DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on June 02, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 12-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korngut et al. [US 20060066870 A1, hereafter Komgut].
As per Claim 1, Korngut teaches a system (See fig. 1, Para 40, a combined coherence-reducing component 101) configured to convert spatially coherent radiation to completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation, the system comprising:
a splitter (beam splitter 52) configured to receive and split the spatially coherent radiation into channels (See fig. 1, Para 35);
optical pathways (Para 38, component 59) having different lengths coupled to the channels, the different lengths configured to convert the spatially coherent radiation of the channels to the completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation; and
a combiner (See fig. 3, a light combiner 42) coupled to the optical pathways and configured to combine the completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation from the optical pathways into a single multimode output (Para 9-12).
As per Claim 2, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical pathways are configured such that radiation in a single channel does not become incoherent since it is single mode radiation, but with an appropriate path difference, radiation in the single channel becomes incoherent with respect to radiation in one or more neighboring channels (Para 54).
As per Claim 8, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the splitter is configured to split the spatially coherent radiation into at least 2-100 channels (See fig. 2).
As per Claim 12, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the different lengths are configured to reduce or eliminate interference between radiation traversing different optical pathways, which converts the spatially coherent radiation to the completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation (Para 13).
As per Claim 13, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein an optical path length difference from a first optical pathway to a second optical pathway is larger than a coherence length of the spatially coherent radiation (Para 13).
As per Claim 14, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the combiner comprises an optical fiber array (Para 6).
As per Claim 16, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the combiner comprises a micro lens array and/or one or more macroscopic lenses (See fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-7, 10, 11, 15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korngut in view of Hu et al. [US 20170227399 A1, hereafter Hu].
As per Claims 3 and 5, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the splitter, the optical pathways, and the combiner are integrated into an integrated optical body.
Hu teaches wherein the splitter, the optical pathways, and the combiner are integrated into an integrated optical body (Para 3-4 and 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 4, Korngut teaches the system of claim 3.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the integrated optical body comprises a microchip fabricated using complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) and/or indium phosphide fabrication techniques.
Hu teaches wherein the integrated optical body comprises a microchip fabricated using complementary metal-oxide-semiconductor (CMOS) and/or indium phosphide fabrication techniques (Para 3-4 and 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claims 6 and 7, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach comprising stacked integrated optical bodies that form a multidimensional array of waveguide emitters.
Hu teaches comprising stacked integrated optical bodies that form a multidimensional array of waveguide emitters (Para 27, wherein integrated circuit components are passive).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claims 10 and 18, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the splitter is a multimode interference (MMI) device.
Hu teaches wherein the splitter is a multimode interference (MMI) device (Para 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 11, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein each optical pathway comprises a waveguide and forms a portion of a corresponding channel.
Hu teaches wherein each optical pathway comprises a waveguide and forms a portion of a corresponding channel (Para 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 15, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the combiner comprises a photonic lantern.
Hu teaches wherein the combiner comprises a photonic lantern (Para 32 and 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 17, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the spatially coherent radiation comprises visible light.
Hu teaches wherein the spatially coherent radiation comprises visible light (Para 26).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 19, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach a controller configured to actively control output from individual optical pathways (Para 34).
Hu teaches a controller configured to actively control output from individual optical pathways.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
As per Claim 20, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the spatially coherent radiation is converted to the completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation for metrology associated with a semiconductor manufacturing process.
Hu teaches wherein the spatially coherent radiation is converted to the completely or partially spatially incoherent radiation for metrology associated with a semiconductor manufacturing process (Para 84).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the optical system as disclosed by Hu in order to produce enhanced signal-to-noise ratio signal and performs spectroscopy of one single mode in the multi-mode incident light.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korngut in view of Stampoulidis et al. [US 20130114130 A1, hereafter Stampoulidis].
As per Claim 9, Korngut teaches the system of claim 1.
Korngut does not explicitly teach wherein the splitter is a binary tree beam splitter.
Stampoulidis teaches a plurality of optical signals using a single pump laser coupled to a set of optical splitters arranged in a binary tree configuration for powering a plurality of fiber optical amplifying path circuits (FOAP circuit) each configured to amplify one of the plurality of optical signals, where each of the optical splitters at the leaves of the binary tree is coupled to one of the plurality of FOAP circuits to provide the power required to amplify the optical signal (Para 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate a binary tree beam splitter as disclosed by Stampoulidis in order to produce a desired light beam to be incident in to the array of transparent elements of Korngut.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 02, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark section, with respect to claims 1-20, Applicant argued that the prior art to Korngut do not disclose the limitation of “a splitter configured to receive and split the spatially coherent radiation into channels”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Korngut, for example as shown in figure 1 and paragraph 35, disclosed “The beam entering into elements CN (beam 58) is thus reflected as a group 78 of sub-beams 66, 68, 70, 72, and 74.”. The above teaching and figure 1 show a substantially collimated light beam 22 is split in to a group 78 of sub-beams 66, 68, 70, 72, and 74, by the beam splitter 52. Therefore, Applicant’s argument on the above point is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882