Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 05/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 4 and 5 fail to further limit the subject matter of Claim 1 on which they depend. Claim 4 recites “wherein the resin member comprises a cured product of a thermosetting resin” and Claim 5, which depends on Claim 4, recites “wherein the thermosetting resin comprises an epoxy resin”. However, Claim 1, on which Claim 4 depends, already recites “the resin member comprises a cured product of an epoxy resin”, which is a thermosetting resin.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komoto et al. (US 2003/0044588 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-5, Komoto discloses a copper-clad laminate (i.e. structure) comprising a copper foil (i.e. metal film) applied to an insulating material comprising a resin composition (i.e. resin member) (para 0139, Abstract). The resin composition comprises a thermosetting resin (Abstract) such as epoxy and an epoxy curing agent such as an amino triazine novolak resin, which is derived from a compound having a triazine structure such as melamine (para 0092).
Regarding Claim 6, Komoto discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Komoto further discloses the copper-clad laminate is used in multi-layered printed circuit wiring boards (i.e. electronic component device) (para 0004).
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawahara et al. (US 2020/0385543 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-5, Kawahara discloses a laminate comprising in insulating layer of resin material between two metal foils (paras 0167-0171). The resin material comprises a binder resin comprising an epoxy resin and a curing agent (paras 0089, 0091) where the curing agent is a phenol novolak resin having a melamine skeleton or a triazine skeleton (para 0129).
Regarding Claim 6, Kawahara discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Kawahara further discloses the laminate is used in an electronic device (para 0187).
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Namekata et al. (US 2021/0002475 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 4-6, Namekata discloses a printed wiring board (i.e. electronic component device) comprising an inner layer substrate and a cured resin composition layer on the inner layer substrate (paras 0174-0177). The inner layer substrate may be a metal substrate (para 0178). The resin composition layer comprises an epoxy resin (para 0021) and a curing agent such as a phenol novolak resin having a triazine skeleton (paras 0085, 0087).
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787