicon. (Paragraphs [0003], [0049]).
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Kanarik discloses wherein the maintaining the substrate support a temperature below about 30°C maintains the substrate support at a temperature at below -20° wherein the cryogenic temperature is between -20°C and -150°C (Paragraph [0014], [0047]) rendering obvious maintaining the substrate support at a temperature in a range of -80°C to 150°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 6, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the hydrogen source comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of H2, CHXFy (where 1 < x <4, and x + y = 4), CXHyFZ (where x>0 and z > 0), CXHy, and combinations thereof. (Claim 5 Paragraphs [0022], [0025]).
With regards to claim 7, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the hydrogen source comprises H2. (Claim 5 Paragraph [0022]).
With regards to claim 8, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the fluorine source comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of NF3, CHXFy (where 0 < x < 3, and x + y = 4), CXFy (where y>x), CXHyFZ (where z>0), and combinations thereof. (Claims 1, 5 Paragraph [0025])
With regards to claim 9, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the carbon source comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of CHXFy (where 0 < x < 4, and x + y = 4), CXFy(where y > x), CXHyFZ (where x>0 and z > 0), and combinations thereof. (Claims 1, 5 Paragraphs [0022], [0025]).
With regards to claim 10, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the organochloride source is CH2Cl2 or CH3Cl. (Paragraph [0025])
With regards to claim 11, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the silicon containing layer comprises at least one of silicon nitride, silicon oxide, or polysilicon. (Paragraphs [0033], [0043], [0049]).
With regards to claim 12, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the forming the etch gas into a plasma comprises providing RF power at one or more RF frequencies to provide energy for forming the etch gas into a plasma. (Paragraphs [0044] discloses forming plasma from etch gas).
With regards to claim 14, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the exposing the stack to the plasma etches the features with a height to width aspect ratio greater than 30:1 (Paragraph [0049]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amount of 100:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 15, the modified teachings of Kanarik discloses the inclusion of a organochloride source component and a fluorine source component in order to form a plasma which etches the dielectric and passivate during the etching process wherein the passivation is adjusted based on the etchant composition with the carbon to fluorine ratio (Paragraphs [0022]-[0027]). Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to optimize molar flow ratio to amounts including Applicant’s amount of a molar flow ratio of an organochloride source component to fluorine source component in a range of 5:1 to 1:5 in order provide an etching chemistry which etches the dielectric while sufficiently passivating the etched structure as taught by the modified teachings of Kanarik. (Paragraphs [0022]-[0027], MPEP 2144.05(II)(A)).
With regards to claim 16, the modified teachings of Kanarik renders obvious wherein the plasma selective deposits a passivation layer on the sidewall of the recessed feature wherein the passivation layer may comprise a chlorinated organic species (Paragraphs [0022]-[0027]) which renders obvious wherein the exposing the stack to the plasma causes a selective deposition of chlorinated organic species on sidewalls of the recessed features with respect to etch fronts of the recessed features.
Claims 1-4 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0056050).
With regards to claim 1, Kong discloses a method of etching recessed features (414) in stack (404) with a silicon containing layer over a wafer on a substrate support (Paragraphs [0041]-[0046]), the method comprising: a. flowing an etch gas; b. forming the etch gas into a plasma; and c. exposing the stack to the plasma to etch recessed features into the stack (Claim 1, Paragraphs [0041]-[0048], [0054]-[0055]).
Kong does not explicitly disclose flowing an etch gas, comprising i. an organochloride source selected from the group consisting of carbon tetrachloride (CCl4), CXHyClZ (where x>0 and z > 0), and combinations thereof, ii. a carbon source and iii. a fluorine source.
However Kong discloses wherein the etching gas comprises a gas including a fluorine carbon containing gas, oxygen containing gas, nitrogen containing gas and a chlorine containing gas including CHCl3, CH3Cl and CH2CL2 (Paragraphs [0027]) which renders obvious i an organochloride and gases such a CF4, CCHF3 which renders obvious , ii. a carbon source and iii. a fluorine source. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) MPEP 2144.05(I) Therefore the modified teaching of Kong render obvious the combination of a number of processing gases for forming a plasma for etching which renders obvious b. flowing an etch gas, comprising i. an organochloride source selected from the group consisting of carbon tetrachloride (CCl4), CXHyClZ (where x>0 and z > 0), and combinations thereof, ii. a carbon source, iii. a fluorine source, and iv. a hydrogen source.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Kong to include the etching gas a rendered obvious by the general disclosure Kong because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired etching using etch gas as rendered obvious by Kong. MPEP 2143D
With regards to claim 2, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the stack comprises alternating layers of silicon oxide and polysilicon. (Paragraphs [00042]-[0046]).
With regards to claims 3 and 13, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein maintaining the substate support at a temperature between -10 degrees Celsius to about 60 degrees Celsius (Paragraph [0059]) which renders obvious a temperature above about 30° C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 4, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein maintaining the substate support at a temperature between -10 degrees Celsius to about 60 degrees Celsius (Paragraph [0059]) rendering obvious maintaining the substrate support at a temperature in a range of -80°C to 150°C. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
With regards to claim 8, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the fluorine source comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of CXFy (Paragraph [0027], [0049]-[0050])
With regards to claim 9, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the carbon source comprises at least one material selected from the group consisting of CXFy (Paragraph [0027], [0049]-[0050])
With regards to claim 10, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the organochloride source is CH2Cl2, CH3Cl or CH2Cl2. (Paragraph [0027])
With regards to claim 11, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the silicon containing layer comprises at least one of silicon nitride, silicon oxide, or polysilicon. (Paragraphs [0041]-[0046]).
With regards to claim 12, the modified teachings of Kong renders obvious wherein the forming the etch gas into a plasma comprises providing RF power at one or more RF frequencies to provide energy for forming the etch gas into a plasma. (Paragraphs [0055]-[0056]).
With regards to claim 14, the modified teachings of King renders obvious wherein the exposing the stack to the plasma etches the features with a height to width aspect ratio greater than 30:1 (Paragraph [0056]) which overlaps Applicant’s claimed amount of 100:1. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05(I)
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713