DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 23, 31, 32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vaschenko et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0230326.
Regarding claim 16, Vaschenko discloses a nozzle (illustrated in figure 3F) for a droplet generator for a laser-produced plasma radiation source (“a system generating a laser beam for irradiating the target material to generate an EUV emission” [Abstract]), the nozzle comprising: a glass capillary 180 (“a borosilicate glass portion 180” [0069]) configured to emit droplets (“Beginning with FIG. 2A, an arrangement is shown in which the fluid is forced to flow from a reservoir 108 under pressure through a conduit 110, e.g., capillary tube, having a relatively small diameter and a length of about 10 to 50 mm, creating a continuous stream 112 exiting an orifice 114 of the conduit 110, which subsequently breaks up into droplets 116a,b” [0057]); a nozzle fitting 182 comprising a throughbore 184, wherein the glass capillary 180 is at least partially disposed in the throughbore 184 (“the conduit portion 182 may be formed with a circular output orifice 184 sized to allow one end of the capillary tube (glass portion 180) to slide through output orifice 184 and into the body of the portion 182” [0069]); and a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple the glass capillary 180 to the nozzle fitting 182, the glass ferrule 186 being conformed to a shape of the throughbore 184 of the nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069] – as illustrated in figure 3F).
Regarding claim 23, Vaschenko discloses that the glass capillary comprises a borosilicate (“a borosilicate glass portion 180, e.g., a glass capillary tube coupled to conduit portion 182” [0069]).
Regarding claim 31, Vaschenko discloses a droplet generator (“Beginning with FIG. 2A, an arrangement is shown in which the fluid is forced to flow from a reservoir 108 under pressure through a conduit 110, e.g., capillary tube, having a relatively small diameter and a length of about 10 to 50 mm, creating a continuous stream 112 exiting an orifice 114 of the conduit 110, which subsequently breaks up into droplets 116a,b” [0057]) for a laser-produced plasma radiation source (“a system generating a laser beam for irradiating the target material to generate an EUV emission” [Abstract]), comprising: a nozzle of claim 16 (see the rejection of claim 16, above) a nozzle of a body to which the nozzle is attached (as illustrated in figure 3F), the body being configured for feeding a fuel to the glass capillary 180 (“Beginning with FIG. 2A, an arrangement is shown in which the fluid is forced to flow from a reservoir 108 under pressure through a conduit 110, e.g., capillary tube, having a relatively small diameter and a length of about 10 to 50 mm, creating a continuous stream 112 exiting an orifice 114 of the conduit 110, which subsequently breaks up into droplets 116a,b” [0057]).
Regarding claim 32, Vaschenko discloses a laser-produced plasma radiation source for producing radiation output radiation (“a system generating a laser beam for irradiating the target material to generate an EUV emission” [Abstract]), comprising: the droplet generator of claim 31 (see the rejection of claim 31, above) that is configured to direct a fuel along a trajectory towards a plasma formation region (“One particular LPP technique involves generating a stream of target material droplets and irradiating some or all of the droplets with laser light pulses, e.g. zero, one or more pre-pulse(s) followed by a main pulse… LPP light sources generate EUV radiation by depositing laser energy into a target material having at least one EUV emitting element… creating a highly ionized plasma… The energetic radiation generated during de-excitation and recombination of these ions is emitted from the plasma in all directions” [0006]); a laser configured to excite the fuel in the plasma formation region to provide a plasma (“One particular LPP technique involves generating a stream of target material droplets and irradiating some or all of the droplets with laser light pulses, e.g. zero, one or more pre-pulse(s) followed by a main pulse… LPP light sources generate EUV radiation by depositing laser energy into a target material having at least one EUV emitting element… creating a highly ionized plasma… The energetic radiation generated during de-excitation and recombination of these ions is emitted from the plasma in all directions” [0006]); and a radiation collector configured to collect output radiation emitted from the plasma (“a near-normal-incidence mirror (often termed a "collector mirror") is positioned at a relatively short distance, e.g., 10-50 cm, from the plasma to collect, direct (and in some arrangements, focus) the light to an intermediate location, e.g., a focal point” [0006]).
Regarding claim 33, Vaschenko discloses a lithographic system (“the downstream tool, e.g., photolithography scanner, is on-line, e.g., by sampling a portion of the EUV output, e.g., using a pickoff mirror or sampling "uncollected" EUV light, and/or may operate while the downstream tool, e.g., photolithography scanner, is off-line, for example, by measuring the entire EUV output of the EUV light source 20” [0054]) comprising: a lithographic apparatus (“the downstream tool, e.g., photolithography scanner” [0054]), and a laser-produced plasma radiation source of claim 32 (see the rejection of claim 32, above) that is arranged to provide output radiation to the lithographic apparatus (“the EUV light source 20, the instrument(s) may be configured to operate while the downstream tool, e.g., photolithography scanner” [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaschenko et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0230326.
Regarding claim 17, Vaschenko discloses that a coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass capillary is within 1 PPM/K of the coefficient of thermal expansion of the nozzle fitting (“a tubular glass portion having a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTEglass) and a metal coupled to the glass portion, the metal having a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTEmetal) which differs from CTEglass by less than 5 ppm/degree Celsius over the range of temperatures of 25 to 250 degrees Celsius” [0022]); and/or the coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass ferrule is within 1 PPM/K of the coefficient of thermal expansion of the nozzle fitting. Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention except that the claimed range is narrower than the broad range contemplated by Vaschenko. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the glass capillary with the claimed coefficient of thermal expansion since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to form the glass capillary with the claimed coefficient of thermal expansion for the purpose of ensuring that the glass capillary is able to fit within a throughbore of the nozzle fitting in such a manner that it does not expand upon heating to fill the throughbore in a manner which would cause damage to the glass capillary, particularly since the plasma apparatus of Vaschenko operates under elevated temperatures due to the formation of plasma downstream from the glass capillary, which delivers fuel to the plasma-producing region of the device. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Claim(s) 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaschenko et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0230326 in view of Hoffman et al. U.S. Patent No. 4,019,886.
Regarding claim 18, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that the coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass ferrule is less than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the nozzle fitting and less than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass capillary.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]), wherein the coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass ferrule is less than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the nozzle fitting and less than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the glass capillary (“The entire assembly [is]… heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2] – since the temperature causes only the glass ferrule 14 to melt, the glass ferrule has a coefficient of thermal expansion that is less than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the nozzle fitting and the glass capillary).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 19, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that the glass ferrule has a lower softening temperature than the glass capillary.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]), wherein the glass ferrule has a lower softening temperature than the glass capillary (“The entire assembly [is]… heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 20, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), and Vaschenko discloses “a typical capillary tube diameter of 1 mm” [0072] there is no explicit disclosure of the claimed thickness of the glass ferrule.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]), wherein the glass ferrule has a thickness which is optimized to complete encapsulation of the glass capillary 5 within the nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The diameter of a nozzle is selected in accordance with the desired application” [col. 7; lines 35-37]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle. Vaschenko and Hoffman disclose the claimed invention except for forming the glass ferrule with a thickness of 1 mm or less and/or forming the glass ferrule with a thickness of 0.1 mm or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the glass ferrule with a thickness of 1 mm or less and/or forming the glass ferrule with a thickness of 0.1 mm or more since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to form the glass ferrule with a thickness of 1 mm or less and/or forming the glass ferrule with a thickness of 0.1 mm or more for the purpose of ensuring sealing between a glass capillary and a nozzle fitting in a void-and-bubble free manner. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Regarding claim 21, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that a diameter of the glass capillary and a diameter of the throughbore creates a spacing between the glass capillary and nozzle fitting such that, in response to being softened, glass of the glass ferrule flows by capillary action.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]), wherein a diameter of the glass capillary and a diameter of the throughbore creates a spacing between the glass capillary and nozzle fitting such that, in response to being softened, glass of the glass ferrule flows by capillary action (“The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 22, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that the throughbore is shaped to provide a lip for limiting the extension of the glass ferrule along the throughbore.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]), wherein a throughbore is shaped to provide a lip for limiting the extension of the glass ferrule along the throughbore (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 24, Vaschenko discloses a method of manufacturing a nozzle for a droplet generator, the method comprising: positioning a glass capillary 180 in a throughbore 184 of a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]); and positioning a glass ferrule preform 186 around the glass capillary 180 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]). However, Vaschenko does not disclose heating the glass ferrule preform 186 to form a glass ferrule coupling the glass capillary 180 to the nozzle fitting 182.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule preform 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses heating the glass ferrule preform 14 to form a glass ferrule coupling the glass capillary 5 to the nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 25, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule preform 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure of positioning the glass ferrule preform comprises positioning the glass ferrule preform in the throughbore of the nozzle fitting.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses positioning the glass ferrule preform 14 in the throughbore of the nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 26, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule preform 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure of applying a force to push the glass ferrule preform into the throughbore.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses applying a (capillary) force to push the glass ferrule preform 14 into the throughbore of the nozzle fitting 1/2 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 27, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule preform 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure of applying a weight to the glass ferrule preform and/or pusher, such that gravity forces the glass ferrule into the throughbore.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, wherein Hoffman discloses applying a weight to the glass ferrule preform 14 and/or pusher, such that gravity forces the glass ferrule into the throughbore (“The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 28, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule preform 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure of positioning the glass ferrule preform comprises positioning the glass ferrule preform at an end of the throughbore, and the glass ferrule preform is heated such that it flows into the throughbore to form the glass ferrule.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses positioning the glass ferrule preform 14 comprises positioning the glass ferrule preform 14 at an end of the throughbore, and the glass ferrule preform 14 is heated such that it flows into the throughbore to form the glass ferrule 14 (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 29, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that the glass capillary is positioned in the throughbore with a gap between the glass capillary and a wall of the throughbore such that, upon heating, the glass ferrule preform flows into the gap by capillary action.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses that the glass capillary 5 is positioned in the throughbore with a gap between the glass capillary 5 and a wall of the throughbore such that, upon heating, the glass ferrule preform 14 flows into the gap by capillary action (“the trapezoidal-type slots on both sides of glass tube 5 permit the glass cane 14 to rest snugly against the glass tube on both sides and, therefore, when melted, to flow freely, due to capillary and gravity action, to cause the glass area between each upper slot and lower slot to seal in a void-and-bubble free manner “ [col. 4; lines 52-57] – “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Regarding claim 30, Vaschenko discloses the claimed invention, except that while Vaschenko discloses a glass ferrule preform 186 configured to couple a glass capillary 180 to a nozzle fitting 182 (“the end of the glass portion 180 may be formed with an abutment 186 for attachment against the inner wall 188 of the portion 182” [0069]), there is no explicit disclosure that the glass ferrule preform is heated to a temperature above a softening temperature of the glass ferrule preform, but below a softening temperature of the glass capillary.
Hoffman discloses a glass ferrule 14 configured to couple a glass capillary 5 to a nozzle fitting 1/2, and Hoffman discloses that the glass ferrule preform is heated to a temperature above a softening temperature of the glass ferrule preform, but below a softening temperature of the glass capillary ( “The entire assembly, with glass cane and glass tubes in position, is now ready for heating. It is placed in a furnace and then heated to a temperature which causes the glass cane 14 alone to melt and to flow, by capillary and gravity action, through the groove 3 and small groove 4 to complete the encapsulation of tubes 5 and the sealing of the two plates 1 and 2” [col. 7; line 64-col. 8; line 2]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaschenko with the construction of the glass ferrule of Hoffman in order to improve sealing of a glass capillary within a nozzle fitting by ensuring that the glass ferrule is fitted between the glass capillary and the nozzle in a manner which increases the amount of contact between the glass ferrule and both the glass capillary and the nozzle.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881