DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, 9-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Tian Lan (WO 2020059010 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lan.
Regarding claim 1, Lan teaches a system comprising: a cooling member comprising:
a contact plate (Fig. 4 below);
fins extending from the contact plate in a first direction (fins 25);
and a protuberance extending from the contact plate in a second direction and configured to couple the contact plate to a part (screw 33) of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source, wherein the contact plate comprises a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])) that is greater than a second CTE of the part.
The “part of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source” is not positively recited. Lan discloses a screw extending from the contact plate. A screw is configured to couple the contact plate to any part, including a part of an EUV radiation source with a second CTE that is lower than that of aluminum.
Regarding claim 2, Lan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the part of the EUV radiation source includes a heating element and wherein the protuberance is configured to be in a physically strained relationship with the part such that: when the part is heated by the heating element, a first surface of the contact plate is configured to disengage from a second surface of the part; and when the part is not exposed to heat, the first surface of the contact plate is configured to contact the second surface of the part.
The part is not positively recited. Lan teaches a heat sink connected to a part via a heat sink fixing screw. A screw is configured to couple the contact plate to a part with a heating element. Further, a screw is configured to disengage the heat sink from a second surface regardless of the temperature of the part. A screw is also configured to bring the heat sink in contact to a second surface when the second surface is not exposed to heat. In summary, the screw of Lan makes Lan configured to disengage and engage with a surface of the part regardless of the temperature applied.
Regarding claim 4, Lan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the protuberance comprises a threaded rod (screw 33).
Regarding claim 5, Lan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein: the contact plate comprises aluminum (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])); and the part comprises molybdenum.
“The part” is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 6, Lan teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the protuberance is further configured to be partially surrounded by an annular member (washer 34) and disposed in a receptacle of the part (Each screw 33 is provided with a washer 34 for fastening the screw head to the underside of the fixing member 50 (para. [0034])) (Fig. 4 above).
To be clear the annular member and receptacle are not positively recited and any protuberance is configured to be partially surrounded by an annular member and disposed in a receptacle.
Regarding claim 7, Lan teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the receptacle comprises a tapped hole and the protuberance comprises a threaded rod (screw 33).
The receptacle is not positively recited. Any screw is configured to be disposed in a tapped hole.
Regarding claim 8, Lan teaches the system of claim 6, wherein the annular member comprises a stainless steel insert, the contact plate comprises aluminum (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])) and the part comprises molybdenum.
The annular member and the part are not positively recited.
Regarding claim 9, Lan teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a contact plate (Fig. 4 above);
and a protuberance extending from the contact plate and configured to couple the contact plate to a part of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source (screw 33), wherein the protuberance is configured to be in a physically strained relationship with the part such that: when the part is heated, a first surface of the contact plate is configured to disengage from a second surface of the part; and when the part is not exposed to heat, the first surface of the contact plate is configured to contact the second surface of the part.
To be clear, “the part of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source” is not positively recited. Any protuberance is configured to be coupled to any part.
Further, Lan teaches a heat sink connected to a part via a heat sink fixing screw. A screw is configured to disengage the heat sink from a second surface regardless of the temperature of the part it is connected to. Further a screw is also configured to bring the heat sink in contact to a second surface when the second surface is not exposed to heat. In summary, the screw of Lan is configured to bring the first surface in contact with and out of contact with the second surface, regardless of the temperature of the part.
Regarding claim 10, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 9, further comprising fins extending from the contact plate in a first direction, and wherein the protuberance extends in a second opposed direction (Fig. 4 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 12, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the protuberance comprises a threaded rod and is configured to be received in a receptacle of the part (screw 33).
Any threaded rod is configured to be received in a receptacle.
Regarding claim 13, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein: the contact plate comprises aluminum (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])); and the part comprises molybdenum.
The part is not positively recited.
Regarding claim 14, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the protuberance is further configured to be partially surrounded by an annular member and disposed in a receptacle of the part (screw 33).
To be clear, the annular member and receptacle are not positively recited. Lan teaches the protuberance is a threaded rod (screw). Any screw is configured to be partially surrounded by an annular member and disposed in a receptacle.
Regarding claim 15, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the contact plate comprises aluminum (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])), the part comprises molybdenum and the annular member comprises a stainless steel.
The part and the annular member are not positively recited.
Regarding claim 16, Lan teaches the apparatus of claim 12 wherein the receptacle comprises a tapped hole.
The receptacle is not positively recited. Any screw is configured to be received in a tapped hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Istvan Balogh (US 20060227826 A1), hereinafter referred to as Balogh, in view of Lan as evidenced by Advanced Thermal Solutions, Inc. (2018, October 12). What is a Heat Sink?. YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qO6AuFc72AA.
Regarding claim 17, Balogh teaches a method comprising: providing a cooling member comprising: mounting a heat sink connected to a part of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source (This arrangement is illustrated in FIG. 3 and shows the conventional cooling of the collector mirror 1, according to the prior art, with a cooling body 17 which is intended to protect the reflection layer 12 applied to the optically active surface against overheating. In this connection, large-area planar surfaces of the cooling body 17 and substrate 11 (at the back of the collector mirror 1) are pressed against one another in a frictional engagement by means of a holder 18 (para. [0032])) wherein the part has a CTE (With grazing incidence of the desired radiation on the collector mirror, the substrate is advisably made from a metal with a thermal conductivity of more than 100 W/mK (e.g., molybdenum, tungsten, copper, etc.) (para. [0020])).
Balogh fails to teach a contact plate, fins extending from the contact plate in a first direction, and a protuberance extending from the contact plate in a second direction; and mounting the protuberance to a part of an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation source, wherein the contact plate comprises a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is greater than a second CTE of the part.
However, Lan teaches a method comprising: providing a cooling member comprising:
a contact plate (Fig. 4 above),
fins extending from the contact plate in a first direction (fins 25),
and a protuberance extending from the contact plate in a second direction (screw 33);
wherein the contact plate comprises a first coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])).
Balogh teaches a heat sink coupled to the collector mirror of an EUV source. Lan teaches a heat sink connected to a semiconductor element via a heat sink fixing screw. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Balogh to include the teachings of Lan by mounting the protuberance of Lan to the part of the EUV radiation source of Balogh. As evidenced by Advanced Thermal Solutions, threaded mechanical heat sink assemblies offer the highest level of retention and stability (see screenshot below).
Said modification would result in the contact plate (aluminum) having a first coefficient of thermal expansion that is greater than a second CTE of the part (molybdenum).
Regarding claim 18, Balogh fails to teach the method of claim 17, wherein, when the protuberance is mounted to the part, the protuberance is in a physically strained relationship with the part such that: when the part is heated, a first surface of the contact plate is configured to disengage from a second surface of the part; and when the part is not exposed to the heat, the first surface of the contact plate is configured to contact the second surface of the part.
However, Lan teaches the method of claim 17, wherein, when the protuberance is mounted to the part, the protuberance is in a physically strained relationship with the part such that: when the part is heated, a first surface of the contact plate is configured to disengage from a second surface of the part; and when the part is not exposed to the heat, the first surface of the contact plate is configured to contact the second surface of the part.
Lan teaches a heat sink connected to a part via a heat sink fixing screw. A screw is configured to disengage the heat sink from a second surface regardless of the temperature of the part it is connected to. Further a screw is also configured to bring the heat sink in contact to a second surface when the second surface is not exposed to heat. In summary, the screw of Lan makes Lan configured to disengage and engage with a surface of the part regardless of the temperature applied to the part.
Regarding claim 20, Balogh teaches the part comprises molybdenum (With grazing incidence of the desired radiation on the collector mirror, the substrate is advisably made from a metal with a thermal conductivity of more than 100 W/mK (e.g., molybdenum, tungsten, copper, etc.) (para. [0020])).
Balogh fails to teach the contact plate comprises aluminum.
Lan teaches the method of claim 17, wherein: the contact plate comprises aluminum (The heat sink 24 is a member formed of a metal having a high heat transfer coefficient, such as aluminum (para. [0035])).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan as applied to claim 1 and 10 respectively, and in further view of Stephen Horvath (US 3980053 A), hereinafter referred to as Horvath.
Regarding claim 3, Lan does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the fins comprise rods.
However, Horvath teaches wherein the fins comprise rods (rod like cooling fins 117).
To be clear, Lan teaches a heat sink with colling fins. However, Lan does not specify the shape of the fins. Horvath teaches rod shaped cooling fins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Lan to include the teachings of Horvath such that the fins are rods. Rod fins are known in the art to assist in dissipation of excess generated heat (Horvath; col. 1, lines 34-35).
Regarding claim 11, Lan fails to teach the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the fins comprise rods and the part includes a heating element.
The part is not positively recited.
Further, Horvath teaches wherein the fins comprise rods (rod like cooling fins 117).
To be clear, Lan teaches a heat sink with colling fins. However, Lan does not specify the shape of the fins. Horvath teaches rod shaped cooling fins. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Lan to include the teachings of Horvath such that the fins are rods. Rod fins are known in the art to assist in dissipation of excess generated heat (Horvath; col. 1, lines 34-35).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balogh in view of Lan, and in further view of llavarasan Palaniappa (US 6533589 B1), hereinafter referred to as Palaniappa.
Regarding claim 19, Balogh teaches threads of a threaded receptacle of the part (threaded bore holes 14 which are incorporated in the substrate 11 (para. [0036])).
Balogh fails to teach the method of claim 18, wherein the protuberance is threaded, and the method further comprising: mounting the protuberance by engaging the protuberance with corresponding threads of a threaded receptacle of the part, and wherein the strain in the protuberance is relaxed when the part is heated.
Lan teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the protuberance is threaded and the method further comprising: mounting the protuberance by engaging the protuberance with corresponding threads of a threaded receptacle of the part (screw 33).
As shown in Fig. 4 of Lan, the screw 33 is connected to a part via a screw insertion hole. As modified in claim 17 above, the heat sink of Lan is screwed into the collector mirror of Bologh. Bologh teaches threaded bore holes for screwing in supply lines for a heat transfer medium. Further, Lan teaches mounting the protuberance in a screw hole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described Balogh to include threaded bore holes in the receptacle for receiving the heat sink such that the protuberance is mounted by engaging the protuberance with corresponding threads of a threaded receptacle of the part. A threaded hole allows the heat sink to be secured to the receptacle.
Further, Palaniappa teaches an aluminum screw (Likewise, the contact between the actuator element 70, such as a screw formed of aluminum (col. 7, lines 53-55)).
Palaniappa teaches a floating member and actuator element which acts as heat sink. Said heat sink is connected to the packaged device adapter assembly 10 via aluminum screws. Aluminum screws are beneficial for providing heat conduction to the heat sink (Palaniappa; col. 7, lines 55-56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Balogh such that the protuberance is aluminum.
Further, the specifications of the present disclosure explain “In some aspects, the cooling member 502 can be an aluminum member having a protuberance 508 (e.g., an aluminum threaded post) and can be joined to the part 512 using torque, where the torque applied determines the strain in the protuberance 508. The cooling member 502 and the part 512 can be assembled at room temperature. As the assembly heats up, the molybdenum of the part 512 and the aluminum of the cooling member 502 can expand at different rates (e.g., molybdenum CTE is about 5.2 ppm/K; aluminum CTE is about 23.1 ppm/K). The aluminum protuberance 508 expands faster than the molybdenum part 512 and the strain in the protuberance 508 can relax at a rate of about 17.9 ppm/K.”
As modified above, Balogh teaches a heat sink connected to a molybdenum part via an aluminum protuberance. Therefore, as evidenced by the specifications of the present disclosure, the protuberance is relaxed when the part is heated.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balogh in view of Lan, and in further view of Shinichi Towata (US 6245442 B1), hereinafter referred to as Towata.
Regarding claim 21, Balogh fails to teach the method of claim 17, wherein the mounting the protuberance to the part comprises: mounting an annular member to the protuberance, wherein the annular member partially surrounds the protuberance; and disposing the protuberance and the annular member in a receptacle of the part.
However, Towata teaches wherein the mounting the protuberance to the part comprises: mounting an annular member to the protuberance, wherein the annular member partially surrounds the protuberance; and disposing the protuberance and the annular member in a receptacle of the part (Further, steel sheets 115 for forming the screw holes 110 are disposed at places that become four corners of the heat sink 101 (col. 8, lines 46-48)).
The claim as written does not require the limitations as separate steps. By mounting the screw into the annular member (steel sheet 115), the annular member partially surrounds the protuberance. Simultaneously, by mounting the screw in the receptacle the annular member is mounted to the protuberance. This interpretation is commensurate with paragraph 83 of the instant specifications.
To be clear, Towata teaches a heat sink 101 with steel sheets 115 for forming screw holes. As modied, Balogh teaches a heat sink with a threaded rod connecting the heat sink to a part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Balogh by placing the steel sheets around the protuberance of Balogh. The use of steel sheets for forming screw holes can simplify processing (Towata; col. 11, lines 12-16). Further, steel is known in the art as a durable material for metal fastening.
Conclusion
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881