Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on or before 2025-09-04 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
The Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Substrate: found in at least claim 1, line 1.
Silver particle: found in at least claim 1, line 2.
Primary particle: found in at least claim 3, line 3.
Secondary particle: found in at least claim 3, line 2.
Electromagnetic wave transmission layer: found in at least claim 1, line 3.
No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/866,650 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for because they contain subject matter that is not patentably distinct as outlined in the following table:
Application #18/866,632 (instant application)
Application #18/866,650 (reference application)
Claim 1: A layered body comprising
a substrate, and
a silver particle layer provided on the substrate, the silver particle layer comprising a silver particle,
wherein the silver particle has an electromagnetic wave transmission layer on a surface thereof.
Claim 1: A sensor cover comprising
a substrate, and
a silver particle layer provided on the substrate, the silver particle layer comprising a silver particle,
wherein the silver particle has an electromagnetic wave transmission layer on a surface thereof.
Claim 2: The layered body according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is an organic layer.
Claim 2: The sensor cover according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is an organic layer.
Claim 3: The layered body according to claim 1,
wherein the silver particle comprises a secondary particle, and the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is provided on a surface of a primary particle of the silver particle.
Claim 3: The sensor cover according to claim 1,
wherein the silver particle comprises a secondary particle, and the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is provided on a surface of a primary particle of the silver particle.
Claim 4: The layered body according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a millimeter wave transmission layer.
Claim 4: The sensor cover according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a millimeter wave transmission layer.
Claim 5: The layered body according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a layer that transmits at least a part of wavelengths in a range from infrared to visible light.
Claim 5: The sensor cover according to claim 1,
wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a layer that transmits at least a part of wavelengths in a range from infrared to visible light.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 states “wherein the silver particle comprises a secondary particle…” in lines 1-2. It is unclear how a single silver particle may comprise a secondary particle. As best that can be understood from the specification, there exists a plurality of silver particles within the silver particle layer and secondary particles also exist within the silver particle layer. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner will interpret this limitation to read – wherein the silver particle layer comprises a secondary particle --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hara et al. (US-20190194479-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, a layered body comprising a substrate (Fig 1: substrate, 20), and
a silver particle layer provided on the substrate (Fig 1: decorative coating film, 1), the silver particle layer comprising a silver particle (Fig 1: silver alloy particle, 1a),
wherein the silver particle has an electromagnetic wave transmission layer on a surface thereof (Fig 1: binding resin, 1b | Para [0042] teaches the layer has favorable millimeter wave transmission properties).
Regarding Claim 2, the layered body according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is an organic layer (Para [0041] teaches a resin layer).
Regarding Claim 3, the layered body according to claim 1, wherein the silver particle comprises a secondary particle (Fig 2: nickel oxide, 1d), and the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is provided on a surface of a primary particle of the silver particle (Can be seen in Figs 1 and 2).
Regarding Claim 4, the layered body according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a millimeter wave transmission layer (Para [0042] teaches the layer has favorable millimeter wave transmission properties).
Regarding Claim 5, the layered body according to claim 1, wherein the electromagnetic wave transmission layer is a layer that transmits at least a part of wavelengths in a range from infrared to visible light (Para [0006] teaches it is known in the art for silver alloy particles with a binding resin have light transmission properties).
Regarding Claim 6, the layered body according to claim 1, which is an automobile part (Para [0034] teaches the film is used on an automobile).
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858