DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geistlinger (US 2015/0296834) in view of Song (“Transglutaminase cross-linking effect on sensory characteristics and antioxidant activities of Maillard reaction products from soybean protein hydrolysates”, DOI: 10.1016/j.foodchem.2012.07.100, July 2012)
Regarding Claim 1, Geistlinger teaches a plant protein composition comprising plant protein [0118-0119], sugar, amino acids [0113], and hydrolyzed vegetable (plant) protein [0116]. It would have been obvious to have selected plant protein, sugar, amino acids, and hydrolyzed protein in the composition of Geistlinger, since Geistlinger teaches all the ingredients for inclusion in the plant protein composition. Note that where Geistlinger teaches plant protein and hydrolyzed plant protein as separate ingredients, Geistlinger teaches a first plant protein and second plant protein as claimed.
Geistlinger does not teach how the hydrolyzed protein is prepared.
Song teaches that hydrolyzed plant protein is prepared by hydrolyzing a peptide and cross-linking the peptide (Page 145, Section 2.2). Song teaches that the method provides a hydrolyzed protein that has improved flavor (Page 144, Introduction, Paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention utilize the method of Song for the hydrolyzed protein of Geistlinger. One would have been motivated to make such a modification to utilize a hydrolyzed protein with improved flavor.
Additionally, note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product-by-process. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding Claim 2, Geistlinger teaches the sugar, amino acid, and hydrolyzed protein (i.e. crosslinked peptide) as minor optional components [0113 and 0116]. It would have been obvious to have combined the minor compositional components prior to blending with additional components. It additionally would have been obvious to have pre-heated any of the ingredients, including a mixture comprising sugar, amino acid, and hydrolyzed protein, prior to a step of heating the entire composition for e.g., ensuring a uniform temperature.
Additionally, note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product by process. The product of both the instant Claim and the prior art of Geistlinger is a composition comprising a heated mixture of sugar, amino acid, hydrolyzed protein, and an additional plant protein. Note that Geistlinger teaches a step of heating [0007]. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Additionally, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 IV C.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Geistlinger teaches the addition of fat, oil, or fatty acids [0077].
Note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product by process. The effect of both the instant Claim and the prior art of Geistlinger is a composition comprising a mixture of sugar, amino acid, hydrolyzed protein, an additional plant protein, and fat, oil, or fatty acids. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding Claims 5-8, Geistlinger teaches the addition of methylcellulose [0094] and agar [0113].
Note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product by process. The effect of both the instant Claim and the prior art of Geistlinger is a composition comprising a mixture of sugar, amino acid, hydrolyzed protein, an additional plant protein, and methylcellulose or agar. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding Claim 9, Geistlinger teaches a step of heating [0007].
Note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product by process. The effect of both the instant Claim and the prior art of Geistlinger is a composition comprising a heated mixture of sugar, amino acid, hydrolyzed protein, an additional plant protein. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Regarding Claim 10, Geistlinger teaches a step of drying subsequent to heating [0098].
Note that the instant Claim is directed towards a product by process. The effect of both the instant Claim and the prior art of Geistlinger is a composition comprising a heated and dried mixture of sugar, amino acid, hydrolyzed protein, and an additional plant protein. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) See MPEP 2113 I.
Conclusion
/D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791